We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Ranked #179 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just returned from three nights at the Jeu de Paume. I was visiting Paris for a few days with my sisters and we wanted something practical yet special. Both of my sisters had stayed here before. This hotel was perfect. The location is unbeatable...steps away from Notre Dame, the Seine, the Metro (so you can get anywhere) and many, many restaurants to appeal to all tastes and budgets. The street is lively during the day and evening with gelato and crepes available every few meters, interesting and unique shops, and wonderful cafes. The staff is gracious, accommodating, extremely helpful and truly delightful. They also speak English. Scoop, the Golden Retriever who hangs out there during the day, is also a very nice pup and adds to the overall homey feel of this charming place.

Our room was typical European...not huge but well appointed with everything we needed. Very comfortable beds. I believe all rooms face the back, a small inner courtyard, so it was very quiet at night, despite the fact that there are clubs and restaurants right across the street. I shared a room with one sister and the other had her own...we were all extremely happy.

I will add that I am an American currently living in Germany and have stayed in many small European hotel rooms. Room size is not what most Americans are used to but that's not really why you're here, is it? The rooms are average European size and very nicely outfitted.

This is a wonderful boutique hotel that just added to our fabulous Paris experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    106
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
52
226
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odiham, Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

As usual, what we find with any hotel is that it may be absolutely wonderful in terms of location, ambience, comfort, style and elegance - all of which is true of the Hotel du Jeu de Paume - but something nasty gets in the way and makes the whole experience unforgettable in the worst possible sense.
We have just spent a weekend in Paris and returned once more to the Hotel du Jeu de Paume because we had stayed there a few years ago. Nothing had changed: the entrance is subdued to the point of being virtually invisible from the street (just a slightly knackered heavy wooden door with a brass plate alongside), the reception area is delightful, the staff are very welcoming, the interior is beautifully and cleverly decorated. The rooms are so quiet, too, which is a huge asset in a noisy place like Paris, especially as the street outside the hotel is often crowded with people spilling out of a restaurant and bar opposite. A particularly positive feature about the hotel concerns the comfort of the beds: you sink into the softness of the mattress and the pillows and can forget your worries in a few moments.
My complaint concerns the fact that allegedly we were in a 'superior room' whereas the couple with us were in an adjacent 'ordinary room'. Try as we might, we couldn't find anything 'superior' about our room: the bed was the same, the bathroom was identical, the layout of both rooms was similar. Yet we were expected to pay something like 100 Euros more per night. I challenged the hotel to explain this bizarre state of affairs, and they mumbled something about us having a Queen-size bed, but the bed in the 'ordinary room' was exactly the same size. In the end we paid the 'superior' supplement, but I tell you, I was not happy and I want everyone to know that I'm not. If I were French and could speak their language with more confidence, I would have gone to the barricades by refusing to pay.
So my recommendation is: stay at the Hotel du Jeu de Paume, it's a magnificent little hotel for all the reasons summarised in my opening sentences, and the area around is delightful with some beautiful restaurants and tiny, characterful shops - but don't fall for the 'superior room' malarkey.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TedJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

At the heart of history Ille Saint Louis, this charming, small hotel is a find. With fantastic bistros minutes away, a great location for the basis of any Parisian adventures. Stroll along the West Bank, jump on the subways, go out for dinner, and then return to a quiet and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are small - with small bathrooms - but extremely quiet and comfortable. You're in Paris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Staying on the Isle St. Louis is a treat, both central and beautiful and if you stay in the Jeu de Paume, quiet as well. The design of the hotel is unexpected in that it is both a very old building (it was originally a Real Tennis court) and yet the decor is contempory, a combination that works well. There is a comfortable sitting area in front of a large fireplace with art books and magazines, a well designed breakfast area further back and a small courtyard garden where you can sit out in the summer. Our rooms were around the courtyard, they were well done up in contempory style, not huge and not a lot of natural light and if you opened your blinds others walking to their rooms could see in. However the beds were large and comfortable, the interior (electric) lighting was well designed, they had good spotlessly clean modern bathrooms although not all had baths, most had contempory wet rooms/showers instead. The staff at reception were very helpful and the breakfast delicious. It is not cheap to stay here but you are in the centre of Paris on the Isle St. Louis and the hotel is stylish and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

I had a conference in Paris and stayed in this hotel for one night. It is quite impressive to have a hotel all done in the 17 century house. It is very charming inside but the rooms are quite small and are not ready for you to work inside. I have to say that one of the chairs in the room was broken and when I sat on it, I fell on the floor. What a scene. The maintenance guy came quickly to change the chair, but I was a bit surprised that paying almost 300€ a night I would not feel safe sitting on a chair (believe me, I am not that fat).

The location is incredible, though. Right on Ile Saint-Louis, you are in the heart of Paris.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

If you want somewhere different to stay I couldn't rate this more highly. Set in a lovely old building on the isle st Louis, hidden behind an assuming front door. Helpful, pleasant staff in a great location.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank badger975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

A nice and small hotel at a great central location. Great room, good beds, air-conditioned even though a very old building. Totally refurnished. Job well done. Location is really wonderful, nice street and in the heart of the city. An experience I won't forget!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutger v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#510 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#499 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#886 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#227 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#43 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#182 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Jeu de Paume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Property: Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Address: 54 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#260 Family Hotel in Paris
#273 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Jeu de Paume 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Jeu de Paume is a charming 4* hotel created in a former 17th century royal jeu de paume; it was fully renovated during summer 2010 and decorated in the "Arty" style. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, overlooking the small patio garden in which breakfast or drinks can be served. The Jeu de Paume is located in the historical heart of Paris on the Island Saint Louis, at walking distance from the cathedral Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Jeu de Paume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Jeu De Paume Hotel
Hotel Jeu De Paume Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing