We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and lovely hotel in a pensive Parisian district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #675 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

It was almost end of summer and my wife and I were looking for a Parisian getaway over the weekend. Having been to Paris many times over, we thought about selecting this time an arrondissement known for its café culture and writers' haven.

This is where Saint-Germain-des-Prés are and the hotel bearing its name come into play. Stategically located, this decent small hotel has got that Parisian charm (meant that in a non-kitsch way) in bundles. Hotel's detailing is superb. Apart from its through and through textile-furnished interiors, its 18th century period features really set you in the mood. The seasoned reception staff certainly may intimidate an unlikely guest, their French service would not bend over backwards for all types of clientele. However, as a guest in a French hotel, be reminded that it is for you to knowingly assert this!

Whilst we did not avail any of the hotel's service option, since it has a 60-second proximity to Café de Flore and Les Dieux Magots, the relaxing le-French weekend did not fall short of our expectation. In fact, it was better this way. The nearby Saint-Germain-des-Prés Metro station was also a big plus. For a 3-star experience, the price we have paid for this lovely hotel was certainly not cheap, but because of its strategic location, and this is Paris after all, this was non debatable. (For an 18th century townhouse conversion, think 'pied-à-terre' for your accommodation.)

Room Tip: As it's a pied-à-terre hotel, just go for a Standard Room. We stayed at their 'stacked plant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tartarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Good afternoon from Paris,
The all Team joins me and thanks you for these lovely words regarding your stay with us.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon.
Kindest regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017

I receive excellent service from Hotel Saint Germain des Pres.
The receptionists are very kind and helpful and rooms are nice.
Good location, not far from the Musée d'Orsay, Notre Dame de Paris, Roden, Cafe de Flore etc...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Good afternoon from Paris,
The all team joins me and thanks you for your lovely words regarding your stay with us.
Waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kindest regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Hotel Saint Germain des Pres is located in a great neighborhood where you can walk to restaurants, stores, and public transportation. The hotel room and bathroom are very small but sufficient for 2 adults. There is someone at the front desk at all times, which is convenient. We didn't do the breakfast at the hotel, it looked so so. There were restaurants and bakeries within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Good Afternoon from Paris,
We thank you very much for these nice words regarding your recent stay with us.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon in Saint Germain des Prés.
Kindest Regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

St. Germain des Pres is a very nice and pleasant hotel in a perfect location on the Rive Gauche. The rooms are nice, though a bit dark, fully equiped (tea, coffee) and the service at the desk very friendly and helpfull. Metro station, Galeries, Museums, Restaurnts, Cafe Flore - all in close vecinity. Nice breakfast at reasonable price. Thank you Directeur Eric Desfaudais and staff for your hospitality.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank baeinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Sir,
I thank you very much for these nice words regarding your stay with us last week.
I am very happy to know that you had a good time with us and it was really a pleasure to welcome you and your wife.
The all team joins me and hopes that we will have the pleasure to see you again very soon in Saint Germain des Pres.
Kindest Regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Well located - the Orsay, the Luxembourg and the Louvre all within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants near and art and antique shops for window-gazing. Rooms are as expected small but very well appointed (ours was rather too hot - beginning of February). Friendly staff. We had breakfast one day; a comfortable salon with good service and good value at 12 euros given that the nearby cafe charged about 10 euros for a coffee, juice and croissant.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Good afternoon from Paris,
The all team joins me and thanks you for your nice words regarding your recent stay with us.
I am glad to know you also enjoyed our buffet breakfast in our cosy living room.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon in Saint Germain des Prés.
Kindest Regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed at this hotel last weekend. It is a typically French hotel in a perfect location and the staff are very welcoming, efficient, polite and friendly. The room was bigger than in other hotels that we have stayed in in Paris and was well equipped with coffee and tea making facilities. We didn't actually use the breakfast facility so are unable to comment on that. The staff cannot do enough for you. Overall, I would rate this very highly and would have no hesitation whatsoever in returning or recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15, which was more than adequate for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KateCongleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Kate,
The all team joins me and really thanks you for these lovely words regarding your recent stay with us.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon in Saint Germain des Prés.
Kindest Regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Very polite and helpful staff who couldn’t do enough for you. The rooms were very clean and a good size for Paris actually. We found the beds a little hard but that is just down to personal preference. It is a great location and not too “touristy”, very close to St Germain Des Pres Metro and we would definitely highly recommend, and will visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thehbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Good morning from Paris,
The all team joins me and thanks you for this very nice review about your recent stay with us.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon in Saint Germain des Prés.
Kindest Regards.
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#489 of 1,804 in Paris
202 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#445 of 1,804 in Paris
360 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#86 of 1,804 in Paris
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#112 of 1,804 in Paris
560 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 36 rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $192 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the Paris' most coveted positions, Hotel Saint Germain des Prés provides a cool haven with a feel of a chic Paris pied a terre. Built in the 18th century as a gracious townhouse, the hotel retains many period details and original architectural features.Today Hotel Saint Germain is a landmark of unique character and 21st century timeless elegance. A choice of interesting people the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Germain Des Pres Hotel
Hotel St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing