We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #163 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here after researching hotels in Paris here on trip advisor, and certainly weren't disappointed!
Upon arriving at this immaculately presented hotel, we were greeted by very pleasant and friendly staff.
The room was of an ideal size, with all the amenities we needed. The room was romanticly presented and extremely clean. Bed was very comfortable, windows have blinds on which completely black out the room.Air con in the room made the temperature ideal.
The lounge area just down from the reception desk was a great place to sit and relax with a coffee.
The hotel is ideally situated for everything. 5 min walk to Notre Dame, 1 min walk from the banks of the Seine.
Will definately return both to Paris and Hotel Britannique

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of all the hotel has to offer as well as its central location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Paris. Wishing you all the best.


HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    441
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
221
841
105
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our last visit to Paris was 25 years ago on our honeymoon and we chose Hotel Britannique to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. And what a choice it turned out to be - fantastic. The hotel is very well located close to the River Seine, Notre Dame, and within easy walking distance of The Louvre. There is a metro station within 3 minutes walk which enables you to reach the rest of Paris very easily. The hotel is set in a quiet street and the rooms are very well soundproofed. Our room was on the top floor and had a street view. From the window we could see across the rooftops from the Hotel de Ville to the Eiffel Tower. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities you would normally expect - air conditioning, mini bar, safe, TV, free wi-fi, fresh fruit, courtesy tray and kettle. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom. The staff were extremely welcoming and always on hand to help. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Based on our experience, it is definitely a hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting Paris.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic double room and it was perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chippitmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your kind words, in particular with regards to our staff. We are honoured that you chose to spend your silver wedding anniversary with us and that we were able to help make it a special trip back to Paris. We would love to welcome you both back again on your next trip to Paris. All the best.

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked this hotel for a four night stay. I can't say enough about how good this place is. I stayed in one of the mid-sized rooms ... can't remember the category name. There are four rooms up a half flight of steps from the front desk. I stayed in 4. The room was very pretty and they kept it extremely clean. It was very quiet and very comfortable.

For Americans, the room would be considered small, but it was all I needed. There's a bed and a small desk and a double wide closet with hangers on the left side and shelves on the right side. I was traveling for business and the shelves were perfect for allowing me to keep all my papers very organized.

While the room is small, basically a bed and a bathroom with shower, everything is very nice. The shower worked really well, great water flow and temperature control. And, if you feel like you need some room to sit down in a more open environment, there is a beautiful, tastefully decorated room downstairs ... what would be a lobby in American hotels ... but this is so much more cozy and homey than a lobby. There are two or three couches and four or five or so very comfortable chairs.

Saving the best for last, the staff at the front desk was exceedingly friendly and helpful. They make you feel welcomed. They are friendly and very pleasant ... the best I've seen.

The Chatelet metro station is across the street from the hotel, and if you know how to use the Paris metro, you can go anywhere quickly. One warning, though, about the Chatelet metro stop. This stop connects underground with another stop called Les Halles. Between the two, it seems like there are a dozen ways up to the street level, some of which bring you out fairly far from the hotel, especially when you entered the metro by walking across the street.

If you find the street exit (sortie) for Place du Chatelet, you are a half a block from the hotel. The sortie that is across the street from the hotel is ..... the name is escaping me now. Anyway, when you go into the metro, look at the name of sortie where you enter, then you'll know where you need to exit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlennyBrandimarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and thorough review of the hotel. We feel that you have perfectly described the hotel itself as well as the surrounding area and your comments will no doubt be of use to other trip advisor users. We would espcially like to thank you for your kind comments about the staff, the entire team was thrilled to learn that they were able to help make your stay in Paris a special one. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. All the best.

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Hotel Britannique recently. It was 25 years since we last visited Paris (when we were on our honeymoon) and we certainly made a fantastic decision on our choice of hotel. Hotel Britannique is in a fabulous location just a few minutes from the Seine and the Hotel de Ville. Our room was extremely clean and although small had lots of storage space with all amenities you would expect (mini-bar, safe, air conditioning, TV, free wi-fi, fresh fruit, kettle and courtesy tray). We had a front facing room with a view of the Eiffel Tour. The breakfast was good value, with lots of choice and my husband was especially impressed with the coffee machine! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFCBcherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guests,
We wish to thank you for choosing the Hotel Britannique for your first trip back to Paris since your honeymoon and for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of the surrounding area and all it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel again. Best wishes.

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel Britannique during the week of Feb 15th. I booked this hotel after all the good reviews I read here on tripadvisor.
This was my third time In Paris and I usually stay at 5 stars hotels. Since this time I was travelling solo I wanted to try something new. I must say all the good things you read here are completly true.
The hotel has an excellent location, near Rue Rivoli, Notre Dame and some meters away from Chatelet metro station.
My room on the sixth floor (64) had an excellent open view where I could even appreciate the top of the Eiffel tower and hotel de Ville.
The only downside is that since I requested a single room it was pretty tiny but despite that the room was cosy, very clean and all looked newly renovated including the bathroom.
I absolutly recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a nice hotel to a nice price and very well located.
I will for sure come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinthiaLopezDaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your kinds words about the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first solo trip to Paris and that you were able to make the most of its central location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Paris. Wishing you all the best.

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Lovely room, helpful staff and good location. I enjoyed staying. I'd like to back this hotel next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miicheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the hotel and we would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Paris. All the best.

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This boutique hotel is excellent in every respect. I always try to stay there when I am in Paris. Lovely rooms, a very helpful staff, a great breakfast and a prime location--what else can you ask for in Paris? I'm not making this up--I've been traveling to Paris for thirty years and brought some of my students with me to this hotel in June, 2012. They thought it was great, too.
Stephen Husarik

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europetravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Mr HUSARIK,
Thank you for your kind words and your continued loyalty. We are thrilled that you and your students enjoyed your stay with us in June and we would love to welcome you once again on your next visit to Paris.
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#69 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#359 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#130 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#622 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#712 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#12 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing