We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Room looks like dirty underground toilet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #465 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Room looks like dirty underground toilet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We used to love that hotel when it belonged to the other hotel chain. It used to be clean, very well furnished, rooms were big and bright and everything was clean and bright and good quality. For many years when we visited Paris we were staying in that very hotel, so this is why this year we just booked the rooms without checking any pictures - we knew it was supposed to be good. Boy, was I shocked!!!!
It had been totally redecorated and now in the hall and in the breakfast area it looks like dark dangeon - all walls are black and furniture is of dirty and rusty looking iron. Have you ever tried to sit on an iron chair? Do not try - it is very uncomfortable and cold. Corridor walls are also painted black and the whole atmosphere is very suffocating and looks like a bordello (I have never been to one but saw in the movies). Inside the building was totally replanned, so now rooms are tiny - you can hardly walk between walls and a bed (standard room). The bathroom looks like a dirty underground bathroom which has never been cleaned. And I really wonder whether it actually has ever been - walls are painted with dirty looking paint, so if you do not wash the shower stall nobody would notice - it already looks dirty to begin with. Because there are so many doors in the corridor and they bang horribely the hotel is very noisy. Besides, as rooms are very small, people keep colliding with iron furniture and iron chairs so it also makes lots of noise from neighbor rooms during night.
The only good thing which remains in this hotel is a good breakfast - I think breakfast is up to the level of a 4 stars hotel - there were fruits, omelettes, eggs, sausages, several brands of cheese and ham and salami, cereal and juices. So breakfast was excellent. But the breakfast area is also dark - all walls are painted black - tables and chairs are from iron and when I say from iron it does not mean stainless steel, it means raw iron which looks rusted and dirty. On the ceiling there re some misterious tubes which are hanging above your head very low.
So overall the atmosphere of that hotel is very suffocating, dark and depressing. Bathrooms in rooms look dirty and depressing as well. I am never going to step my foot in that hotel ever again and it is such a pity - it is situated very conveniently and breakfast is good, but this decoration can make anyone depressed.
If you want to experience spending a night in dirty underground surroundings it is much cheaper to actually sleep on the dirty floor of underground tiles, because the feeling is the same when being in that room, and especially in that bathroom. But I can never imagine that anybody would actually like to sleep on dirty tiles of underground, so why go to that hotel and pay lots of money (it isn´t a cheap hotel)?
PS. I do not know where that picture for that room from the booking site been taken, but the real room surely does not look like that even remotely.

Room Tip: Do not go there if you are feeling depressed and are visiting Paris to cheer up, or if you are on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your coment and thank you for your fidelity.

We understand your surprise when arriving if you did not know about our new decoration (in the entire hotel), finished since 2 years now.

You are right that this new decoration is completely different as the previous one, and we understand that you do not like it. It is in fact a modern decoration, with a lot of "black", and "lack "of natural light; with soft lights.

We are really sorry that this decoration and style does not correspond to you desire.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    229
    55
    21
    16
See reviews for
67
243
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Avis de: Kees et Jacqueline (Pays-Bas)

The hotel is situated close to a lot of Paris' highlights in a lively neighbourhood. The famous Opera Palais Garnier is at walking distance. You'll find restaurants offering food from many nationalities 'round the corner. Last, but certainly not least, the rooms are very clean, the buffet breakfast is perfect and the personnel is kind and correct. We have stayed here now for more than 10 times and always leave with the best kind of feelings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_koedooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Jacqueline & Kees,

Thank you very much for being one of our best guests since now 10 years!

Thank you for your permanent smile, kindness and understanding with all of us.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We visited this hotel last year in October and we stayed for 5 nights. First we got a room on the first floor but after a and hour we started to hear some strange noises. We called the receptionist and it was said to us, that there is a problem with an air conditioner and it could be repaired the other day. We were offered another room even though i had taken a shower there. The second room on the upper floor was fortunately without any problem.
Rooms are a bit small, but everything is clean and nice. Just the shower is very flat the water overflows and you have to be carefull when youre stepping off.
I liked our neighbouhood, there were 2 metro lines in walking distance.
Thank you for a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praguer507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest

We are really glad with your comment about our hotel; we all thank you very much for your kindness and sympathie.

We keep at your disposal and are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Nice and fresh design hotel situated close to the boulevards and close to several subway stations (Paris is huge, subs is the absolutely fastest way to get around, lots faster than taxi). Large and functional bath room, decent breakfast and nice interior.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank from_oslo_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest

We all would like to thank you about your nice comment about our hotel.

We still remain at your entire disposal and we are looking forward to serving you once again.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Poorly. The hotel is decadent. Very small room, toilet overflows, we spent three days and one without air conditioning and one without hot water. We get the impression that the hotel was renovated but not taken care of facilities for water and air conditioning. The staff is very kind and friendly but do not know how to solve the problems that happens all the time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest

We apologize once again for that Water problem we had last Friday 11th in the morning . We advised all our guests in advance about, as we had been advised from the city of Paris about it.

We understand the disagrement and we tried to do our best for all our guests in the hotel.

We had during your stay an spectacular, too warm day. A single day during this month with Autum temperatures and rain almost every day. Days before and afterward we need to heat rooms.
We could not unfortunatelly guarantee having air conditionning that day, as we could not be sure of it, so prefer to be honest with you.
We finally managed to have the air conditionning in the late afternoon as we informed to you. You confirmed to us the next morning that you room was fresh. Thank you very much.

We would be pleased to welcome you next time and we will do our best to make your stay unforgeteable.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel was nice, and in an interesting neighborhood, The breakfast buffet was very well done, and the staff was very helpful. They gave us a tip on a bus to the airport that was half the price of metro. The only drawback was the room itself. The desk was placed in a way that made getting around the bed difficult. The bed was nice, with extra pillows.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drasch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having posted your nice comment.

It is a real motivation for all of us.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for a week together with our daughter and two grand daughters.
The Hotel was clean and nice and the service was excellent.
We definetely recommend this hotel to any one who is spending some time in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CohenNur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest

We all thank you for your kindness ans sympathie with us. it is a real pleasure serving guests like you all.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda Herrero
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Villa Opera Drouot
Villa Opera Drouot
#385 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
#231 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Adele & Jules
Hotel Adele & Jules
#388 of 1,793 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Hotel Opera Drouot
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Eugene en Ville
Hotel Eugene en Ville
#364 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Property: Hotel Pulitzer
Address: 23 rue du Faubourg Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#263 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#419 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#463 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in downtown Paris. In Opera, near le Printemps and Galeries Lafayette. At 10 minutes in subway to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysées and all other Paris'atractions. A design hotel made for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulitzer Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing