We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #193 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We spent 3 nights here. This exquisite place is like home away from home. We arrived at noon time, located the address. It was on small but busy street. The door was tight shut. We rang the door bell. A gentleman in black rimmed glasses answered the door with a warm “bonjour” and big smile. A couple steps up, we entered the small reception area. Immediately coffee was brought to us. He started to chat with us like an old friend while checking us in. His relaxing manner put us at ease and made us feel at home right away.
Our room was on the top floor. We were initially surprised and a bit disappointed by the tiny space. We did not expect the room to be that small. After a day here, we found out that actually size did not matter. Everything needed was at your fingertip, compact and right where you needed. Nice shower, all the toiletry necessities, reusable bottles of drinking water, small snacks, phone calls, everything a traveler may need was available, all free of charge!
The room was simply decorated, but with quality. The floor window was draped with beautiful cotton curtains. The bed linens were of the best quality, clean, soft, fresh and new. So comfortable that it felt like a shower room in IKEA.
As we were new to Paris, we had questions about navigating the area and planning for meals. The staff was always so extremely patient recommending places and restaurants to us, like a family friend. Sometimes in doubt, they would go online, google for us and print out the map for us.
We were offered an IPAD, which we thought was a great idea, but we had our laptops with us which was enough. I did not think free breakfast was included as we never had breakfast here.
After 3 days here, we felt almost attached to this little cozy hotel. What a little haven this tiny hotel is! It is home away from home for any travelers!
After Paris, we flew to Courchevel, supposedly the world’s most expensive ski resort and stayed at a fancy hotel at Courchevel 1850. I am sorry to say, Le Citizen is more superior in every possible way in its unpretentious and unassuming manner!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMMG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    135
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
130
424
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night last week. The service was outstanding. We checked in early at 1pm and the friendly staff immediately brought tea to our room to welcome us. Our city room has great views over the canal and was modern and well-equipped. It was immaculately clean. We were also given an ipad to use during our stay.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonsieurQuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Citizen and would return, although we'd probably stay in a cheaper room. The best thing about the hotel is the superb staff, who are earnest and eager to help you. In our experience, such service is relatively uncommon in Paris!

Our room (a more expensive Zen suite) was spacious and thoughtfully un-froufrou. Great bed with duvet, good pillows. Nice bathroom. Overall the design is smart, except for the slightly peculiar, modular, window banquette, which is uncomfortable and can get in the way of closing the curtains. There were lots of windows. It's worth bearing in mind that the hotel is located near a crossroads and that the traffic can be noisy, meaning you don't actually want to open the room windows if you want some quiet. (Perhaps this is less of a problem on higher floors.) The only real disappointment was the included breakfast, but we might be pickier than most people -- in our opinion, since there are many great bakeries in Paris, a hotel could offer really good, fresh pastries and bread.

In terms of location, the hotel is a decent walk away from some of the more exciting restaurants clustered in the 11th but very close to everything by metro.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Friendly staff, great location with nice shops and good restaurants. Personeel spreekt nederlands dus erg makkelijk. Weekend tip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furtado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

One of the best places we have stayed in on our world travels, has best beds, views (6 level you can see Eiffel tower, Sacre Core and the canal through you french window all of 4 double if I remember as it was in the apartment we stayed with our 2 boys 11 and 13. They loved it The little room treats...like I pad,wall TV, drinks Biscits different everyday(from our room). Toiletries even up to toothpaste. Breakfast best quality and freshes croissants, my boys loved the Real coco hot chocolate, fresh made yogurts...etc, and direction anytime nothing is a problem, we felt really spoilt we were there(9 nights) and could of easy stayed another (9) ...I still remember having my breakfast and gazing out towards the canal, ah bellisimo.....we will be back hopefully next Christmas and if not Defenately the one after... I booked this place 10 months in advance as from then I could see this new place was amazing...I will post some photos soon as I process them..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I and 2 teenage boys stayed for 3 nights in the apartment which is a city room and suite combined. We have been to Paris quite a few times and wanted to experience something local and non touristy. This is the spot. The staff could not have done more, the rooms were really comfortable and well furnished and I have finally had a great shower in Paris.
If you want to see all the sights you are 2 minutes from the Metro.
Free internet and phone calls is a nice touch and the staff are really interesting to chat to.
The canal has a working loch right outside the hotel and it's interesting watching boats go by. You can walk or run along the canal for ages and find cafes and markets easily.
Really great!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JSJJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Great service, Great Rooms, Great Location.

It was an absolute pleasure staying here and would definitely stay again ! Highly Recommended.

The staff go out of their way for you, and make you feel right at home. Fantastic.

And the food!!!!! WOW

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmmmmyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#50 of 1,802 in Paris
760 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
1,257 reviews
Hotel Residence Foch
#70 of 1,802 in Paris
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#62 of 1,802 in Paris
1,003 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#245 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
#246 of 1,802 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing