We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Return To Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Colbert - Paris
Ranked #257 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Return To Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel in the 5th Arrondisemont for about a dozen times. Great location and usually no big surprises. Some of our experiences here were great - some good - and some not so good. Last year was not so good. This year it was great. We reserved a "standard" room on-line with the hopes of getting a free upgrade upon checkin. We upgraded our room to "superior" but it cost an extra 30 euros a night to do so. The superior room is worth the extra money as the standard rooms are more worthy of a two star hotel versus a 4 star. The service and staff were much improved over what we expected. The hotel has also upgraded the drapes, rugs, lighting and beds. But unfortunately they also got ride of the five flags that used to adorn the front of the building and was visually very pleasant. Our stay was excellent and the hotel staff was fantastic. Paris was unusually cool and damp during our stay and thus we did not need air conditioning. That was a good thing as the Hotel is notoriously slow in turning on that system...

Room Tip: Do not get a "standard" room and try to get either Room 48 or 38.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience MHI France at Melia Colbert - Paris, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Amortizor73,

Thank you very much for your kind comments with regards to our Hotel. We are very proud to see that you really enjoyed your last stay in our hotel. I would like also to thank you for your observations for our refurbished rooms.

Please let us know when you will be in Paris and at the Meliá Colbert. This would give us the opportunity to personally take care of your stay.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    304
    71
    24
    22
See reviews for
144
446
26
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is pretty, clean, and in a perfect location but what really sets it apart is the friendly and accommodating staff. I've stayed at many lovely and clean hotels in Paris but usually the staff are stand-offish at best. At Melia Colbert they speak several languages and they really make an effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable. They always had a smile for us. We had a basic room and it was clean, decorated very nicely, shower was perfect, and we had more than enough room for our stuff. The hotel is near the Metro, Notre Dame, and many wonderful cafes and shops. It's on a quiet side street and was really easy to find from the Metro. I've finally found my favorite hotel in Paris! I won't stay anywhere else from now on.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisacinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience Meliá Hotels Interna at Melia Colbert - Paris, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear lisacinlondon,

We are delighted with your words and with the fact that we could cause this good impression to you. All our staff works very hard and strives to go beyond the expectations of our customers, and we feel very proud to see the results.

Thank you very much for choosing us, and taking your time to write a review , surely many other people will read them and choose Meliá Colbert.

It will be pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This Hotel is within walking distance of Notre Dame and the Louvre. The area is the Left Bank; the Latin Quarter. Wonderfull eateries and shops, steps away from the Seine and minutes from all of the area attractions. I though I even saw PaPa Hemingway sitting in a street side cafe. The hotel is a bit pricy but the staff and the location clearly make up for this additional cost, and did I mention you can just walk to numerous sights, the Tower and Arch are a bit far but only a quick cab ride to the downtown area. The people were friendly, unlike what I had heard, and a great deal of them spoke english.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lunicoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

If you enjoy the left bank and especially the 5th and 6th arrondissements, as well as the Ile de la Cite, Notre Dame, etc, then this is one of the best hotels you can stay in where you'll be close to all of those areas. Very nice hotel, very clean, nice views of Notre Dame from some of the rooms, nice sitting lounge and friendly staff. Internet is free in your room, but you can only get it by plugging in the cord to your computer. If you want wifi, you have to pay for it. Would highly recommend this hotel while in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience France at Melia Colbert - Paris, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear natsea,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing the Melia Colbert Boutique in Paris.

We are pleased to see that your experience was overall a positive one. Kindly note that we are in process of changing our system to have free wifi in all our rooms this year.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We went there for 3 days and we had a great time. The room we've booked was very big with huge bathroom. According to the hotel map we have probably booked the biggest room- (premium) which is at the second floor, no.236 but we have paid accordingly (prepare 210 Euro per night, without breakfast). The toiletries in the bathroom are very good, absolutely loved them, especially the body lotion. They should put more every day. The towels are puffy, big and lovely. The bed was huge and very comfy together with 5-6 pillows.
Be aware though of the mini bar: it is very expensive...4.5 Euro per 33 cl water. Go and get your water from the supermarket on the corner- 4 min walk.
The room was cleaned very well every day.
As I said the breakfast wasn't included and we didn't feel like paying 25 Euro per person when there were plenty of bakeries and nice bars on the same road to chose from.

The staff was very friendly and they speak good English and Italian. They have given us all the info we've wanted, pointing us on the map how to get there, where to shop, where to eat , where to have good" macarrons".

The only thing which definitely has annoyed me was the guys who want to take your luggage. They brought our luggage to the room then he was really taking his time in showing us where the TV was, how to use it, then the air conditioning, the lights, etc...I have never experienced that and I didn't like it at all. He should bring your luggage and "bye". You have to tip him, otherwise he won't leave, would stay there with you all night. This thing has repeated when we left the hotel ,although I told him I can take myself luggage. He absolutely grabbed it from my hand and carried all the way to the taxi. Honestly now,Mr. hotel Manager, give them some manner instructions !!

Room Tip: Second floor, not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TREBLOC, Directeur général at Melia Colbert - Paris, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear guest,

I sincerely appreciate your good comments about your stay at the Hotel Meliá Colbert and I thank you for sharing them with other travellers and other potential guest of ours.
I am happy to explain the reason why the bell staff accompanies the guests to the room at arrival. It is not only to help with the luggage but to explain the different aspects of the room like the way we open the door with the magnetic pass, the way the electricity turns on and off, again with the magnetic pass, the way the safety box works, where to find the minibar, the heater/air conditioning system, the Internet connexion, the Pay TV, etc. The guest satisfaction surveys that we run tell us how important this information is to make the guest feel familiar with our facilities. Otherwise, we would get many phone calls at the front desk informing us that this or that does not work. It is all a matter of knowing how.
At departure, the bellboys are instructed to help the guest with luggage due to the fact that there are three steps at the door but most importantly because not all taxi drivers put the luggage in the trunk of the car.
I can guarantee that our three bellboys strive for service and they help the guest at arrival and departure more for passion for service than for tips. I am very sorry that you felt annoyed by their 4 star service but let me assure you that it was absolutely not the goal.

Best regards,
Miriam Peñarroja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Best location for spending time in the Left Bank. Steps away from the Bateaubus on the Seine for going to all the great sites on the river. The room was very elegant and the front desk excellent. There is a great breakfast, and a nice quiet bar area for resting after walking around all day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfilmcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience France at Melia Colbert - Paris, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Cfilmcat,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience with us through tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Meliá Colbert Boutique Hotel and our services. We work every day to improve our standards and ensure high levels of service. Your feedback is the best way to help us on this direction. Thank you very much for your kind comments.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My girlfriend and I are new to visiting Paris, so our review comes without comparison, but we really loved this place. The entrance walking up to the front door of the hotel is as beautiful as the photos. The lobby was well lit, nicely decorated, unassuming (for Louis XIV style) and cozy. We were promptly greeted by a smiling member of the hotel staff at the front desk to check in, and as we began talking he seemed as excited about our visit to the city as we were. He handed us a very good tourist map, gave some pointers about how to navigate the city and after a few minutes we were all checked in. We mentioned we wanted to see a cabaret while we were in town to which they were able to provide some detail about the different shows, and even better we were able to buy our tickets right at the front desk. We were told about breakfast at the hotel, but we really wanted to be out in the city's cafes and the breakfast room wasn't extraordinary, so we never went for it. Another member of staff helped us with our bags as we made or way up the two man elevator to our Superior Room on the 2nd floor. I read a few comments on here about the rooms being small with a bad view, but our room was a good size with an amazing view looking out onto the courtyard of the hotel entrance and onto the neighboring building. So I can't comment on the smaller rooms, but I would suggest booking Superior and asking for a room on the upper floors. For windows, the room had these beautiful french doors that opened up onto the courtyard view, this was probably the best feature of the room. The bathroom was great as well, filled with reddish marble and gold colored fittings, perhaps the best was the peculiar misshapen brass fittings in the tub, beautiful, unique and still completely functional. The bed was comfortable and was always freshly made with chocolates on the pillow when we returned from a day out. Finally the location of the hotel was great, a 5 minute walk to the Notre Dame and three different metro stations, not to mention endless cafe's, shops etc. The best is just walking around the neighborhood, which always felt safe at any time of night. The only downside of the hotel was that there was no wireless internet in the rooms, which I'm told is not uncommon for Paris, but none the less it's the only reason why Melia Colbert didn't receive 5 stars. This place doesn't break the piggy bank, but it's not as cheap as it gets either, for us it was just right, a great value and a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solmelia2010, Guest Experience Meliá Hotels International France at Melia Colbert - Paris, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments on the Hotel Meliá Colbert and most especially those with regards to our staff.
We are also very pleased to inform you that we are working on installing Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas and we expect this to go live within this year.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy many more enhancements we are working on to make of this hotel always the best place to stay in Paris!
Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#236 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#198 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#240 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#185 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Colbert - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Colbert - Paris

Property: Melia Colbert - Paris
Address: 7 rue de l Hotel Colbert, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#184 Business Hotel in Paris
#265 Family Hotel in Paris
#317 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Colbert - Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Le Colbert Hotel, a magnificent Mansion House of the 19th Century, is strategically located, facing the impressive Cathedral of Notre Dame (500 m) and close to the Quartier Latin (Latin Quarter, 500 m), the famous Louvre museum (4 km) and the Seine river. Well communicated by train & metro, and close to the International Airports of Orly (20 km) & Charles de Gaulle (35 km). While in Paris, visit as well nearby Versailles (35 km) and/or Disneyland Paris (45 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Colbert - Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Colbert
Melia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing