We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #435 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    1,325
    356
    89
    79
See reviews for
1,329
547
162
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

A late booking for a family holiday and I wanted to ensure that we have a decent hotel.

The room was perfect for a family with two small kids with fold-out sofas. The hotel is fairly modern and provides what is expected of a Novotel - clean, up-to-date interiors, basic facilities, a helpful reception and expensive meals.

The breakfast is free for kids - and that makes it worthwhile overall. It is a great breakfast at the end of it all with crepes, eggs, different types of breads. The high-point for me was the choice and selection of tea that was available!

Dinner is an expensive affair - a basic meal was 70 Euros for the four of us. We should have taken the trouble to get out a little more.

The swimming pool is tiny (and not really kid friendly - but then, this is a business hotel!) with tinier changing rooms.

The location is brilliant. Right outside the Gare De Lyon station. A 2 minute walk to the metro, a RER line, lots of buses and a taxi rank.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgyara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
294 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Have stayed at many Novotels throughout Europe before and this one lives up to their quality/level of service and amenities. Staff was very friendly and helpful during check-in and throughout our stay. They were more than helpful with directions and suggestions for our time in Paris (6 nights). When we booked the hotel (online), I did not realize the distance between the hotel and the sites (Arc de Triomphe, Tour Eiffel, Notre Dame, etc.). It is a little distant - too far to walk, unless you really like long walks, but the metro station is located right next door in the train station and the metre in Paris if efficient and convient to all locations. Being right next door to the train station on a side street also has some disadvantages - some rough looking characters hanging around the side exits of the station and consequently the hotel doors are locked at night - you have to wave at the front desk personnel to get the doors opened for you if you arrive/come back late in the evening. Don`t take this as a big negative - I did not feel unsafe at any time, just not the best of surroundings. Would consider staying here again. For the price and the amenities (indoor pool), it was a deal compared to many other choices in the city. Novotel also has another site, located much closer to the Tour Eiffel, which also might be considered.

Room Tip: Rooms located facing the square, at the rear of the hotel might be quieter, as trucks and a lot of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbthodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here with my 8 year old daughter and a friend and her 8 year old daughter. The rooms were a good size and included a sofa. The hotel staff were friendly and the girls were well catered for, they received a gift when we checked in and all staff were patient whilst they had a go with their French! There was a children's menu in the restaurant and a kids entertainer at breakfast (a bit wierd at breakfast but the kids loved it!). The location of the hotel was quite good - it cost us €60 in a taxi from CDG airport and the metro was really close for getting around Paris. I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tusty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I liked the location near Gare de Lyon which gave us the possibility of taking bus, metro and RER for almost all the hot spots. The swimming pool was a hit with my two kids of 1 and 6 years old. The restaurant served very good quality food and we had dinner with the kids there almost every day. Although there was no a great variety of dishes in the menu, everything we tried tasted very good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARRSandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Best thing about this hotel is its location - right next to GDL main train station. You can access Metro, RER, SNCF, etc all types of train - say hardly 3-4 mins walk from the hotel. Again within 3-5 mins walk, you're right in the heart of GDL main downtown shopping area full of restaurants of all cuisines.
Inside hotel is decent, rooms are quite spacious in comparison to Paris std. Hotel has a good gym, decent restaurant and bar. I liked the food also. Though the bathroom-WC are small, but it is in Paris and similar to the std.
Overall, decent place to stay for both business and vacation purpose, if your work is in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

It was the second time I went to this hotel. This time, I could get a room with a double sofa for the price of a normal room; which was great as it is really enjoyable (and unusual) to have such a large room in Paris!
However, again, I found the bed wasn't very comfortable (I would probably have been just as comfortable unfolding the sofa).
I was also a bit disappointed the telephone did not work well and although I was told technicians would fix it...it was not. For some reason, I could call the receptions but incoming calls were not passing through. One night I could use Skype instead (internet is free) but it wasn't working well as the bandwidth is certainly not enough for video calls.
I also didn't realise the breakfast was included. A good thing but I have never been really impressed by the breakfast. Coffee is placed in pots on your table, so it's never really hot nor tasty when you pour it and if you come late for breakfast, you may have to check on other table to find a pot with some coffee left. I'd much rather an instant coffee machine in the style of Nespresso machines. The orange juice is taken from concentrate juice mixed with ice which I do not like in the morning - not in any way as good as fresh orange juice, or, at least Tropicana/Innocent juices. There also are some pancakes but these are left under a red light which may improve their looks but does not keep them warm.
Anyhow, apart from that, there is a good mix of fruits, yoghurt, pastries and other cooked breakfast food available, so if quality may not be great, at least there is a bit of variety.
Overall, I was a bit disappointed as I did not have the time to enjoy the gym or swimming pool; I still think this is a good hotel, with a good location. It is great if you've got time to enjoy the facilities, but if you don't, it's just 'a good hotel, but nothing great.'

Room Tip: Room with sofas are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelR0695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL5026, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing my hotel and for writing such a detailed review of your stay. Your comments (especially regarding the breakfast) help us to improve ourselves and your fidelity is our best reward. My teams and I are working hard to preserv it.
We hope to welcome you again at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon.
Warm regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#548 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#472 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
#500 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 2 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#253 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#273 Family Hotel in Paris
#346 Business Hotel in Paris
#496 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon is located in the center of Paris, opposite Gare de Lyon train station (metro 1 & 14, RER A & D). The hotel is ideal for your business trips, meetings, romantic getaways or family weekends in Paris and is close to Bastille, Bercy, Gare du Nord train station, Disneyland (direct via RER A), the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and Opéra. The hotel has 253 renovated rooms, a bar, restaurant, indoor swimming pool and a fitness center for your well-being. Free Wi-Fi and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing