We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Ranked #982 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I found Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg from doing a ton of research on Trip Advisor and it was really great. It was important to me to stay in the 6th as it has fantastic restaurants everywhere you go, art galleries and shopping and is in the heart of the city. And Jardins du Luxembourg is one of my favorite endoits in Paris. The Hotel is fantastically located about two minutes walk from the Jardins. The lobby is chic as are the rooms as they seem to have been recently renovated. The bathrooms are really big especially for Europe. The best part of this hotel is the price is right. At a rate of only 213 Euros per night it was a great deal. A couple of minor downsides - There is no real concierge. Living in LA it was a bit difficult with the time difference to make dinner reservations and when I called to ask her for help with that she seemed a bit overwhelmed and I ultimately did it myself. She was so sweet though and very helpful when we got there, but again, she's not a "real" concierge. The only other thing is that the hotel can be a bit loud at night as the window to our room faced the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    147
    36
    11
    16
See reviews for
56
177
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Friendly staff, clean, small but nice room, a good bathroom and good value breakfast. The location is literally minutes from subway and several attractions.

Room Tip: Located on a quiet street. Still a room not facing the street is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GisleBjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

it's ok. not so nice regarding the rooms and location, but it wasn't a horrible experience also. To be brief: i will never stay there again, athough i can understand that this hotel is a nice hotel for others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Small but nice rooms. Friendly and efficient staff. Can't beat the location. Will be back for next PARIS ESCAPE ….

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April. The location is great as it is close to the RER and many restaurants and shopping. I had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street, which was very noisy from garbage trucks and scooters. Request a room not facing the street. The room was clean and the staff was helpful and freindly. Our room was smallish but wasn't a problem for my wife and I.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fardog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This interesting hotel in the 6th arr is well located and fun. The combination of older furniture and original elements combined with new colorful and tasteful ecclectic design makes it good option for people who are bored with ubiquitous corporate or outdated hotels. The rooms are somewhat small, but that's normal for Paris. There is a small desk next to the bed, but it can barely hold more than a laptop. The bathroom was quite spacious and like the rest of the hotel in very good condition. Wifi was also free (request access codes at the reception). Other facilities are quite limited (no coffee maker in the room and such), but that is to be expected for this type of hotel in Paris. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel (but I almost never do in hotels).

Service was at least adequate and sometimes was quite good. We requested a room with a bath through e-mail and received it without any problems and getting tea, plates and cups late in the evening was no problem at all.

The location is one of the main reasons I picked the hotel. Metro/RER stops are a few minutes away, everything is relatively close by. Although the direct area isn't that exciting (but safe and nice), you have enough great options for whatever you want to do within 10-15 minutes by foot.

One of the only real faults I could find was the lack of a luggage storage room and the way the hotel (at least the person at the desk at the time) manages that fact. Suitcases left in storage at the hotel are lined up next to the reception desk. When we asked if they couldn't be stored in a secure location, the response (given with typical Parisian attitude) was "I'll be here all the time, our guests can be trusted and you can always take your suitcase with you if you aren't satisfied".

All in all we were quite happy with our stay and I am definitely willing to return here if the price is right (I was able to get a discount, the normal prices might be a tad steep if you aren't used to hotel prices in Paris).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Valmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#396 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#121 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#821 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#145 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#364 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#694 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#453 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#501 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing