We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was our first time staying in Paris so we don't have much to compare this hotel too, but we thought it was lovely! The rooms were clean and well kept, extra pillows, separate toilette from the shower area. We were on the back side of the hotel, and it was quiet which made for a peaceful nights sleep. Staff was friendly. The stairs were steep, but there is a small elevator if you need it. Staff brought our bags up for us. Water pressure in the shower was good, and it was always hot enough. We found it to be a very charming place! The room isn't gigantic, but we assume it is fairly on par for other places in Paris (especially for a hotel that had a bit more of a historical feel to it). It is also close to a couple of metros, which is convenient. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    341
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
170
625
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My mother and i stayed here for 2 nights during our 1-week stay in April 2012 in France. Overall a wonderful stay and the cost performance (around 150 euros/night for twin shower) is excellent!

Pros:
Location - walking distance to metro, only 8 euros by taxi from Opera Roissy Bus stop.

Service!!! - such friendly and attentive staff. One example is when we asked to arrange a cab in the morning on our last day, the staff came to our room to let us know the cab was about to come, and took our luggage. Such efficient and smart service. Couldn't praise enough about the service, from the booking process to the end.

Wifi- no dramas. The kind you can just select the network and enter the password, not the one you have to log in every time on a web browser.

Character - the exterior and interior are just beautiful. Lovely, warm and welcoming reception area.


Cons:
The only thing is the room (twin standard shower) was quite small, and there were no shower amenities i.e. shampoo etc. nor was there a fridge/ kettle. I only mention this because for the same price range there was another hotel we stayed at whose room was much bigger with more amenities, albeit having much LESS helpful staff.

Overall an excellent stay. I'll come back, if I can book as it seems very popular, and rightly so! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: For a room with a balcony choose double shower or bath ("some availability" according to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikkirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Propriétaire at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments on the New Orient Hotel.

Concerning the room size, we would just like to precise that this is the standard size for most of 3 stars hotels in Paris also in our neighborhood(but we prefered to remain a good 2 stars and keep reasonable rates) and their rates are between 30 to 50% more than ours. The standard twin in which you were accomodated is 140€ per night but we also propose a twin bath to 160€ per night which is much bigger with a very correct price.

For the amenities, we give in each tub or shower an automatic distributor with a shampoo and shower gel of very good quality (herbal organic products from ADA) but may be you did not see it .

Anyhow we are pleased that you enjoyed with us and look forward to welcome you for another visit.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I really enjoyed staying here for a week in March 2012.... The staff at the front desk was quite helpful with metro directions & suggestions. The free wifi was a life-saver since I'm an iphone user, and roaming charges can be quite costly without wifi. I was offered a wonderful tea service upon arrival, and for my birthday they left a wrapped gift and a card on my bed. So sweet!
There's a supermarket across the street where you can get a variety of snacks and a good bottle of wine for less than 5 Euros. There's a wonderful creperie a couple of doors down and a Venetian pastry shop with the most delectable croissants and tarts. The metro station "Europe" - Line 3 is really close (less than 5 minutes walk).
The only issue is that the room / bathroom were really tiny. However, the nightly rates were so good that I really couldn't complain about room size!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmuffins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the New Orient Hotel for three nights in January. We were impressed the moment the elegant Hausmann-style hotel came into view through our taxi window. The front desk staff were welcoming and helpful on arrival, and immediately put to rest our concerns about getting around Paris with rusty French. Those good feelings continued when we opened the door to our very comfortable room. What could be nicer than standing on the balcony and taking in the Parisian street scene below?
The room was tasteful and more than adequately sized considering the dimensions of the usual Parisian hotel room. The bathroom was well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Access to free Wi-Fi made planning our trip around Paris a breeze.
Each morning, we enjoyed the self-serve continental breakfast served on the ground floor. Service staff were always very helpful and the selections were fresh and tasty. And the freshly made bread is to die for!
As well, the front foyer is well-stocked with useful travel information.
One of the reasons we chose the New Orient (after consulting TripAdvisor) was its handy location in the 8th arrondissement, and we weren't disappointed. The Europe and St Lazare metro stops are a short walk away through the Parisian music district, as is Gare St Lazare. From there, all of Paris is available to you, as well as the train to Versailles.
We have no reservations whatsoever about recommending the New Orient Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently stayed in Room 3 for three nights. As others have said this hotel has a great balance of location, price and quality. Villiers is the nearest Metro and is two or three minutes away. We didn't try the breakfast at the hotel, instead opting for a coffee at the nearby Dome cafe and grabbing a pastry for the shop opposite.

On our arrival in the hotel we were recommended to eat at a couple of restaurants nearby, Le Bistrot des Vignes in Rue Legendre and Le Petit Canon in Rue des Dames. We would recommend both especially the first which was just excellent but the second was very good too (and opens on a Sunday which some do not).

As others have mentioned, if you are a light sleeper, you will hear street noise and the rumble of trains late at night and early in the morning. We had a very troubled second nights sleep when the laundry got delivered at 01:00 in the morning and, in our room on the first floor, you could hear every trolley being wheeled in and out of the hotel, the doors banging and every word of the conversation between the night porter and delivery man. I suspect the effect would have been lessened if we were on a higher floor.

The good news is that the owners (I think) took it very seriously when I mentioned it in passing the next morning. They were very apologetic, spoke with the laundry company and night staff and even took a little bit off our bill which was great.

They were also very accommodating when it came to storing our bags for our last day as we had a very late train trip back to the UK.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay, were very impressed with the owners and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may avoid the noise of any late night/early morning comings and goings in the hotel lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel deserves all the good reviews.

The hotel is well kept, the staff are friendly and for a standard level of comfort it ticks all the boxes. Rooms were clean and tidy and the furnishings generally comfortable.

The location is a bit too far from the centre of Paris to walk anywhere but there are metro stations nearby that mean this is never an issue.

The only real problem we encountered was room temperature - the air con temperature was non adjustable and at night we had the choice of getting cold sleeping on top of the bed or being too warm sleeping in it as there was only a thick quilt, with no option of just a sheet! This made sleeping a little difficult at times but as it seemed unseasonably warm while we were there, this was probably just bad luck!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a small hotel close to a metro stop and easy to get to all the main sites. The rooms themselves are not huge but certainly not tiny. They are beautifully clean and the room we had looked out on to the main street although there was little traffic. It was on the first floor of the hotel and you could hear the metro running under the hotel! Would be best to request a high floor room if this bothers you. The beds were comfy and all the staff in the hotel were really helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning, which was nice and there are many cafe's around the hotel that you could go to. The main attraction that this hotel offered was the great value it gave in comparison to other hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#48 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#38 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#125 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#111 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#155 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing