We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay, near Arc de Triomphe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splendid Etoile Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #76 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay, near Arc de Triomphe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very nice hotel, great front desk hospitality. I would recommend a room with a view. They cost more but it is worth it. In front of the Charles-de-Gaulle – Étoile subway station. I had breakfast in the cafes near the hotels. Walking distance to the Avenue des Champs-Élysées.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a view. They cost more but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACVIANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    298
    58
    14
    12
See reviews for
226
601
42
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel celebrating a 40th Birthday. We requested a room with a view for this purpose and we were not disappointed. I would recommend to anyone staying here to request room 507. Others have expressed about the size of the room but this was not an issue in the slightest given the amount of time you would be spending in it. It is in a superb location, just across from bus stop to the Airport and a few steps to the Metro line. The views of the Arc de Triomphe are fantastic and this is a very central place to get to any of the main areas in Paris.

I would recommend foregoing the buffet breakfast which is quite expensive and you can easily find some very nice Cafes nearby to soak up the early morning atmosphere.

The staff were incredibly friendly and I would be very tempted to go back.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms with a view on the higher floors. Room 507 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POTFOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, comfortable spacious rooms, and fantastic views if you are lucky enough to overlook Avenue Carnot from the upper floors, but it is the staff's attention to detail, friendly approach and willingness to help that make this hotel outstanding. This will be our first choice next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great location right across the road from the metro stop, and within a stones throw of the Arc de Triomphe. You'd think it'd be noisy, but once inside you don't hear anything, and the road outside isn't that busy at all. In nice neighbourhood, with Lamborghini and Range Rover etc just round the corner. Welcome on reception was fantastic. I asked for a nice room if poss as we were celebrating my mum's birthday, and whilst I expected a suite for a triple room (as on their website), we were put in one bedroom (extra bed but with a mattress the same as on the twin beds). But we were put in one of the refurbished premier rooms i think, with gorgeous furnishings, floor to ceiling windows opening out on to a balcony with a fabulous view of the arc de triomphe. Spotlessly clean, lovely bedding and a great bathroom (with a showe so powerful it did tend to spray on the floor too!). Breakfast (included with our Cresta booking) was plentiful and delicious. Always a friendly welcome and a chat with the staff on reception. Rooms quiet. Only downside was that my bed was a little hard, but it didn't detract from the holiday. Go there, you won't be disappointed!!

A few tips for Paris: 1) it's cheaper to drink wine than water in the cafes so if you need a drink when you're out and about I'd suggest filling up a water bottle from the hotel room... unless of course you'd prefer to just drink wine. 2) service was included in some of the cafes/restaurants so check your bill before tipping. 3) If you love sewing/knitting then La Drougerie is a must (they have a website too), it's just on the les halles metro exit and you could buy amazing stuff, just check out google for how the system works.

Room Tip: Our room (304) had a fabulous view of the Arc De Triomphe. Ask for a room with a view of it if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovethatbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I chose the Splendid Etoile Hotel for a short business trip to Paris, based on the favorable reviews here and also based on the fact that it was about a 15 minute walk from the office. I was very comfortable, and the size of the rooms and bathroom was very nice, especially compared with some other neighborhood hotels in Paris (I usually choose neighborhood hotels to avoid the generic business hotels). If I were just being a tourist, I might feel that this location was a bit off-center, as it were, since as a tourist I would not likely be frequenting the Champs Elysee. Overall, a pleasant, comfortable place to stay, and if I were visiting our Paris office again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isbergglenn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent experience in all respects. Location central (and right as one emerges from Metro). Concierge and hotel staff world-class. Without any hesitation, recommend it, and will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here while visiting Paris in June 2011 and I was excited before I had even arrived. We were greeted by friendly reception staff and shown to the lift to be taken up to the room and what a room it was. We opted for a superior room with direct views of the Arc de Triomphe from two private balconies. Our room was beautifully styled and furnished and the views onto the Champs Elysée and the imposing Parisian landmark made the experience all the more rewarding, a true asset of the hotel and it left a lasting impression on us.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel and once again the high standard of service was evident with a wide selection of well presented hot and cold foods including French breads, breakfast pastries, cheese, cold meats, juices, cereals and yoghurt. Scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage are also available with boiled eggs made to order if desired. The unobtrusive service from the polite waitresses made breakfast at the hotel enjoyable and incredibly relaxed, a perfect start to the day.

The hotel also benefits from an intimate and relaxed bar and lounge, perfect for a quick night cap or a final bottle of French red before turning in for the night.

A absolutely glorious stay and if you do intend to stay then please make sure you request a room with a view, as the pictures I've attached show, has to be one of the best views to wake up to!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#80 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
#44 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#28 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Champs-Elysees
Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Property: Splendid Etoile Hotel
Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#86 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#124 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing