We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
245
136
67
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
136
67
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschamps elyseespierre gagnaireeiffel towerroom servicemacaroonsconcierge servicearc de triumphstay there againjunior suitebreakfast was includedluxury hotellovely roomexcellent locationa wonderful staywonderful hotelcroissantsparisian
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 484 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2018

Room aesthetic was pretty nice, staff gave us room with the nice view and they were pretty cordial. Sometimes what I noticed in France they try to take your money in really shady ways so you ask yourself sometimes is this legal. Also bad thing was, that room smelled like smoke so that ruined the experience :(

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards city
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexandarcosic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerParis, Directeur général at Hotel Balzac, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Dear alexandarocsic

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced with the smoke smell in the room. However, the hotel is “non-smoking”, some guests do not respect that regulation. Whenever, this happens, we apply a special treatment. We apologize if this was not enough this time! Furthermore, had you reported the issue to the Front Desk, they would have been happy to move you to another room.

Finally, I’m not sure to understand your remark regarding money – I suggest that you contact me directly to give me more information.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to appreciate the comfort and cosy atmosphere of the Hotel Balzac.

Yours sincerely

Raphaël Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

It was a quick visit to Paris as a part of our tour to Europe. We were very happy with the hotel location as it is in the middle of Champ Elisse and few minutes walking to Eiffel tower and others main attractions. The service was superb, starting from the bellman, to front office and till check out.
Unfortunately, we got very frustrated when we checked in our room. The room was very very old, wall paintings were peeled off, yellow stains on walls and in the bathroom, bad view overlooking rooftops of other buildings. We called "Thomas" who managed our check in to complaint about the room. He was very helpful and upgraded us to a spacious suite thankfully. Yet, the suite condition was no better than the room, moreover its cleanness wasn't up to the mark. We just took it, but we weren't happy at all.
Breakfast was so good, they serve super delicious omelettes with mixed veg. n cheese. "Ted" in the breakfast restaurant was an amazing gentleman who was very keen to make us happy, and he highly succeeded in his mission. We are truly thanking him.

Room Tip: No good rooms. We saw the standard room and the spacious suite and both were bad
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marwa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerParis, Directeur général at Hotel Balzac, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear Marwa s

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for your compliments to the staff which we have shared with them in particular with Thomas and Ted. This is the best reward they can expect as they are trying constantly to achieve their most important aim: guest’s satisfaction.

We are really sorry that the room was not up to your expectations – you can be assured that the hotel is permanently maintained. Cleanness is criteria recognized and appreciated by a majority of our guests, we regret that we failed in your instance.

Please note that the Hotel Balzac offers a selection of rooms with specific views : Eiffel Tower, courtyard, street, rooftop. You are welcome to indicate your preference for your forthcoming stay.

May we take the opportunity of the season to convey our very best wishes.

Yours sincerely

Raphaël Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Other then one minor issue this hotel is awesome.

Superb location just off the Champs Elysee. Attentive and courteous staff, clean and sizeable rooms. All really great.

The only slight blip is that the mattresses are very hard. I actually like a fun mattress but this is even too hard for me. Other then this minor quibble, this is a real gem of a hotel and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ntpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerParis, Directeur général at Hotel Balzac, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Dear ntpayne

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Balzac.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and that you think so highly of us.

Kindly be informed that I have shared your very sincere words to all of our team as knowing that achieving our aims, fills us with great pride.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. At the time of booking, please make sure you mention that you wish a softer mattress. We do provide solutions for this request.

Warm regards

Raphaël Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Balzac after my husband had been injured in a biking accident. They took such good care of us, from beautiful breakfasts to a lovely room and wonderful service. We could not have asked for more. We will alway go back to the Balzac when we are in Paris. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerParis, Directeur général at Hotel Balzac, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear HappyTraveler320

Welcome to the Hotel Balzac Fan Club!

Thank you for your kind words which we have shared with the team.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed such a nice stay.

We strive daily to provide our guests a genuinely warm and personal service and when they are fully satisfied we feel that we have achieved our objectives.

We sincerely hope that your husband has fully recovered from his biking accident?

We look forward to welcoming both of you in the near future.

Warmest regards

Raphaël Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a great location and the staff was very kind. Rooms are well decorated in an old French way. The beds were not very comfortable. In view of the special offer, the price was fair for the location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank masternuschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerParis, Directeur général at Hotel Balzac, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Dear masternuschi,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Balzac and for taking the time to write your positive feedback.

We are pleased to read that you were fully satisfied by the kindness of the staff and by the hotel in general.

We are sorry that you did not find the beds comfortable.

We took good note of your comment. For your forthcoming, you can be assured that we will adjust the comfort of the mattress according to your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Raphaël Mancuso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews