We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Ranked #22 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We loved this hotel. We stayed a week and tried 3 of the rooms, all very clean and full of character. Having read other reviews I would agree the overall area is not brilliant but the metro is very close by - just a short walk away and we could travel to all the main attractions really easily. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Moulin Rouge room was our favourite - but the bath in Musee D'Orsay was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

I’ve been wondering how to review this hotel because I’ve never stayed in a hotel in central Paris before, and therefore don’t have anything by way of comparison. £200 is a huge amount of money for me and I’ve never spent anything like that kind of money on a hotel room before. However, we were only staying one night, prices seemed high overall in the city and I was intrigued by the concept.

In sum:

Lovely staff
Building work in the building next door leads to very little rest
Not worth £200.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tiddlypiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nothing is too much trouble at this Paris hotel. All the staff were friendly, kind and helpful, right from before we arrived, emailing to ask if there was anything they could do to make sure our stay would be perfect. The hotel itself is in a period building and yet is extremely modern, chic and clean, so combines character with contemporary standards. The rooms are not big -- but then I imagine this is true for all hotels at this level in Paris, and it was perfectly big enough for a long weekend. The ensuite was very good, with a lovely whirlpool bath and great shower. State of the art lighting and flat screen TV were also highlights of the room. The breakfast is excellent (if pricey), with gorgeous cheeses, fruit, bread and croissants as well as cooked options; again, nothing is too much trouble. I have not given the hotel 5 stars for one reason, and that's location. It's just not quite anywhere you want to be. The nearest Metro is Place de Clichy which is a little seedy, though there are a couple of nice restaurants there (one of which the Hotel kindly booked for us for our first night). To get to anywhere interesting, you either have a lengthy and/or complicated journey on the Metro (eg. to Chatelet Les Halles for the Pompidou) or a fairly long walk (eg. Montmartre). Apart from this, I'd recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The best hotel we have stayed in Paris. My wife selected it from the website and it more than lived up to all our expectations.The staff were excellent. We split out stay between the D' Orsay and Trocadero themed rooms and both were really good. The Hotel is well situated being in easy reach of all the city sights either via metro (Clichy) or walking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0bertH_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend in Paris and after extensive research we found the Secret de Paris. Firstly Paris is very expensive (I would say about 25% more so than London) and be prepared to pay 5 euros for a small coke and 20-25 euros for steak frites.

However the Secret de Paris was very good value for money! The reception staff were the most helpful I have ever come across and I am well travelled! Nothing was too much for them, from bringing a corkscrew up to the room in 2 minutes flat to changing rooms so you can sample the different themes of the hotel. In summary, Julia and her team were a joy, customer service 10 out of 10 and they would quite happily chat to you in the morning/evening without constraint, it felt very homely.Rooms - The Moulin Rouge room was a masterpiece, from the awesome rain shower to the mellow red tones of lighting in the room, it is quite obvious that a lot of money had been spent on these themes. The Eiffel Tower room where we were on our second night was equally as impressive with a great jacuzzi bath.
Breakfast was also excellent with a vast array of choice and was of an excellent quality.
Montmartre village which is a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel is a 'must see' with the panoramic views of Sacre Couer beautiful (quite a climb up the stairs, but worth it) along with the bright lights of the Moulin Rouge at night. Although we walked most of Paris (quite a trek!) the Place de Clichy metro stop is very convenient (2 mins) and all attractions are within 10 minutes.
There is a also a gym and steam/sauna room at the hotel which we didn't use but looked great.

All in all Paris is a great weekend (so easy from the Eurostar from London) and the Secret De Paris is a absolute gem which must not be missed, you will be fantastically looked after with genuine Parisian staff, and it was a pleasure to stay there!

Room Tip: All fantastic, you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We used to stay in much higher class hotels in Paris (Rafael, Regina), but this time decided to try out some cheaper options and compare quality vs price ratio. The result of our test was absolutely predictable. What you pay is what you get. In general, Secret de Paris is a nice, reasonably priced hotel. It's tiny and somehow reminds a doll-house. Use the elevator only, the staircase is too steep and unsafe! We were allocated a Mouline Rouge room which was OK and clean, only the bathroom was too basic and uncomfortable (no bathtube, no separate shower cubicle). Take flip-flops with you! The breakfast was also very basic and unvarying , luckily they cook fried eggs on demand. As to the staff we couldn't complain. They were extremely friendly and helpful, although obviously not very experienced. Last of all - the location! Probably this district is considered to be in the center part of the city, however, it is far from being a tourist one. There is only one attraction in walking distance, that is the Mouline Rouge. You must be aware that you will have to use the metro most of the time. All in all Secret de Paris is a decent choice if you are on a budget and spending in Paris only a couple of days.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is my only experience of Paris hotels, however I have stayed in plenty of other hotels across the world and I can safely say that this place is top notch!

Location
The hotel is at the top of the opera quarter, within 10 minutes walk to sacre coeur in Montmartre, 10 minutes walk to Magdeline square and a couple more to concorde. It is very well situated, nicely opposite a pretty brasserie and the safety of a very nicely presented police station. Basically its not super central but it is in a great place, both for grabbing metro and main train connections, and for walking to major sites around the city.

Service
excellent in every way, very helpful, attentive, couldn't ask for more. Really was excellent service.

Amenities
excellent, food and room service was great, the room itself has excellent standards for a hotel, there's just too much to list here but it really is great.

The rooms and styling can all be found on their website along with what's available at the hotel, all I can say it's really great - the food at breakfast was so good.

I will definitely stay here again and will recommend the hotel very highly to anyone.

Room Tip: they're all great, one style of rooms does not have a TV that retracts out of the bed, but im no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#9 of 1,802 in Paris
1,200 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
XO Hotel
XO Hotel
#2 of 1,802 in Paris
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,802 in Paris
452 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#11 of 1,802 in Paris
1,098 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Le 10 Bis Hotel
Le 10 Bis Hotel
#7 of 1,802 in Paris
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Address: 2 Rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Paris
#11 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#91 Business Hotel in Paris
#116 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $235 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Design Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing