We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very average hotel!”
Review of Hotel du 7e Art

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du 7e Art
Ranked #1,341 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 31 October 2011

So one thing for sure is that if you stay here you will definitely start to appreciate a 3+ star hotels. Very average in accomodation. The bathrooms are tiny and for some one who is tall using the wc is a real problem. I had to figure out how to squeeze myself between the door, the sink and the wc. Other than that the room doesn't really seem clean. If you are willing to just sleep on a really hard spring mattress and kinda make due with a bathroom, this place is fine.

At one point in the early morning I found someone off the road, sleeping in the hallway. He had managed to get in and needed a warm place to sleep for the night. Scary!! They do have internet at least which is a big bonus. The location is a great especially since it is right next to "Miss Mannon" boulangarie which is best one I have been to in Paris.

For maybe 20-30 euros more you can stay at a much nicer hotel, but if budget is key, this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vin_Menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

We didn't go to Paris to stay in our room, which I think is true of most visitors. This hotel was just fine. As others have written, it's in an excellent location, it's quirky and kind of fun and it wasn't too expensive (for Paris). It was clean enough and it was quiet. Our room was quite small, but fine for two. Same story for the bathroom--teeny tiny! but it was nice to have a private bath. The hotel in general could use some updating, but it was just fine. We didn't want to stay in a chain hotel and I think this was a fine alternative.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastvillagegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I absolutely loved the location of this hotel and the movie theme is great, but it could use a thorough cleaning and some updating.
On the plus side, location, location, location: you're a short walk to the Seine and the islands, smack between 3 Metro stops, on a great street. There's a fantastic Italian restaurant across the street (L'Enoteca) and tons of shops, cafes and bakeries close by. We didn't get breakfast so I can't comment on that, but there are certainly a lot of other places to get food in this area. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but what we did was pleasant, and the our last night the desk clerk set up a 7:30 AM cab for us without a hitch.
On the downside, the whole place could use a good scrubbing and brightening up, and the grotty carpet and shower curtain really need to be replaced.
But then again -- it's a 100 Euro hotel in the heart of Paris, so I don't know how much room there is for complaint.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in a room on the third floor which was a good size. Air conditioning and fridge a definite bonus as it was unseasonably hot the week we were there. Staff very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a great location - 5 minutes walk from the Seine and in the lovely Marais district with lots of interesting shops on the doorstep.

Recommend the Miss Manon cafe/patisserie at the end of the street (turn right out of the hotel) for breakfast and cakes!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Positives: Very friendly staff, good size rooms with great bed, good bathroom, great location with easy access to sites, the metro & cafes

Needs improvement: No elevator & no help with luggage; expensive breakfast for what is essentially bread--eat elsewhere; weird pillows--the hotel needs to improve their pillows.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, get a room on the first floor or get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent 3 nights here this week. The hotel seemed reasonably priced in comparison to others in Paris. It was quite basic but we appreciated the theming of the place. Our room was on the 3rd floor and it was fine with plenty of space.

Unfortunately, every night into morning there was a strange intermittant buzzing noise which was quite loud. It only lasted a couple of seconds but it was pretty frequent. It seemed to be coming from our floor but I was unable to find the source of it and when I asked a member of staff about it they didn't know what I was talking about! Also, the cleaner's store room was next door to our room so we were woken up quite early each day by them getting all their gear ready.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. There was a lot of really interesting streets and shops in the area. It was also only a short walk to Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nialldinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

If you're looking to stay in the Marais (which I highly recommend) and you don't want to spend more than 100-120 euros, this place is a great choice. Although the room was a bit old and worn, it was clean and well-maintained. We booked the smallest room type but still had more than enough space to set out our suitcases while still moving comfortably around the room. Peeking in from the hallway, the slightly higher priced rooms looked unbelievably spacious for Paris, if you want to spend a little more. One final comment: Jean Marc at the reception was incredibly friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
#1,171 of 1,803 in Paris
276 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#461 of 1,803 in Paris
402 reviews
Le Marais
Pratic Hotel
Pratic Hotel
#1,564 of 1,803 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#690 of 1,803 in Paris
673 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#378 of 1,803 in Paris
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du 7e Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du 7e Art

Address: 20 rue Saint Paul, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#90 Spa Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $102 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du 7e Art 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Du 7e Art Hotel
Du 7e Art Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing