We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't return here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Ranked #527 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
“Wouldn't return here”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

The bathroom situation was very frustrating. Water went everywhere whenever we showered, because the shower leaked and also because the screen is small. The water also leaked outside the shower and onto the carpet in the bedroom so there is obviously a waterproofing issue. On our first night we couldn't wait to take a shower after travelling. My husband took a hot shower and the steam caused the smoke alarm to go off, which we only knew about when someone came and knocked on the door and when we didn't open immediately he tried to open the door himself! Luckily we had locked it from the inside. Also, there are blinds between the shower and bedroom which you can open if you want to see the person in the bathroom. I found this unnecessary and annoying as if someone wanted to use the bathroom during the night, the light would shine into the bedroom and you can see the person in the bathroom clearly when the bedroom is dark.

Wi fi was available in the lobby only which was good to have. The location was convenient, but there is noise from the street. The staff didn't seem very helpful except one girl at the front desk who was friendly and spoke good English. Also, we requested a knife to cut an apple with and they said its a 5 euro service charge to have a knife brought to our room. I wouldn't stay here again but I'd recommend the location to others coming to stay in Paris.

Helpful?
2 Thank salma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the shower, our the bathroom view opened in the room..

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn hotels for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Joel SABOURIN
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    529
    195
    73
    29
See reviews for
184
429
55
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Verde Carolina PR
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed 04 -06-2012 for seven nights. Front desk friendly, knowledgeable and patient. Remember Andrea and Leticia. Helped a novice with I-Pad.Should have wi-fi in the rooms. Spanish and English well spoken, perhaps other languages. Perfect instructions on how to use metro, good restaurants recommended. Prompt solutions for minor imperfections. Good Metro location and safe. Plenty of ATM's around. No noise inside or outside. Excellent same day laundry service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgar5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris.
Best Regards
Joel SABOURIN
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here last week in the Executive King room with DH, DD 6yo and DD 20 months. We put in a special request for baby bed during reservation, and everything was in place by the time we arrived. There's adequate space to move around for all even with the play-pen, which is a longer version than the ones I've seen. (For perspective purposes, the free space in the room could fit 3 such play-pens).

This hotel was decorated in a boutique style, and every fixture and fittings in the room made good use of space. Our room had 2 nice skylights that open for fresh air in lieu of windows. Love the mechanical black out blinds covering the skylights. We could also look outside at the other buildings and street below.

Room amenities include safe, tea/coffee, kettle, mini-fridge. mini-bar and bath supplies. The bathroom also had an outlet for US appliances by the hairdryer, which was a really convenient place for me to charge the iPhone every night.

Our package came with free buffet breakfast which I enjoyed especially because of the long running hours between 6:30-11am. Hot choices included sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, sauteed veges (string beans, tomato on the half, mushroom), soft-boiled eggs, french toast, rice pudding. Cold choices were assorted cheeses, cold-cuts (salami, ham, etc), smoked fish, vege salad, fruit salad & yogurts. There's also cereal, toast, baguettes, croissant and chocolate bread. Don't miss the fresh fruits basket on top of the buffet. With so much choices, even the baby was well-fed. The dining area is large, and we never had troubles getting a table.

The reception staff and breakfast staff were courteous, helpful and spoke perfect English. We arrived at noon before the 2pm official checked in time. With 2 cranky jet-lagged kids, they were able to get us a room by 12:30pm. We're very appreciative of this, especially seeing guests who arrived before us still had their luggage kept at the reception area which meant we got a room before they did. The 3 breakfast staff were very nice too - always helpful, quick and pleasant to talk with. They always bring a baby chair as soon as they saw us coming for breakfast.

Hotel is just around the corner from the St. Placide metro station. We tried several nearby cafes and they were pretty good. Hotel is also located in a safe area. One night, we walked all the way to Pont Neuf for some night Seine scenery. On the way there, we passed by some happening hot spots and had a very nice late dinner (around 10pm+) at Cafe Paris.

Finally, some cons about this place:
- WIFI in lobby only, not in rooms
- Vanity area small around the sink
- Shower/Bath tub were only partly enclosed
- 2 small elevators sometimes require waiting during peak time

Room Tip: People worry about street noise should try to get a room on higher floor. Hotel has 7 levels. The 7t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ananyavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your comment concerning your stay in our hotel.
I forward it to all the staff to be informed
Best Regards
Joel SABOURIN
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Designers of hotel rooms should be required to stay in them for a few days to see the results of their decisions. While reasonably sized (at least for Paris)the room felt small due to the lack of overall lighting, compounded by the unfortunate decision to have one wall of dark brown wood, the others painted brown. While there was plenty of task lighting by the bed, desk, etc even a single ceiling light would have been appreciated.
The window shade and curtain did little to keep out the sun in the morning--light sleepers beware. The bed itself was very comfortable, kudos for that.
The bath was beautiful and modern. Unfortunately you could not really use it to advantage. The combination of a shallow bowl and high faucet gauranteed that you would be splashed when you turn on the tap. The shower was a marvel--huge shower head and wonder of wonders additional water coming from the side with great water pressure. Sadly using these filled the entire batroom floor with about a 1/2 inch of water. I pity the housekeeping staff who must spend hours mopping up after guests. My subsequent showers were meager to avoid filling the place with water.
That said, the location is good, staff were pleasant, breakfast buffet plentiful and of good quality.
I have stayed in this hotel before and I liked it better before the modernization.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to size and renovation of the room.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Joel SABOURIN
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzelia, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great service, very friendly and helpful stuff. The room was large and comfortable. The room temperature was quite high during the night so we had to open the window.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonenST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.
It is very important to have your feedback on your stay in our property.

Your comments well be forwared to all the staff.

We hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Brand for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Joel SABOURIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family and I stayed in the last weekend of March, a weekend which was terribly unusual as it was 23/24 degrees centigrade. This was a problem for the hotel as the heating had not yet been turned off.
When I complained on the first night I was rudely told to hold on the phone, then to find out the woman put the phone down on me. I went down to the desk to complain where again rudely spoken to, and told all i could do was to open the window, which was inplausable due to it being saturday night.
I found out from another guest that it wasnt just the heating in my room that had broken, but that the air conditioning is not turned on until may. This ruined my stay due to me not sleeping the duration of the trip.
Also, on our second night our keys would not work and the staff were unhelpful, making us go up and down the stairs some 5/6 times.

Very unhelpful staff that told us to 'complain in the morning'
Finally, returning home from my stay I have discovered that the payment for the stay has been taken out of my account twice, something which they are now denying.

Decor is tacky, felt like i was in benidorm not paris.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lauramacgregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear lauramacgregs,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

I was quite disappointed with the quality of this Holiday Inn as compared to others.  My biggest issue was the AC did not work for a full week.  Despite the outside temperature of 46F/8C at night, the room would be 80F/27C. The front desk suggested we just open the window.  While that was fine during the day, the noise from the street prevented any sleep.  The front desk was generally rude on other subjects as well.  When asked for dining recommendations, they just shrugged and said "walk around until you find something".  "No, extra room charges such as breakfast and mini-bar can't be added to the bill, and need to be paid in cash".  What?  I was disappointed at the lack of WiFi despite advertisement that they offered it, and the "broadband" topped out around 30kbps.  I had a great time in Paris otherwise, but won't make the mistake of ever staying in a Holiday Inn again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Nick D,

Thank you for your stay, and taking time to provide feedback. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Saint Gregoire
Hotel Le Saint Gregoire
#968 of 1,800 in Paris
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#490 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres

Property: Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Address: 92 rue de Vaugirard | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#454 Business Hotel in Paris
#490 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel is ideally situated in the prime location in the heart of Paris at Latin Quarter area, and Montparnasse area neighbourhood. We are the perfect three stars hotel for business and leisure. Great hospitality and adventures in Paris are waiting for you The hotel is easy to get to : 25 minutes from Orly, 40 minutes from Charles de Gaulle airport, at walking distance from the Montparnasse train station and bordering the Saint Placide metro station, line 4. The hotel provides a private parking.The hotel is located close to the main monument Notre de Dame, Musee du Louvre, Tour Eiffel, Cabaret and Theater. At walking distance to Seine River and Luxembourg Garden. With a total of 134 rooms including 22 superior rooms and 8 family rooms, the Holiday Inn Paris Saint Germain des Pres Hotel will welcome you in a cosy and modern environment. Our family room provides all the facilities of 2 separate rooms. The hotel offers a restaurant, room service and a friendly bar. Our three meeting rooms can cater to all your business needs and have a capacity of maximum 50 people. IMPORTANT INFORMATION : a renovation of our corridors has began month oct 2014. Floor by floor, if you want a room with no corridor renovation do not hesitate to ask it at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing