We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small and simple”
Review of The Modern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Modern Hotel
Ranked #1,231 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, small and simple”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This is a nice little hotel, a great location 200m from Moulin Rouge, the rooms and hotel is clean and simple. Great value for the price and the staff are very friendly.

Downsides - shower not very big, the door had a gap round the edge meaning you could hear the other guest coming back. But if you want simple and cheap then this is a good option.

If you want a late night drink near by then the irish bar is option until 5am (100m walk) and nice pizza place near the cinema.

Room Tip: I booked this online are there are some good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    170
    122
    52
    74
See reviews for
71
194
53
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed in Montmartre for 3 days with some friends. When you are only in Paris for 3 days, the quality of your hotel is pretty much irrelevant. It was a place to sleep and recharge with Moulin Rouge, the famous Pigalle district, le Bistrot Chat Noire, Sacre Coeur and the metro stations all within a 5 minute walk max...

Like many old buildings in the area the rooms are small and not well ventilated, and since the building was constructed before electricity, there is no elevator.

The breakfast consists of substandard coffee OJ, croissants, baguette and jam...

The service at the desk was good but it was strange that there was only one key given per room and you have to leave it at the desk when you go out...

Overall I rate this hotel average.

It was a place to put my head down a few hours a night for 3 nights. If you're in Paris for the full experience and not looking to spend a lot of time in your room, this is a good place because of its (relatively) low room rate.

Room Tip: In Paris, a single bed means a single!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_Starving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Be careful what you will get when you think that you have got a great deal with this hotel with great rate at a better location who might employ a bait and switch tactic to redirect you to another hotel at an inferior location with worse room facility.

I booked two rooms for one night with the Modern Hotel (3 Rue Forest, Paris, 75018, France, telephone +33143874761) in Paris, France on 3/31/11 back in February 2011. The hotel is conveniently located near the metro station
Place de Clichy. However, upon arrival around 19:00. We were told by the concierge that the rooms we had reserved and had been confirmed by Hotels.com
were not available. Instead, we were told by the concierge/receptionist to walk to another hotel New Montmatre which is one of several hotels owned by a group of oversea investors. He gave us the directions and
told us the new hotel is only 7 minutes walking distance. However, following his directions and with the help of a good Samaritan,
it took us nearly a hour to walk there on foot dragging the luggage while negotiating with traffic and steep hilly terrain. The new hotel is located on a steep hill next
to the Basilique du Sacred Coeur and is 3 metro stops (Anvers) away from the original hotel (Place de Clichy). The entire course is a huge uphill climb.

We were exhausted when we finally got the other hotel and it ruined our original plan to go to see Eiffel Tower that night.
We had to climb 82 steps and walk several city blocks to reach the nearest metro station (Anvers)
The rooms in the hotel New Montmatre are worse than we expected. The TV in one room is missing and the TV in the other room does not work at all.
It was hot in the room and air was stuffy. The windows face a dirty small courtyard so we did not want to open.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aeroneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

They gave me room 301: extremly cold, relatively dirty, no toilet paper.
Everything looks inside the room like a half star motel.
No parking, I had to park in a near by parking with 23euro per night.

However, internet is free and the location is good.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Modern Hotel and were a little disappointed. We asked to move rooms when we first arrived as the first room we were put into was tiny, dark and on the 5th floor and generally 'tired'. The second room was slightly better - bigger and a bigger bathroom with a bath as well as a shower, however, the TV in our room didn't work - and repeated requests to get it fixed or swapped were ignored. Hairdryers are available, but only on request and be prepared to leave a 20Euro deposit. They advertise a bar, but it was not open the whole time we were there and while breakfast is satisfactory, make sure you get down early as it just sits out and the coffee stews a bit!
The biggest problem, though, is the noise. There is absolutely no soundproofing in this hotel, so beware - you can hear everything in your neighbours room!!! Conversations, bathroom activities....everything!! And they can hear you too!!
Rooms wre cleaned daily, though and for location, this hotel is very good. It also has a (very small) lift.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tash0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I had reservations for The Modern Hotel at 3 rue Forest, 75018 Paris, France, for myself and my young son. When we arrived after our flight from Hamburg, we were informed that there was an “emergency” and would have to spend the first night at a less desirable hotel in a less desirable location and not show up again at The Modern Hotel until 2:00 PM the following day (thus ruining the following day’s plans). The “emergency,” of course, according to our travel agent, is that The Modern Hotel had intentionally overbooked and sent us…the unlucky, prepaid patrons…to the Hotel Montmartrois, a classic “bait and switch.” The Hotel Montmartrois was truly a lesser hotel…little more than a hostel…yet we were offered neither a total nor a partial refund.

I strongly suggest that you verify the availability of your room prior to arrival. The Modern Hotel management appears to be somewhat lacking in both ethics and professionalism. Since we were tourists, the management no doubt rightly assumed that we were limited in our ability to respond in an effective manner (short of beating up the clerk at the main desk).

I would avoid this place if I were you. I’ll certainly never go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_York_10003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed in the Modern hotel 2 nights. On the first night we noticed that we had bed bags in our beds. The guy at the reception desk said that this is normal in Paris, and can't do nothing about it. We got another room next day, this time without bed bags. If you don't mind getting few bites, it is in a good location, quite clean, and cheap.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidia789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,555 of 1,801 in Paris
149 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,026 of 1,801 in Paris
386 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#838 of 1,801 in Paris
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gerando
#1,450 of 1,801 in Paris
259 reviews
Montmartre
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#1,229 of 1,801 in Paris
88 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Andre Gill
Hotel Andre Gill
#1,233 of 1,801 in Paris
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Hotel

Property: The Modern Hotel
Address: 3 rue Forest, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,231 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Modern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing