We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montalembert
Nearby Hotels
US$286
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$286
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
US$231
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$226
US$206
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Augustin - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$155
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$284
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Darcet(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$279
US$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
547
150
51
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
150
51
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleft bankjoel robuchonrue du bacst germaindeluxe roomsperfect locationmusee d'orsayright bankeiffel towerrestaurant staffrooms are smallbottle of champagnecontinental breakfasta small boutique hotelfavorite hotelquiet streethome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 802 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

While the owners have worked hard to upgrade the entrance to the hotel, the small sitting and dining area and the lounge area with a warm fireplace - it all ends when you walk into the very tired rooms. Like most boutique hotels in Paris - rooms are small - but these are quite dowdy and are in need of a major redo along with the hallways on each floor.

Going in February when business is slow for them was worthwhile since the special rate included breakfast and a ride to the airport (gratis).....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenwich_CtLcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you a lot for your feedback.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel, in particular the fireplace area.
Maintaining our property in good conditions is one of our priorities and we are constantly undertaking programs to freshen the rooms up.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Montalembert.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute! The hotel's location is convenient to almost anywhere.
The Musee d"Orsay is a 5 minute walk away as is the Seine. Quiet street for sleeping but just a 15 minute walk to Odeon and the Latin Quarter. Rue De Bac metro is 2 blocks away and so is St. Germain Des Pres Blvd. making it easy to get around.
The hotel is clean, the service is excellent and the bathroom toiletries are L'Occitaine. So thoughtful that they even include foot cream which is great after a day of walking the streets of Paris. Had a room on the top floor which has an amazing view of the Eiffel and Les Invalides! It was fabulous watching the Eiffel sparkle from the balcony at night. Comfy beds and again they are so thoughtful as to leave you a card with the next day's forecast (in centigrade AND Fahrenheit), when they turn down the bed. Friendly staff, always helpful and they even printed out a map of directions when asked for a particular location. Room 83 is a suite with 3 balconies, a flat screen tv in the bedroom and living room. Apparently, they even have DVDs you can ask for to watch in your room, but the weather was awesome and thus evenings were spent out. Definitely look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your time and for sharing with us these nice comments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel Montalembert.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The brief for a hotel in Paris was - centrally located, boutique, child (8 yr old) friendly and as good as The Covent Garden Hotel. We were recommended the Hotel Montalembert. It ticked these boxes and the staff were very friendly but it was disappointing. Whilst it is a great location, left bank - St Germain, the area had no soul (just really expensive cafes and a building site opposite), the (expensive/premium!) room was very pokey, the bath plug didn't work (let water out nearly as quickly as it went in) and the hotel didn't have any character - breakfast was like being in any cheap Travelodge. In retrospect, having walked around a fair bit of Paris that weekend, I would argue that the right bank is a better bet - Le Marais was great fun for instance.
Tip - if you have to go to St Germain, eat at Le 20, rue Bellechasse - great food, well priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_spu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your post. We are deeply sorry that we have not meet all your expectations during your stay.
The Hotel Montalembert is recognized for its personalized service. Should you have mentioned these details to our staff during your stay, we could have reacted on the spot. Our rooms have a standard size for a Left Bank property, so perhaps a suite would have been more appropriate regarding your demand.
Regarding our breakfast menu, it features different types of breakfasts : continental breakfast, low fat breakfast, and “a la carte” (all home maid: omelets, eggs any style, cheese, pancakes, bagels, oat meal, smoked salmon...)
Christian Liaigre is a French famous designer selected round the world by exclusive properties but we totally understand that design is a personal perception.
We look forward to have the pleasure to host you again and our Concierge and the entire team will be taking care of you.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our small group of 3 women and 2 teen girls had a wonderful time in Paris at the Montalembert. The location is excellent - just 4 blocks from the Orsay, a Monoprix across the street for last minute personal necessities, and Eric Kaysar boulangerie 3 blocks away. The Rue du Bac metro stop is at the corner of Blvd. St. Germaine as is a delicious cafe with scrumptious profiteroles!
The staff of the Montalembert were kind, knowledgeable, and always helpful with our seemingly endless questions and requests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a memorable Parisian experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tingababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Ladies,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We have passed on your compliments to the team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I love the hotel except restaurant . Breakfast slowest in town.
The waiters pay attention to Whom they want to.
The omelette today is badly done late and badly presented, asked twice for milk for coffee and , sugar, brought no butter today , to ask for water is like you are asking a favor. Waiters have attitude as all is a favor.

I stay here a week a month, they know me by name etc at hotel desk /front.
By the way with over 10 stay I think have never been upgraded once eventhough they try to always have my room ready upon arrival, the front porters are very helpful,
This is still not quite 5 stars hotel more like 4
Merci!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaud B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to explain what happened as all comments are valuable to us and help us maintain the quality of service to our guests.
Please be assured that I have discussed your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager in order to take immediate corrective actions.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again and that you will give us the opportunity to change the perception of us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews