We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, friendly staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera
Ranked #935 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel is so centrally located. It's a couple blocks to the Louvre. There are a couple great little markets (like convenience stores but with fresh produce out front) that we got a lot of our daily supplies from to keep in the fridge in the room. The hotel staff was friendly, although we didn't interact with them much. The hotel was pretty nice as well. We liked our room, which was clean and had decent beds. Nothing super luxurious, but still very nice. The location is great. It's a little pricey but was worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marms79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is situated in the centre of Paris. Just few minutes from Louvre. There are a lot of attractions, shops, small cafes just around the corner. Moreover, the rooms are cozy and clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, the WI-Fi is free. Nevertheless the breakfast is very poor: juice, coffee, croissant, jam, butter and bread with ham and cheese. And this choice is the same every day. For the first breakfast we were glad to have this "so French" breakfast, but after 7 days of deja vu, we were tired of the same menu. The breakfast lacks variety, and this is the only minus of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaMaslova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel is very well located in the center of paris. However the pictures shown on the website of the hotel are showing rooms with Baldaquin beds. and when we arrived we got a vulgar classical bed. so pay back. Avoid this hotel. those guys are crocks.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank SantaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very close to main attractions. Close metro, galleries , shopping & food. The staff at front of house were great for services ,spoke good English & tour bookings. The rooms are very small by Australian standards. We needed to book another room because the room sizes did not allow for a twin share.( even thou it was booked & confirmed). A 19 year old did not fit on a fold away. A double bed & a fold away left no floor space for movement around the room. Breakfast was serviced by a couple of non English speaking women who were uncoperative & unhappy in general. So we eat else where even thou it was in our room rate. Rooms clean & warm. Thou a little over heated for my taste but not for some. Was able to open our windows which was nice.Bathrooms small but not a bad size. Shower over the bath ,no hand rails so not for the over 60 set. Summary an average experiences.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachFamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Staying at the Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera itself was a nice thing. But during the period before going I had to remake my reservation 3 times, because prices got lower day by day. Then checking out was an ugly experience. First the lady at the reception tried to charge my credit card for 294 euro while the reservation price was 234 euro, then she insisted me to pay 6 euro extra for taxes. On the confirmation it mentioned specifically “Tax and service included”. When I pointed out this line to her, she suddenly got very aggressive to me, scary woman I must say…first a smile and within a second all her frustrations came out.
The room and location are, by the way, excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seayob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

This is a lovely property in a great location, as it takes you 5 minutes to get to the Louvre and 7 minutes to walk to rue d" Honore Street, where you find a great variety of luxury stores and restaurants. The hotel is a 4 star property, offers clean rooms in a french country style. The furniture is a bit run down ( wholes in upholstery), but the overall impression is ok for the price. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. Breakfast menu is fixed:yogurt, selection of bread, orange juice, coffee or tea, one piece of cheese, ham and some other meat. After two days of having the same breakfast, we chose to go to a different place. There is a variety of nice places to eat around the area.
If you are looking for a nice restaurant, try Pinxo at 9 rue d"lager off of rue d"honore, inside the Marriott hotel. It is expensive, but offers a great variety of wonderful options, reservations are needed. I would recommend this hotel for a budget conscious traveler, who wants to stay in a nice area of Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katya73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I was in Paris for business and had 2 rooms booked at the Golden Tulip Washington Opera Hotel and credit card details had been provided to secure the booking (costs was 245 euros per room). We arrived at 11:30pm and were told that notwithstanding that we had bookings there were no rooms available for us but that we would instead be staying at Hotel Victoire Opera. We were essentially told we had no choice in the matter because credit card details had been taken to secure our booking and payment was made. The hotel receptionist made no apology for the inconvenience of getting a cab to the hotel and then having no room available for us and having to go elsewhere. He just shrugged and made little attempt to assist. We were told we could walk to the Hotel Victoire Opera and were provided with a card for the replacement hotel with a map on the back. We had luggage and it was late so the hotel did eventually agree to pay for a cab to the Hotel Victoire Opera - which was lucky because it was certainly not walking distance from the hotel (the cab fare was 9.80 euros so it was a few km away).

We arrived at the Hotel Victoire Opera. The receptionist was not particularly helpful but we explained the issue and he saw our reservations from the Golden Tulip Washington Opera Hotel. We were checked in to 2 standard rooms. The tariff for the rooms was clearly visible at reception as costing 215 euros per room per night. In the morning the receptionist said we were required to pay for our rooms. We had understood that payment had already been made but we were then told that was not correct and that the card had been used merely to guarantee our room at the Golden Tulip Washington Opera Hotel - (ironic given that in fact had our room been guaranteed then we would have had a room at the hotel where we actually had a booking). After much debate the receptionist insisted that we make payment for our rooms. To add insult to the injury the receptionist insisted on charging us the rooms at 245 euros per night. The receptionist admitted that we had only been given rooms costing 215 euros per night but as the reservation slips we had at Golden Tulip Washington Opera Hotel (a completely different hotel) said 245 euros per room then that is what he charged us for our rooms. He was rude, unhelpful, inflexible and a terrible example of customer service. He is also a thief - there is an overcharge of 60 euros which we will be seeking to get refunded.

And, the final icing on the cake, involves our 8am cab. We were waiting in reception for our cab. At nearly 8:10am there was still no cab and we asked the receptionist about it. He said he had called a cab at 8am but could not get through to a company so was trying another company and it would be with us by 8:30am. Luckily a cab arrived a bit earlier or we would have risked missing our train and getting caught in peak hour traffic. We were furious that a receptionist did not appreciate that a cab which we required for 8am would need to be called by him before 8am. Again, there was no apology. We will not be using either hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RachelAnnabelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
#1,175 of 1,805 in Paris
62 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Golden Tulip Opera De Noailles
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#152 of 1,805 in Paris
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#164 of 1,805 in Paris
250 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Victoires Opera Hotel
Victoires Opera Hotel
#1,186 of 1,805 in Paris
300 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Drawing Hotel
Drawing Hotel
#454 of 1,805 in Paris
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera

Address: 50 rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#438 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $228 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in a building dating from 1760 with Louis XV-style facade - Rooms furnished in traditional decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Paris
Golden Tulip Paris
Paris Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Washington Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing