We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Recently refurbished rooms and a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atelier Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atelier Saint-Germain
Ranked #976 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished rooms and a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

We stated here for a couple of nights and found the place to be pretty good. The rooms are small but they are nicely laid out and the staff were all nice.


Good points:

Recently refurbished rooms are great, the bathrooms are really nice.

Location is fantastic for the Metro.

Bad points:

There was no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Whilst we were there breakfast wasn't available. We were offered a 20 euro refund for both nights but this was not really enough to pay for breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Propriétaire at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Many thanks for your review regarding your satisfaction about the refurbishment of the hotel. It’s a good news for us.

Concerning the courtesy tray we understand your request as at the same time, the breakfast room was not ready and you would have like to take a coffee before going out. If you come back, you will enjoy a buffet style breakfast at 11€ per day and per person in the basement of the hotel from 7 to 10.30a.m every day.

We hope you will come back to give us your feedback about it.

Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    102
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
140
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Va
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Cheap and available, that's why we are here. You can't beat 125 euro a night in Paris, even for a good sized closet. The staff is friendly, the location is great, the beds are fine; just don't let 2 people try to walk around at the same time. The wifi is great, the shower is a European type open shower with no door or curtain, but they forgot that you need to keep the water from flowing out. Also, there was no waste basket, probably because there is no room to place one. Great value, but don't spend any time in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Propriétaire at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
We thanks you for your good review regarding our hotel Atelier Saint Germain : friendly staff, great location, fine bed, great wifi and free, great value in conlusion

On the other hand, we can’t deny that it’s a tiny hotel but in Paris it’s quite usual to find small rooms and you don’t stay into it all day long when you come to visit the City of lights (that what other reviewers wrote)

About the issue of water flowing out, we think it appeared just at the opening after the refurbishment as since a few months, there are no more complaints about. The maid forget to put the waste basket and we apologize for any inconvenient

We’ll be pleased to welcome you again,
Best Regards

Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a cosy little hotel in a great part of Paris (30 seconds away from Vavin metro station). The hotel has been recently fefurbished and although the rooms are very small, they are very comfortable and the shower had good pressure. There is free wi-fi.

My only complaint is that the extraction fan in the bathroom didn't seem to be working, which meant that the steam set off the fire alarm if the bathroom door was left open. Ask for an extra towel at reception because the shower sprays onto the bathroom floor a little.

A great three star hotel in a great location. The staff were very helpful and spoke English. They let us leave our luggage in the lobby area once we had checked out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 on the first floor. This room had air conditioning and we slept really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Propriétaire at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review about our hotel. We like to read that the refurbishment is a success as you found r ooms comfortable & shower with good pressure. The shower sprays is now fixed and we didn’t receive since a long time any request.

Regarding the extraction, we tried to fix it and it seemed to be good. Indeed, it had to verify each year therefore we can’t be sure at 100% this issue won’t come back.

We hope to welcome you soon to discover another category of your rooms.
Warm Regards

Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the very helpful and friendly staff. The location is also great and very close to Vavin station and shops etc. The environment of the hotel is relaxed and inviting.

Unfortunately though the hotel room we stayed in was very basic. It was small, basic and unkept (wallpaper falling off, worn carpet etc.)

For people traveling alone and not planning to be in the room much it is probably fine but I wouldn't recommend it for a couple that likes a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestAndFair11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This small hotel is ideally located almost next to a metro stop on the purple line,(Vavin) which makes it easy to get around Paris. It is a short walk to the Luxembourg Gardens which are wonderful.
The rooms are tiny but decorated well. There is even a small flat screen t.v.. The bathrooms all have a mosaic of a famous french painting, and everything worked well.
There are three rooms per floor and the elevator is so small that luggage goes up after you do. We used the stairs but sent the luggage on the elevator. The desk clerks are all very nice and speak some English. Grab the good map of Paris that they have on the desk. The breakfast is basic bread and yogurt and good if you want to be on the go. We were never at our hotel except to sleep, so the hotel was perfect for us for the price which is very affordable. I would stay there again for that price. There are good restaurants all around it too. Be sure and look for specials and week-end prices which start on Thursday and include breakfast. We paid 125 euros per night for the week-end rate.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window to the street. Does not feel as claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on our last trip to Paris. The hotel and very well located, the rooms are good, standard Paris, clean, fairly large, air-conditioning and refrigerator. There are many restaurants and cafes close to the hotel, so do not take coffee in the hotel. The metro station is just arround the corner. We recommend it

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I chose this hotel because the website offers nice rooms with mosaics in the bathrooms. My room was very small and very dark (No. 31), the walls had holes, the tapestry was held by tape ... and I'm always looking for the mosaic! In addition, the hotel doesn't have any restaurant, so, the room for breakfast in the basement and they had an out of stock for fruit juice. To pay 170 euro for this room and 11 euro for this breakfast is abuse! Positive point : the location, 10 meters from the metro and not far from the Montparnasse Tower.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#142 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche
Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche
#244 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Danemark Hotel
Danemark Hotel
#1,094 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
BEST WESTERN Villa Des Artistes
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Edouard VI
Hotel Edouard VI
#885 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#463 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelier Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelier Saint-Germain

Property: Atelier Saint-Germain
Address: 49 rue Vavin, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#442 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atelier Saint-Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atelier Saint-Germain is a 3 star charming hotel, ideally located 10 minutes walking away from the lively neighborhood of Montparnasse, the Luxembourg Garden and the legendary neighborhood of Saint-Germain-des-Pres. The proximity to the metro station Vavin (line 4) 40 meters away from the hotel, the station Notre-Dame-des-Champs (line 12) 300 meters from the hotel (3 minutes walking) and the RER station Port-Royal 500 meters (10 minutes walking) allows you to quickly reach all the main monuments and famous places of the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Atelier Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Saint-Germain Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing