We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service and satisfaction.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Colbert - Paris
Ranked #269 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location, service and satisfaction.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My girlfriend and I came away for her brithday I booked as a surprise and I decided that my research narrowed the choice down the Colbert.

We arrived at the hotel and were met warmly by Antonio. Curious, professional and could not do enough to make sure we knew where bistros, sights and shops were.

He also upgraded us immediately upon hearing that it was my partner's birthday - to the premier suite no less with the balcony overlooking the front garden.

Throughout our stay so far the service has been impeccable.

Pay no heed to the negative feedback for this establishment. It is totally unwarranted.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomaszabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    313
    71
    24
    24
See reviews for
148
456
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I booked our honeymoon reservations several months in advance of our trip. We arrived at the hotel we originally booked (by the Eiffel Tower) and my husband's allergies immediately started acting up. While in Berlin the week prior, we stayed at Melia Berlin (another five-star experience), so we cancelled our 4 night room reservation and called Melia Colbert to reserve a room.

Our initial impression of Paris was not very glamorous -- and we wanted to go back to Munich for the remainder of our honeymoon. Our thoughts and expectations changed as soon as we got to Melia Colbert. The hotel staff is incredibly helpful. The hotel is right around the corner from Notre Dame and within 2 blocks from public transportation. The entire experience of Paris changed by simply staying at Melia Colbert. We utilized the laundry service which arrived back in our room that afternoon. We could not have been happier. If you stay at Melia Colbert, please check our Le Reminat (around the corner - the concierge will give you direction) -- best restaurant in Paris in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Many people who write reviews about Paris hotels are shocked that the rooms, bathrooms and elevators are small or that the Wi-Fi doesn't work. Get over it! It's Paris! If you want everything in your room, go to Toledo, Ohio and stay at the Hyatt. The reason why the food, the wine, the culture and the beauty of Paris is so fabulous is because for generations the Parisians have been more concerned about those things instead of designing plumbing so you can have a large shower area. This hotel is in a perfect location for tourists (right next to Notre Dame, Latin Quarter and Metro stations), the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very modern, nice and good size (by Paris standards). The bed was a little hard. I can highly recommend it for travelers. One last travel tip - Paris Metro stations ticket machines do not take American credit Cards, so you should buy them on the EuroStar or at the Metro ticket windows.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clambake33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently and were not impressed. The outside looks beautiful but the rooms are not great. The first room opened straight out onto the street and they moved us to another room (which they charged for) on the first floor which was better until we were hit by some foul smells one evening. Breakfast is very expensive and so you wouldn't stay in for breakfast. We did this through Eurostar and it seemed like a good deal, but you can find much better hotels for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purbecks68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I spent a bit more money than usual on this business trip for the location, space, and amenities that would come with a better level of Paris hotel than I usually stay at. And, in fact, the location is great, just across the river from Notre Dame and a block from the Place Saint Michel. The room I was in (2nd floor front) was clean (not the usual musty Paris hotel smell) and, while not super spacious, I didn't have to climb over the bed to get into the bathroom as I've had to do in some tiny Paris rooms. Despite these positive aspects, I can't recommend this hotel for anyone who uses a macbook air or ipad to stay in touch with business, home, or local events while traveling. The hotel advertises broadband internet access, but it requires that you plug their cable into your computer; if your laptop or ipad doesn't have a LAN port, the best they can offer you is a wired terminal in the bar or wireless access in lobby and bar, and that requires a card with username and password doled out in 30-minute increments by the front desk. When I was there, they ran out of these cards ("Normally we have cards, but as it is the weekend, we cannot get any more", they explained, as if the weekend had come along unexpectedly.) This presented a real barrier to doing the work I needed to do while in Paris, and I overheard other guests at the front desk with the same problem. Instead of shrugging their shoulders and saying "Yes, wi-fi is very bad in Paris", a hotel that charges the rates of this one should--at minimum--have wireless routers that can be borrowed and used in each room by guests who can't connect to the LAN cable. If you don't need to be connected, this is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The sol melia central reservations booking system is the worst I have ever encountered!! It's reason enough not to stay here or at any of their other properties. We needed to remove one day at the end of our stay and the reservation people sent back an entirely wrong confirmation with all the nightly rates changed dramatically. It took a month of back and forth with many more incorrect itineraries and rates trying to modify this properly. They never got it right. I gave up. They do not let you speak with a supervisor. It was the most frustrating experience!!!

Since it is a boutique hotel there is no official concierge which made it difficult to get information about transportation, tours, and restaurants that were not in the immediate area etc. They are very short staffed at the check-in desk and the continual problem with the internet not working was annoying.

Rooms are very tight and no drawer space whatsoever so we could not upack. They had closets with 2 hangars. Of course we could have called for more but don't they know you need to hang up more than 2 items??

Hotel views were looking into another person's bedroom across the street.

One other thing...if you do decide to go to the Hotel and you are taking a taxi make sure you say Rue Hotel Colbert...we said Rue Colbert and that is on the other side of Paris! You would think that on the confirmation they would emphasize that...since they admitted many people get that mixed up!!

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This property is probably one of the best values in the entire city.

First, location, the hotel is just footsteps from Notredame, close to everything in Paris.

The property is beautiful and romantic. The rooms are clean, nice, and comfortable. The rooms have all the nice toiletries that you expect from a Melia such as toothbrush, combs, shampoo, conditioner, etc. . I stayed at a superior room and sincerely it was significantly larger and cozier than an equivalent such as the Arc du Triomphe Hilton. The room had windows that actually open to the outside and in our case there were 2 sets, one of which opened to the street and the other to the courtyard. If you like fresh air and waking up to the smell of fresh croissants, this might be the hotel for you. Also, please disregard a previous review that states that the rooms have no air conditioning, they do and it works quite well. Keep in mind, you are paying 250 Euros which is less than average for this type of hotel in Paris.

The negatives... Well, there is generally only one attendant at the front desk most of the time, so check-in and check out may be cumbersome if by chance several parties arrive at the same time. These attendants are nice and charming people, they also serve as concierge and really go the extra mile to make you feel at home. The bell service has to be called and can take 5 minutes or so which is beyond what you would wait at a Leading Hotel of the World, but once more, for 250 Euros in Paris, this is outstanding.

Bottom-line: I would stay here again without any questions. I found my new home in Paris. Some of the older reviews where likely from prior to the recent renovation so they should be disregarded and the hotel would probably be ranking higher at Tripadvisor if it were not from probably that less glorious epoque.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#241 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#203 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#247 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#262 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#202 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Colbert - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Colbert - Paris

Property: Melia Colbert - Paris
Address: 7 rue de l Hotel Colbert, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#184 Business Hotel in Paris
#264 Family Hotel in Paris
#316 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Colbert - Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Le Colbert Hotel, a magnificent Mansion House of the 19th Century, is strategically located, facing the impressive Cathedral of Notre Dame (500 m) and close to the Quartier Latin (Latin Quarter, 500 m), the famous Louvre museum (4 km) and the Seine river. Well communicated by train & metro, and close to the International Airports of Orly (20 km) & Charles de Gaulle (35 km). While in Paris, visit as well nearby Versailles (35 km) and/or Disneyland Paris (45 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Colbert - Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Colbert
Melia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing