We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend Hotel Montalembert”
Review of Hotel Montalembert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montalembert
Ranked #263 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Hotel Montalembert”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just returned from a week at Hotel Montalembert in Saint Germain des Pres, would love to book this hotel again and would highly recommend it to friends.

We chose it based on the excellent location, in the heart of the charming, elegant, non-touristy Left Bank. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the Rue de Bac metro, countless memorable restaurants and cafes and an enticing mix of boutiques. Beyond great one-of-a-kind restaurants and shops, in 10 minutes you can be walking across the Seine to the spectacular gardens of the Tuileries and the Louvre. We booked a month in advance online and got a discounted book-ahead rate, meanwhile both the reservation staff and the concierge were very responsive and accommodating of special requests via email. Our room was ready early when we arrived, to our delight our Junior Suite was on the top floor with a view of the Eiffel Tower, absolutely spectacular, especially at night when it lit up and sparkled on the hour.

Our room and wash room were spacious and comfortable for two people staying a week, with plenty of closet space and thoughtful amenities like a Nespresso machine for coffee, Babyliss hair-dryer and L'Occitane toiletries. We celebrated a birthday during our stay and they welcomed us with champagne and left thoughtful extras like a mini box of chocolates when our room was made up. Our room was contemporary, elegant and comfortable, in soothing colours of beige, chocolate and deep eggplant, much like the lobby. It's worth mentioning that the bed was extremely comfortable, our room was quiet and the blackout shades made for a great night's sleep. [Other than having coffees upon arrival, we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant or order room service. It wasn't necessary with so many options in the neighborhood, including L'Atelier de Joel Robichon right next door and an excellent patisserie [Eric Kayser] on nearby Rue de Bac.

Beyond the rave-worthy location and the quiet luxury of the interior space, what was truly outstanding about our stay was the staff and service. Everyone at the front desk and door was friendly, helpful, gracious and knowledgable, most especially the head concierge extraordinaire, Gilles. He was absolutely brilliant at multi-tasking, anticipating our tastes and making restaurant and sight-seeing suggestions, just the epitomy of professionalism, charm and grace under pressure. All in perfect English. Some of the outstanding restaurants we enjoyed based on his recommendations were nearby Le Restaurant on Rue des Beaux-Arts, Al Dente on Rue de Varenne, and a short cab ride away, Mon Viel Ami, one of the better options open on a Sunday night.

We were very happy with our choice and would consider this an ideal home-away-from-home in Paris.

Room Tip: The extra space of a Junior Suite was well worth it for longer stays, our top-floor room had a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianinNewYork03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Following up your last stay, we would like to thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and staff which I have passed to our teams.
We look forward to welcoming you back in your Parisian home.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    135
    46
    33
    17
See reviews for
93
264
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

While the owners have worked hard to upgrade the entrance to the hotel, the small sitting and dining area and the lounge area with a warm fireplace - it all ends when you walk into the very tired rooms. Like most boutique hotels in Paris - rooms are small - but these are quite dowdy and are in need of a major redo along with the hallways on each floor.

Going in February when business is slow for them was worthwhile since the special rate included breakfast and a ride to the airport (gratis).....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwich_CtLcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you a lot for your feedback.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel, in particular the fireplace area.
Maintaining our property in good conditions is one of our priorities and we are constantly undertaking programs to freshen the rooms up.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Montalembert.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute! The hotel's location is convenient to almost anywhere.
The Musee d"Orsay is a 5 minute walk away as is the Seine. Quiet street for sleeping but just a 15 minute walk to Odeon and the Latin Quarter. Rue De Bac metro is 2 blocks away and so is St. Germain Des Pres Blvd. making it easy to get around.
The hotel is clean, the service is excellent and the bathroom toiletries are L'Occitaine. So thoughtful that they even include foot cream which is great after a day of walking the streets of Paris. Had a room on the top floor which has an amazing view of the Eiffel and Les Invalides! It was fabulous watching the Eiffel sparkle from the balcony at night. Comfy beds and again they are so thoughtful as to leave you a card with the next day's forecast (in centigrade AND Fahrenheit), when they turn down the bed. Friendly staff, always helpful and they even printed out a map of directions when asked for a particular location. Room 83 is a suite with 3 balconies, a flat screen tv in the bedroom and living room. Apparently, they even have DVDs you can ask for to watch in your room, but the weather was awesome and thus evenings were spent out. Definitely look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your time and for sharing with us these nice comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel Montalembert.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The brief for a hotel in Paris was - centrally located, boutique, child (8 yr old) friendly and as good as The Covent Garden Hotel. We were recommended the Hotel Montalembert. It ticked these boxes and the staff were very friendly but it was disappointing. Whilst it is a great location, left bank - St Germain, the area had no soul (just really expensive cafes and a building site opposite), the (expensive/premium!) room was very pokey, the bath plug didn't work (let water out nearly as quickly as it went in) and the hotel didn't have any character - breakfast was like being in any cheap Travelodge. In retrospect, having walked around a fair bit of Paris that weekend, I would argue that the right bank is a better bet - Le Marais was great fun for instance.
Tip - if you have to go to St Germain, eat at Le 20, rue Bellechasse - great food, well priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_spu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your post. We are deeply sorry that we have not meet all your expectations during your stay.
The Hotel Montalembert is recognized for its personalized service. Should you have mentioned these details to our staff during your stay, we could have reacted on the spot. Our rooms have a standard size for a Left Bank property, so perhaps a suite would have been more appropriate regarding your demand.
Regarding our breakfast menu, it features different types of breakfasts : continental breakfast, low fat breakfast, and “a la carte” (all home maid: omelets, eggs any style, cheese, pancakes, bagels, oat meal, smoked salmon...)
Christian Liaigre is a French famous designer selected round the world by exclusive properties but we totally understand that design is a personal perception.
We look forward to have the pleasure to host you again and our Concierge and the entire team will be taking care of you.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our small group of 3 women and 2 teen girls had a wonderful time in Paris at the Montalembert. The location is excellent - just 4 blocks from the Orsay, a Monoprix across the street for last minute personal necessities, and Eric Kaysar boulangerie 3 blocks away. The Rue du Bac metro stop is at the corner of Blvd. St. Germaine as is a delicious cafe with scrumptious profiteroles!
The staff of the Montalembert were kind, knowledgeable, and always helpful with our seemingly endless questions and requests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a memorable Parisian experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tingababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Ladies,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We have passed on your compliments to the team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I love the hotel except restaurant . Breakfast slowest in town.
The waiters pay attention to Whom they want to.
The omelette today is badly done late and badly presented, asked twice for milk for coffee and , sugar, brought no butter today , to ask for water is like you are asking a favor. Waiters have attitude as all is a favor.

I stay here a week a month, they know me by name etc at hotel desk /front.
By the way with over 10 stay I think have never been upgraded once eventhough they try to always have my room ready upon arrival, the front porters are very helpful,
This is still not quite 5 stars hotel more like 4
Merci!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to explain what happened as all comments are valuable to us and help us maintain the quality of service to our guests.
Please be assured that I have discussed your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager in order to take immediate corrective actions.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again and that you will give us the opportunity to change the perception of us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My daughters and I had a wonderful time at this charming hotel. It is within walking distance to the Louvre, St. Germaine, fabulous clothing and antique shops -- in short the location is terrific. The rooms, while small, are chic and comfortable -- the bath luxurious. We stayed twice over a 10 day period while we toured around -- the second time we received an upgrade and the view was marvelous. When I go back, I will stay here. There was construction in front of the hotel, but it didn't bother us. I didn't hear any other guests while we were in our room. They arranged for taxis to the airport and attempted to help me find a lost item.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PCapriottiMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#147 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#184 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#426 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
L'Hotel
L'Hotel
#535 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#90 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#292 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montalembert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montalembert

Property: Hotel Montalembert
Address: 3 rue Montalembert, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#228 Family Hotel in Paris
#302 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#509 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montalembert 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montalembert, built in 1926, is the first 5 star Boutique hotel on the Left Bank. The Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés on the Left Bank. Few steps away from the Orsay and the Louvre Museums, this boutique hotel is surrounded by design stores, exclusive art galleries, antique shops, famous cafés (Café de Flore, Deux Magots) and the deluxe department store Le Bon Marché. The warm and intimate atmosphere of the lobby makes you feel unique and privileged. The hotel Montalembert is the perfect combination between contemporary design and cosy ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montalembert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montalembert Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing