We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Ranked #659 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Nice Surprise!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were expecting the usual very small rooms and micro-bathroom. Of course we didn't see any of the other rooms, but ours was terrific. The suite was long and narrow but we liked the quirkiness of the layout. The bathroom was modern, recently renovated, there was space in the sitting room and bedroom for our six month old baby, the pram and us, the staff were courteous and helpful. I can't comment on the breakfast, we chose to eat out - with Deux Garcon, Flores and Lippe within metres of the front door ... why not?! Wonderfully situated within Saint Germain. I'd certainly book again, and recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a premiere room - or whatever the class above basic room is - primarily because we were tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryMcQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    183
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
114
265
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our fourth trip to paris, and the best hotel yet. It's in a great location for shopping, eating and museums. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shackelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have stayed in and around Saint Germain des Pres many times over the years but this time we decided to look for an hotel through booking.com and were offered Au Manoir at a price lower than our usual haunt, so thought we'd give it a try.

And we were very pleased we did!

There is a car park virtually beneath the hotel (although there is no concession for short stays) which is very convenient and the hotel itself is actually on Boulevard Saint Germain - next door to Cafe Lipp, across the road from Le DeuxMagots and Cafe de Flore. Not that we used any of these restaurants, as there are so many to choose from!

And there is a Monoprix supermarket just around the corner!

The room was very interesting - long and thin and divided into three sections, but very comfortable, if a little warm (the air conditioning is not available in the winter) and had great accommodation.

We shall probably be back, later in the year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel in a fantastic location. If you are visiting Paris and don't plan to spend a ton of time in your room, then this hotel is ideal! It's very well located amongst the shops and restaurants of St Germain des Pres. I can't find fault in it. The rooms were spacious (for Paris), immaculate, and quiet. The breakfast is well worth the price. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: For a very quiet room, choose one facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordAJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We checked into the Au Manoir on Valentine's day based on Trip Advisor reviews and the location so far as we could tell from maps. It turned out to be a perfect spot for a romantic getaway. This is a very small boutique hotel where every room is different. We had a deluxe on the 1st floor (which is the 2nd floor to Americans) and enjoyed the room and its amenities. The bathroom was quite large for Europe standards and had an overhead shower. We loved the towel warmer as well. And the room was very quiet. The free wifi was decent, running around 5Mbps down/1Mbps up and easy to connect to.

The staff never steered us wrong on dining recommendations and were happy to converse in English. There are ATM's just a few steps in either direction outside and the Metro stop is basically across the street. The hotel is easily within walking distance of the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay and Notre Dame. Also walk in literally any direction and you'll enjoy window shopping and a never-ending selection of cafes. The location is fantastic.

Sweet tooth Tip #1: Get a Nutella crepe across the street in the street vendor's stand (open late).
Sweet tooth Tip #1: Great chocolate store across Boulevard Saint Germain and down about a block to the east.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank betona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Some friends had recommended this hotel and it turned out to be a great recommendation. The hotel is perfectly located especially if you like to walk as it was within walking distance for us of the Louvre, the Orsay, the Pompidou Center and Notre Dame. The rooms while small as is usual for Paris have updated bathrooms. It was a little tricky using the shower as it was not a fully enclosed tub so it was difficult to avoid getting water on the floor. However, the heated towel rack was fantastic. We loved the fact that the rooms came furnished with robes and slippers. If you like firm beds this is the hotel for you. I would have prefered a bit more give in the mattress, but that is such a matter of individual taste that 50% will like it and 50% will dislike it. Breakfast was included (although we learned for bookings after December 2011) breakfast would cost 14 Euros. If it had not been included we would have definitely eaten elsewhere. It is your typical hotel breakfast - cheese, bread, coffee, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and pastry. It was fine, but if you are paying my advice would be to go to a nearby cafe.
The gentleman at the front desk, Aziz, was very helpful. He arranged for us to purchase our museum passes at a nearby Best Western and was always pointing us in the right direction for our excursions. The young man who was on the desk when we checked out was not as helpful. As we were handing in our key, he asked if we would like to pay. We told him we had pre-paid, but he could find no record of it. He ended up calling Aziz who helped straighten out the situation.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the back of the hotel so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Brilliant location in the heart of Paris on the Boulevard Saint Germain which has many shops and restaurants along it - similar to that of Oxford Street. About a 20 min walk to Eiffel Tower/Champs Elysee and a 10 min walk to Notre Dame/Louvre.

Hotel staff are extremely helpful and speak very good English. The room was situated over-looking the boulevard. Was a tiny bit smaller than expected but was decorated in an old-fashioned French style that didn't make it feel like a hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#68 of 1,800 in Paris
654 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#86 of 1,800 in Paris
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#91 of 1,800 in Paris
931 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#188 of 1,800 in Paris
217 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#230 of 1,800 in Paris
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres

Property: Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Address: 153 boulevard Saint Germain | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#277 Family Hotel in Paris
#310 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#361 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#475 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 19th century, the Au Manoir Saint Germain des Prés Hotel has an elegant facade on the Boulevard Saint Germain and a history that is tied up with that of this literary quarter. The area has been the haunt of countless famous people – just cross the boulevard and you’ll come to the Café de Flore and the Deux Magots. The hotel last underwent major work in 2008, when the entire hotel was renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing