We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very small and pokey” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Ranked #286 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very small and pokey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Dont think I would stay here again. Very small room, although I know this is standard in Europe but this was almost a joke. The free breakfast is ok, just toast really, however the evening one I wouldn't feed the food to my dog. Bed was uncomfortable and I felt like it was tipping down. Would suggest spending a little more and go nicer. However if on a budget probably not to bad.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elibellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    176
    58
    12
    5
See reviews for
105
232
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We walked in the front door of The Friedland and immediately felt at home. The front desk staff was very friendly and spoke English with us and recommended restaurants to us that were fantastic. They upgraded our room to the Superior which was massive for Paris standards. The free breakfast every morning was everything you would want plus some. They stored our luggage for us on our last day so we could do some more sightseeing. The location is great, just right off of Champs de Elysees. I will only stay here when I go back to Paris.

Room Tip: If you stay in rooms ending in 04 (204, 304...) your room will be facing the busy intersection. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed three nights in March 2012. Reception staff very friendly and the free evening buffet was an unexpected bonus. It wasn't too noisy either. The room was a little poky but that's par for the course in this type of hotel in Paris. The only reason I wouldn't necessarily return is because the area, whilst close to L'Arc de Triomphe, is actually not that interesting compared to other more vibrant areas of Paris.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odysseus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Based on the positive reviews here I decided to give it a try for our weekend trip. We arrived pretty late on Friday night but the evening clerk made our arrival and checking very smooth.
Our room was small but charming and very clean! Wifi was working fine and the breakfast buffet was not exceptionnel but good. You have several metro stations within 10 minutes walking distance which makes it easy to get around the city. We'll definitly re-book it for you next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

we stayed in paris and in this hotel for 3 nights . It is walking distance from george v metro station, charles gaule station and arc de triumph. Location wise it was close to the main shopping area champs elysees road in paris. Also unlike what is generally mentioned for paris that it best explored on foot, we dont agree with it. Paris can not be covered on foot because all attractions are scatted over the city unlike spain where one can cover the cities on foot. Eiffel tower is atleast 25 min walk and louvre is far enough to take a metro from this hotel. However the hotel in itself is overrated. im not sure though whether it is generally the case with all hotels in paris. Also i dont understand the ratings given to hotels in Europe all over. Their four stars and five star hotels are not at par with indian 4 stars and 5 stars in terms of the facilities and treatment. for over 200 euros of their lowest category room , we found it expensive. There was no spa or fitness center, wi fi was available in rooms for free, room was small but clean. I think to compensate for lack of extra facilities they also provided an evening tea and snacks in the common room. Also in the european hotels they dont provide ac during winters and only heaters seperately , i dunno why, this can make the room very conjusted. the room was on the steet side so slightly noisy but thankfully if u r a tourist in paris u wil spend the whole day putside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyms A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Not sure if the hotel itself is worth the money, but the location is unbeatable - safe area, less than 5 minutes away from both the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Elysees. Big restaurant and shopping area nearby. There's an Air France shuttle bus that takes you directly from or to Orly or Charles de Gaulle for 11 euros that leaves from the Arch. You can walk from the Arch (metro station Charles de Gaulle-Étoile) to the hotel, it will take you 5-10 minutes.
Small rooms, very big bathrooms. Nice bed, free wifi and the free mini bar means you have 5 drinks and a pack of chips every 3 days. Staff not that friendly except for the night shift man, who spoke with me in french, spanish and english.
Breakfast just like the hotel - small but ok. Juice, tea, coffee and milk; bread, buns and croissants, butter, cheese, ham and jam; eggs, bacon and sausages.
Stayed there because I got a prize for that hotel, but wouldn't stay there if I had to pay it myself.
Rate: 6,5/10

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jndantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very average. Paying purely for location. Room was very compact. What makes this 4 star rather than 3 is the dubious vinegary 'champagne' on welcome (had to be asked for) the free mini bar. Water and crisps. And the afternoon tea. Didn't go. If staying for 1-2 nights I'd find a charming B&B to be honest.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrchris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#163 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
#544 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Rochester Champs-Elysees Hotel
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Address: 177 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#162 Family Hotel in Paris
#175 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#231 Business Hotel in Paris
#272 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Champs Elysées Friedland is ideally located on the Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré, just a few steps from the Champs-Elysées.The Hotel has 40 rooms which are nicely decorated with a refined decor. Free Wifi, Breakfast Buffet, glass of champagne and the Tea time buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing