We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

wow, all i may contribute given the comments from other guests is that i simple admired the location, staff, ammenities and everything offered. thank you so very much! i will deffinitly be back for a personal stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viktoria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
124
416
56
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This generally isn't an area that we would stay in Paris but it really was a hidden gem. Very local and romantic nestled next to the St Martin Canal. Within close proximity to the Metro, it was very easy to get to and around Paris. The hotel service was fantastic. We had a minor hitch in terms of a double booking to our room that could have put a major fault in our stay but the manager did everything to make up for the error and we wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend. The room was compact (this is Paris) but had everything we needed. The Ipads were a nice touch and helped in planning the day's activities. Very friendly and willing to provide great advice. Worth the stay just to enjoy a glass of Vino at the end of the day with the locals on the bank of the Canal. Don't be scared to try the local cafes and restaurants in the laneways and on the canal - much better than the tourist traps.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balmoral78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Europe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I only stayed for one night on my way through paris. The hotel had been personally recommended and the TA reviews clinched it. I thought it was great and did not suffer from any noise issues even though I was on the 2nd floor. It is small so if space is a requirement this may not be the hotel your looking for. In addition, I would suggest this hotel as suitable for visitors that know Paris and are looking for something different. The area is great for young paris but may not be so suitable if your looking for shopping and sightseeing ops. Metro is not that close either but it is a lovely hotel with a nice vibe in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here a week ago and were so impressed. The rooms are small, but the views of the canal are great. Breakfast is perfect, but what really makes le citizen stand apart is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Day and night, you are looked after and everyone is so lovely, it makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M00se_and_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Va
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

they give u an ipad while u r here. the whole minibar is free. breakfast is free. the door girl is super friendly and speaks perfect english. at breakfast they squeeze. u fresh oj right there. what more do u want? it is perfect.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JenandTomandMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Who knew you could stay in the 10th arrondissement? My new favorite area in paris to eat, drink, shop and stroll. The hotel was lovely - the people who worked there were incredible nice and friendly. For Paris, or any city for that matter, the rooms were a great size. And again, the location is great. Free ipads, mini bar, breakfast - fun, unique and much appreciated! The beds were very comfortable as well. Not a luxury hotel but a well priced, very well located great find. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in the city room and the zen suite. actually pretty the city room which was a bit less tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABunzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Having read the outstanding Tripadvisor reviews, I secured a fully pre-paid five-night reservation at Le Citizen in Mar 2012. My fifth or sixth trip to Paris, this was the first time I stayed this far east, outside of the more touristy areas of the centre.

I'm reluctant to share this glowing review because I want Le Citizen to be a well-kept secret. Its current #4 standing amongst thousands of reviewed Paris hotels is very well-deserved and I hope their growing popularity doesn't change their values.

Le Citizen's motto,"run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit," is absolutely genuine. They cater to your every question, satisfy every request, and make your stay effortless and enjoyable.

Basically everything is free: the wifi, the use of a personal well-equipped iPad during your stay, all the snacks and drinks in your room, the sensational breakfasts with homemade yogurts, preserves, local breads, strong espresso, and freshly pressed juices made to order. They happily printed my documents. They happily answered all my questions.

I stayed in the smaller City Room. Like most Paris hotels, room space is limited, but I admired the clever space-saving design, the high-quality finishings, the exceptional bedding and shower, and the bright airiness that comes from three west-facing openable windows overlooking Canal St Martin.

A secret if you have more than one suitcase: place one in the clever space beneath the bathroom sink.

If I had to fault anything: perhaps the loud revellers hanging out on the canal late into Friday night. But this wasn't the hotel's fault, just a gritty character of this magical, untouristy part of the city.

Having stayed here on a business trip, I'm eagerly looking forward to staying here again for a holiday with my partner. To everyone at Le Citizen, un grand merci!

Room Tip: All rooms are west-facing, overlooking the street and the canal. The smaller City Rooms may feel cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#40 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#63 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#47 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#139 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing