We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in fab location”
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
Ranked #641 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel in fab location”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stay here regularly as am a frequent visitor to Paris. Positives: nice rooms, comfy beds, good location and from time to time you can get a good deal on the internet. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. A few negatives - the floors in some rooms are stone so are freezing cold in the winter and there are no rugs. Some bathrooms doors can't be left open so you have to put a bin in the door to get any air. The sliced bread at breakfast is simply awful. Dried up and has been obviously out overnight. they have rolls and the usual french patisseries but some fresh bread to toast would be nice. The Pulitzer Hotel in Barcelona puts the Paris branch to shame when it comes to breakfast. They have delicious fresh baked bread every day. I would have thought this wasn't too difficult. They don't have a reciprocal deal with a gym even though there are several club med's close by. the hotel in Paris is way more expensive that its counterpart in Barcelona and offer less for the money but I suppose that is Paris versus Barcelona. I will go back to the hotel in Paris. On my last stay the air con wasn't working and the water was turned off for a morning. This didn't really spoil things for me but sometimes a bit of a discount on the rate would be more welcome than a glass of wine offered at a time when most people are going to be out for dinner!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARINAROSEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment.

We have taken all the point into consideration; concerning the breakfast, we are delivered every day ans slided bred is served fresh every morning in the Buffet. We will pay attention to it, thanks for your information about.

Concerning the watter, as we informed all the guest in advance, it was a problem in the street for some hours in the morning. Nevertheless we did our best to compensate our guests.

We remain at your disposal.

From all the staff thank you very much.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    238
    58
    22
    14
See reviews for
70
248
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We recently spent 2 nights in this hotel and had a great stay! The hotel lobby and sitting areas are styled beautifully, modern with an antique twist (if that makes sense). The rooms are small, but it is Paris. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choices from pastries/butter/jam to meats/cheeses/yogurt/eggs. The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest

All the staff joins me to send you a great thank you for your comment. This is our motivation sourse for all of us, and you really help all os us to continue this way.

We keep at your disposal.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda Herrero in the name of all the Staff.
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Pulitzer and we loved the modern design and good location. The main lobby and bar area is furnished beautifully, and they offer a free glass of wine on your first night. The location is good as well, you are within a block of two Metro lines and about a 10 min walk from the main Montmartre street with Moulin Rouge. Their buffet breakfast was very good as well, offering cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, bread,etc. Great option if you are heading to Paris. Check out my pictures to see the great design.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roacha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest

We all thank you for having taking a little bit of your time in thinking about us.

We appreciate you nice comment.

We are really happy having achive our objectiof of guest satisfation.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero & all the Staff
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We used to love that hotel when it belonged to the other hotel chain. It used to be clean, very well furnished, rooms were big and bright and everything was clean and bright and good quality. For many years when we visited Paris we were staying in that very hotel, so this is why this year we just booked the rooms without checking any pictures - we knew it was supposed to be good. Boy, was I shocked!!!!
It had been totally redecorated and now in the hall and in the breakfast area it looks like dark dangeon - all walls are black and furniture is of dirty and rusty looking iron. Have you ever tried to sit on an iron chair? Do not try - it is very uncomfortable and cold. Corridor walls are also painted black and the whole atmosphere is very suffocating and looks like a bordello (I have never been to one but saw in the movies). Inside the building was totally replanned, so now rooms are tiny - you can hardly walk between walls and a bed (standard room). The bathroom looks like a dirty underground bathroom which has never been cleaned. And I really wonder whether it actually has ever been - walls are painted with dirty looking paint, so if you do not wash the shower stall nobody would notice - it already looks dirty to begin with. Because there are so many doors in the corridor and they bang horribely the hotel is very noisy. Besides, as rooms are very small, people keep colliding with iron furniture and iron chairs so it also makes lots of noise from neighbor rooms during night.
The only good thing which remains in this hotel is a good breakfast - I think breakfast is up to the level of a 4 stars hotel - there were fruits, omelettes, eggs, sausages, several brands of cheese and ham and salami, cereal and juices. So breakfast was excellent. But the breakfast area is also dark - all walls are painted black - tables and chairs are from iron and when I say from iron it does not mean stainless steel, it means raw iron which looks rusted and dirty. On the ceiling there re some misterious tubes which are hanging above your head very low.
So overall the atmosphere of that hotel is very suffocating, dark and depressing. Bathrooms in rooms look dirty and depressing as well. I am never going to step my foot in that hotel ever again and it is such a pity - it is situated very conveniently and breakfast is good, but this decoration can make anyone depressed.
If you want to experience spending a night in dirty underground surroundings it is much cheaper to actually sleep on the dirty floor of underground tiles, because the feeling is the same when being in that room, and especially in that bathroom. But I can never imagine that anybody would actually like to sleep on dirty tiles of underground, so why go to that hotel and pay lots of money (it isn´t a cheap hotel)?
PS. I do not know where that picture for that room from the booking site been taken, but the real room surely does not look like that even remotely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your coment and thank you for your fidelity.

We understand your surprise when arriving if you did not know about our new decoration (in the entire hotel), finished since 2 years now.

You are right that this new decoration is completely different as the previous one, and we understand that you do not like it. It is in fact a modern decoration, with a lot of "black", and "lack "of natural light; with soft lights.

We are really sorry that this decoration and style does not correspond to you desire.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Avis de: Kees et Jacqueline (Pays-Bas)

The hotel is situated close to a lot of Paris' highlights in a lively neighbourhood. The famous Opera Palais Garnier is at walking distance. You'll find restaurants offering food from many nationalities 'round the corner. Last, but certainly not least, the rooms are very clean, the buffet breakfast is perfect and the personnel is kind and correct. We have stayed here now for more than 10 times and always leave with the best kind of feelings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_koedooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Jacqueline & Kees,

Thank you very much for being one of our best guests since now 10 years!

Thank you for your permanent smile, kindness and understanding with all of us.

Yours Sincerely

Yolanda & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We visited this hotel last year in October and we stayed for 5 nights. First we got a room on the first floor but after a and hour we started to hear some strange noises. We called the receptionist and it was said to us, that there is a problem with an air conditioner and it could be repaired the other day. We were offered another room even though i had taken a shower there. The second room on the upper floor was fortunately without any problem.
Rooms are a bit small, but everything is clean and nice. Just the shower is very flat the water overflows and you have to be carefull when youre stepping off.
I liked our neighbouhood, there were 2 metro lines in walking distance.
Thank you for a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praguer507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest

We are really glad with your comment about our hotel; we all thank you very much for your kindness and sympathie.

We keep at your disposal and are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Nice and fresh design hotel situated close to the boulevards and close to several subway stations (Paris is huge, subs is the absolutely fastest way to get around, lots faster than taxi). Large and functional bath room, decent breakfast and nice interior.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank from_oslo_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandaParis, Directeur général at Hotel Pulitzer, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest

We all would like to thank you about your nice comment about our hotel.

We still remain at your entire disposal and we are looking forward to serving you once again.

Yours Faithfully

Yolanda Herrero
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Diva Opera
Hotel Diva Opera
#674 of 1,800 in Paris
315 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
#233 of 1,800 in Paris
489 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Les Plumes Hotel
Les Plumes Hotel
#179 of 1,800 in Paris
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Eugene en Ville
Hotel Eugene en Ville
#359 of 1,800 in Paris
804 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Opera Drouot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Property: Hotel Pulitzer
Address: 23 rue du Faubourg Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#356 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#418 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#463 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in downtown Paris. In Opera, near le Printemps and Galeries Lafayette. At 10 minutes in subway to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysées and all other Paris'atractions. A design hotel made for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulitzer Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing