We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Money”
Review of Fertel Etoile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fertel Etoile
Ranked #743 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Don't Waste Your Money”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed at over 15 hotels in 5 weeks in the UK and Europe and this hotel had the worst service of all of them. Breakfast was not enjoyable as we were watched over by the "Breakfast Police". Husband refused to go down after the first morning. Hotel old, bed comfy, room clean, area for tourists good. Saw much nicer hotels around the area with the same 3 star rating. After 4 weeks travelling the UK we were so disappointed with our 3 night stay in Paris. Luckily Amsterdam made up for it :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    203
    86
    24
    21
See reviews for
71
233
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

my girlfriend and i stayed here for 3 nights in room 501, from the from the outside it does'nt look much but inside the staff were very friendly and helpful. the reception desk is 24hr, our room had a mini bar,satelite tv,bath,shower,telephone and was cleaned daily by the ever smiling maids. breakfast was good but i missed having a proper cup of tea so if your english take your own teabags trust me lol.all in all excellently located with great bars and such like all around you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ednacreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a clean and comfortable budget hotel. Well situated just a ten minute walk from the Arc du Triomphe and 2 minutes from Metro station Argentine. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast very good. Rooms could maybe could do with a little TLC but otherwise very clean with towels changed daily and vary in size.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We came back yesterday after a 4 day stop at this wonderful City hotel. Rooms were very clean and large enough for us (larger than most English B&Bs we have stayed in). Bedding , towels and rooms cleaned and refreshed every day. Breakfast 7am to 10am was truly continental (croissants, cheese, jam, fruit, cereals, juice, tea,coffee, hot chocolate etc) Couldnt fault the Hotel for service. Desk open 24hrs. Staff always pleasant and obliging. Hotel is very close to Metro / Champs Elysee & most sites of interest. If you are travelling to Paris for the first time this is an excellent choice. Tips for your first time in Paris :- 1. Expect to pay over the odds for food (unless you hunt out a small cafe or take-away off the beaten track. Recommend Les Aigles on the Rue de la Grand Armee, right by the Arc De Triomphe) 2. Get used to the Metro as quickly as possible (1.70 for un billet to get you anywhere along the metro for 1 journey. We split the time between walking & exploring and Metro hopping and found that although walking was very pleasurable and interesting the Metro gets you where you need to go and you can explore when you get there) 3. Buy a Poncho before you go. (We found the weather to be totally unpredictable. We went out one day and it was really hot but within half an hour we had a torrential downpour). 4. When you get to the Airport , get the Airfrance Bus to the Arc de Triomphe (This costs €24 for a return ticket but is much easier than lugging cases around the train station and cheaper then the bandits disguised as taxi drivers) Also get one ( or 2 ) of the free pink maps from the exit doors at the Airport. Invaluable when planning journeys and less expensive than the city guides, carry this everywhere and you wont go far wrong.
Bad points about Paris are few and far between. As long as you can find somewhere reasonable to eat, avoid the tramps and beggars, ignore the people who "amazingly" find lost gold (?) jewellery right in front of your feet, the pickpockets(always keep your hand on your ha'penny- LOL) and the gangs of kids pestering you to sign there forms and donate to a (non-existent) charity for deaf/dumb children (always around the main tourist sights) then you will have a fabulous time. Don't believe all the horror stories.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NorthenerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Although this is definitely a 3 star hotel the rooms are clean and comfortable and good value for money and it is very close to a Metro station with easy access to all sights. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank daytripper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

As they say, you get what you pay for. This isn't necessarily true in Paris!

The standard of accommodation can be best described as "low budget". The room reminded me of a bedsit with an adjoining small bathroom. The decor was dated, with a number of scuff marks on the walls, a lamp with a broken shade and dingy curtains with a view (room 701) of a narrow street used by tramps at night.

To balance things up a bit, the double bed was clean & comfy, the shower worked OK and there is an air conditioning unit in the room. The breakfast room, unlike the rooms; is very pleasant with a range of continental breakfast items, typically found in many local cafes.

The choice of location when staying in Paris is somewhat irrelevant if you want to see all of the sites, since most locations are very easy to get to via the metro. The Fertel is literally 1 minute from the Argentine metro subway. This was my first visit to Paris and after visiting most areas I wouldn't choose to stay in this location again. My preference would be the "Latin Quarter", close to the Odeon metro, a good location for the smaller shops, bustling cafes and numerous art galleries.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

A hotel which is nearby the tube station but a bit hard to find as it is situated on the by lanes. Most of the famous tourist attractions like Arc d Triumph, Champs Elyess, Lidos are a walkable distance. Rooms are not so great, very small. Break fast is ok, I guess it is paris so one has to bear with it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmeshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Marmotel Etoile
Marmotel Etoile
#1,201 of 1,800 in Paris
194 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Fertel Maillot
Fertel Maillot
#1,152 of 1,800 in Paris
232 reviews
Acacias Etoile Hotel
#240 of 1,800 in Paris
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Passy
Residence Imperiale
Residence Imperiale
#925 of 1,800 in Paris
266 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel des Pavillons
Hotel des Pavillons
#1,167 of 1,800 in Paris
77 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Brunel
Villa Brunel
#823 of 1,800 in Paris
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fertel Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fertel Etoile

Property: Fertel Etoile
Address: 4 rue des Acacias | Metro (1) : Argentine, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #743 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fertel Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL FERTEL ETOILE PARIS A Parisian hotel where you'll find a wonderful blend of elegance and comfort! Located in the heart of the 17th arrondissement, our hotel is only a few minutes on foot from Place de l'Etoile, its Arc de Triomphe and the prestigious Avenue Champs-Elysées. Our receptionists extend you a warm welcome in our friendly atmosphere and will guide you throughout your visit. We want your stay to be the very best. Seat yourself comfortably in one of the armchairs in our corner lounge. Both stylish and modern, our 51 rooms offer an enjoyable living space that is quiet and comfortable. BREAKFAST AT THE HOTEL FERTEL ETOILE Enjoy your breakfast from 7am to 10am in a room with a view of our small garden filled with trees and flowers or next to the lounge. Cold buffet: fruit juices, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, Viennese pastries, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals, compote, fresh fruits and fruit salad. A continental breakfast can be served in your room, no extra charge. Languages spoken: French, English, and depending on the day, Italian and Spanish. Non-smoking hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fertel Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fertel Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing