We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in need of a renovation”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #1,510 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location in need of a renovation”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Although the location was fantastic, the hotel needed a bit of a renovation. However it was still clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    282
    235
    203
    320
See reviews for
236
363
88
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I couldn't wait to write this review! Please spend your money somewhere else. The hotel is in such a state of disrepair. Brown water out of the sink, broken shower, mirror with no reflection... just to name a few. Don't ruin your trip to Paris. I stayed out in Paris as long as I could just to avoid going back to my room the few nights I stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Perisher Valley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the Normandy Hotel again after 25 years. this was a romantic decision as the last time we stayed there we decided to get married. we were not totally disappointed however it should be said that the hotel is now getting very tired and needs a good renovation. we were given a very large room that made the stay more comfortable but the paint was peeling, the carpet was nearly threadbare and the old wardrobe was managing not to fall apart. the staff were uncooperative without being rude so we decided to have little contact with them during our 5 day stay. we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is completely over-priced for a complete under-performance. Rooms shabby, bathrooms out of the 1930s, hairdryers that don't work, rude staff, rubbish breakfast (when a French hotel serves poor coffee you know you're in trouble). As others have said, the only saving grace is its central location - but check out the Regina round the corner for location and a MUCH better hotel. They don't care as they have tour groups trekking in and out so they don't have to try. Just don't go here. This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in - even before we get to the 200 euro (a night!) price tag. Oh - and to top it all off it made my colleague and I very ill.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnetraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My boyfriend took me to Paris for a surprise birthday trip and he booked the Normandy Hotel. After booking he read the reviews which were generally all very poor so he tried to cancel the booking which they would not let him do. This went on for a few emails/calls until eventually the manager said he would not refund the room but he would make sure we got a nice room. If what we got was a nice room, I feel very sorry for anyone staying in a not nice room!

Location wise this hotel is insanely handy but that really is its only perk. The staff were rude and unhelpful. The hotel was pretty shabby with very dated decor, brown patches on the bathrooms walls and a tiny, little bed that may as well have been a mattress on the floor. But as i say, I actually think we were lucky!!

It didn't ruin our trip though, Paris is amazing and we didn't spend much time there anyway but if you can find something else in the same location, I would book there instead!

Room Tip: Just do not book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinabombinauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked two single rooms at this hotel as I was accompanying a friend running the Paris Marathon.I chose it because of the central location and the fact their single rooms were reasonably priced.After reading the previous reviews I was not expecting much.
However,I was pleasantly surprised.Yes,the decor is dated and in parts a bit shabby but our rooms were clean and spacious.It did not feel that our single rooms were inferior as they so often are. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well.Breakfast was good with plenty of choice,constantly replenished and available until 11am.
The concierge staff were kind and friendly ,spoke excellent English and helped us book trips and transfers.Leaving our luggage after checking out at 12pm was no problem and was efficiently handled and carried out to our shuttle bus for us.Can these be the same staff referred to so negatively in other reviews?
The hotel location could not be bettered,less than five minutes walk to the Louvre.Plenty of reasonably priced places to eat nearby.We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annabelwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is a sub-standard hotel. The reality does not match the web-site in particular which manages to make the hotel quite appealing. Room was shabby,staff ranged from downright rude(and this was the Manager who likes to threaten expulsion if you argue!!!!!!!!) to some who were helpful in difficult circumstances. Facilities poor-no bar first night and restaurant shut throughout ourstay. Hole in window for the pipe from air-con,paint peeling/chipped,carpet dirty,few coat hangers,no facilities for making a hot drink,mini-bar not stocked-all for six times the price of a normal Novotel/TravelLodge/Premium Inn all of whci knocked it into a cocked hat. The only redeeming features were homourous barman and location. I haven't started on breakfast arrangements but if you've got this far and are still interested in booking don't say you weren't warned.PS Other reviews are fair if over-graded!!!!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
Pavillon Louvre Rivoli
#1,303 of 1,801 in Paris
389 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
#344 of 1,801 in Paris
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#878 of 1,801 in Paris
771 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#396 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,093 of 1,801 in Paris
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: 7 rue de l Echelle, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#494 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Normandy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing