We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPERIENCE PARIS - LIKE A REAL PARISIAN!”
Review of COQ Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COQ Hotel Paris
Ranked #139 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Bonjour Paris! As someone who is co-located between New York and Paris, I'd like to keep the COQ Hotel a secret. But people ask me constantly to tell them how to see Paris like a Parisian, so I say, stay at the COQ. I've stayed there at least 9 times. And I am tough to please. ;-)

LOCAL SECRET: Parisians and the French love the COQ. It is a French destination. The COQ is cool, stylish, arty and welcoming. The kind of place where locals and visitors hang out and relax, do business, or jump off for activities. The Europeans and Japanese love the COQ, too, because it is SO authentically Parisian. The New Parisian.

HOTEL: Impeccable design, with a flea market and local crafts twist. The COQ - Community of Quality - maintains close ties with local artists, photographers, businesses, food producers and craftsmen, and it shows. The COQ is a community in a real neighborhood - something that is disappearing from Paris.

ROOMS: The chic and very reasonably priced, super clean rooms are comfortably sized by European standards, although not huge by American. I always pick a Deluxe room and am always pleased by the privacy, old French paintings, Scandinavian wooden furniture, great toiletries and real linens. Spacious bathrooms feature either cast iron tubs or walk-in showers. ( I always swipe the shower gel.) Excellent selection of books on art and culture. (I leave the books.) And the rooms have both very chic blackout curtains, and that incredible Parisian light.

STAFF: What sets the COQ apart - aside from design - is the incredible staff. The COQ team is a like a big family. They love their jobs and it shows. Everyone from the managers to the front desk, the kitchen servers, chambermaids, and backside staff are super professional, gracious and endlessly helpful. Just ask the staff, and they will arrange whatever is needed with a smile.

BREAKFAST: Hands-down, the best breakfast buffet in Paris, with the signature organic Oeuf à la COQ, fresh croissants and pain au chocolat, local jams, the best cheeses, 2 kinds of ham, fruits, yogurt, granola, fresh juices, and great coffee. With charming service. Guests linger over breakfast. No need to eat lunch!

COOL LOUNGING: Hanging out for pleasure, work, or both is big at the COQ, where the main floor is set up like a communal dining room, lounge, film center, and solarium. Brilliant music selection. You can pick your own videos, order a glass, and enjoy light snacks and meals. On my last visit, guests and staff watched the French presidential election results. I had a champagne, and an organic mango sorbet.

LOCATION: On the Left Bank, in the 13th Arrondissement, one block from the major Place d'Italie metro station which has express trains every few minutes to every section of Paris, 24 hours a day. WHY? Because Parisians hate sitting in traffic. Pick the exit that says Boulevard Vincent Auriol, or Rue des Gobelins for the shortest exit.

SAFETY: 100 yards from the Police Station. As safe as it gets.

AWESOME NEIGHBORHOOD: The 13th Arrondissement is like the Marais was 15 years ago. The quartier is the site of the world's largest collection of street art murals - all the world's top street artists are featured, except Banksy who does not accept commissions. The quartier is home to Paris' Chinatown, with incredible Asian food. The 13th also has Paris' best baguettes with 2 winners in the 2017 contest, including First Prize. The very arty and hip Buttes des Cailles section has untouched architecture that has disappeared from Paris, great street art, and Paris' best Basque restaurant. And, Ladies, 2 great yarn shops of - you guessed it - Parisian yarn.

SIGHTSEEING: Parisians sightsee on foot. Here is a great walk. Exit the Coq and walk one block to La Manufacture bistro for a glass of wine. Got a glow? Walk down Rue des Gobelins to the Marche Mouffetard - Hemingway raved about it - and see Paris' best remaining food market on a delightful square, with loads of great restaurants and bookshops nearby. Continue through the Quartier Latin, and walk straight down to Notre Dame and the Ile Saint Louis. This is 20 minutes - not counting the glass of wine. Here is another great excursion: Take the #6 Metro and see the open air museum of street art that runs along the elevated line. Get off at Quai de la Gare for a walk down the Seine. Time: 10 minutes, not including the walk down the Seine.

WHAT'S NOT TO LIKE? Do you want to discover an authentic Parisian hotel and neighborhood that will make you think about Paris and Parisians in a whole new way? Or do you want to tick the boxes? If you are looking for a full service American-style tourist hotel, there are some excellent Marriotts to chose from. Or you can discover the real Paris. Like a Parisian.

WOULD I PUT MY MONEY WHERE MY MOUTH IS? My French client offered to pay for an apart-hotel for me near the Louvre. I said no, and I pay to stay at the COQ. Because I know Paris, and the COQ is as authentic as Paris gets.

Bonjour Paris.

Room Tip: High floors for the light. Back rooms are very quiet. Spring for a deluxe room. Pay in advance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lutetia75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Miss Lo Presti
Your feedback is a great source of motivation for all our staff so rest assured we will share your comments with our team and in order to keep on performing this way and make our guests, satisfied and happy guests like you.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again. You're at home.
Best regards
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Excellent. We had a superb time. The hotel staff could not have been nicer. I liked the fact that they contacted me beforehand to find out our requirements. We had a great weekend. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N6616KBalexanderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear guest
Thank you for your comment. Being committed to delivering the best quality of service possible and making our guests’ stays unforgettable, we are overjoyed to hear that our hotel met your expectations. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again during your next stay in Paris.
Best regards,
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at COQ for 3 nights and we loved the room, loved the ambiance, and close to metro station. The only thing that dissapointed us was there was no elevator/escalator at D'Italie metro station, so we had to carry our suitcases through so many stairs. Not the hotel's fault though.

Hotel staffs were also very friendly and helpful. Great experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ademoz902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your kind words.
All the team here at Le C.O.Q Hotel is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You have different exit in the station Place d'Italie and two with escalator.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Paris again for your next trip.
Kind regards,
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Nice to look at in pictures, but not value for money considering its location. Also, the hotel feels more like a serviced apartment building, i.e. pickup your keys on the way in and pay on the way out, not that much to do in the hotel other than that.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S6870OYchristophem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Christophe,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and please accept our most sincere apologies .
We are also very sensitive to your comments concerning your experience with us.
We will be more than happy to welcome you back and be your privileged person in case that you will need something.
For your next stay, you will have a discount of 10%.
Best regards
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Very nice stay in this hotel! Well located with nice decoration, confortable room, very welcoming staff, very good address. Only the breakfast could be improved and have more choice. No cooked product as egg, bacon...

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kburlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your kind words.
All the team here at Le C.O.Q Hotel is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take in consideration your words on our breakfast, did you eat our delicious boiled egg?
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Paris again for your next trip.
Kind regards,
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

What a great little hotel.

Pro's:
+This hotel has a cool style to it. you walk through the lobby or your room and just has a nice vibe that helps you feel good.
+The staff was super friendly and nice. I interacted with a handful fo staff and each time they were helpful, friendly and kind.
+Bed was comfy!
+The price was fantastic. Great value for the price.
+The hotel was very stylish and comfortable. Everything seemed newish and in great condition with attention to detail.

Con's:
+It is a little far away from Latin Quarter and the main tourist sites like the Louvre & Eiffel tower. But a 10 euro uber ride and you are where you want to be. Or the metro of course. 2 uber rides to the hot spots plus the hotel cost is still cheaper then staying in St. Germaine or in the 1st arrondisement.
+Rooms are small. We had the middle class room and it was a bit small for 2. but that is europe.

If you are ok with the neighborhood, i highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Christopher
Thank you for your comment. Being committed to delivering the best quality of service possible and making our guests’ stays unforgettable, we are overjoyed to hear that our hotel met your expectations. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again during your next stay in Paris.
Best regards,
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for four days in April and loved it. Tucked away on a side street slightly off the beaten path (nice and quiet) yet convenient to public transport or just walking far and wide. The interior is a tastefully designed contemporary-vintage mix, with a relaxing eating/sitting area off the lobby that you never want to leave, with the most comfortable chairs, the artiest books, not to mention a skylight. Our room on the third floor made excellent use of the small space: it faced a courtyard with tall windows that opened out, was beautifully decorated and clean, with a large, luxurious artfully tiled shower area (loved the Ritual brand toiletries). We slept extraordinarily well in the incredibly comfortable bed with bright white clean and luxurious linens/pillows.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COQ_H, Directeur général at COQ Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Fuga
Thank you for your comment. Being committed to delivering the best quality of service possible and making our guests’ stays unforgettable, we are overjoyed to hear that our hotel met your expectations. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again during your next stay in Paris.
Best regards,
Alexandre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Henriette
#87 of 1,809 in Paris
720 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#266 of 1,809 in Paris
1,760 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#159 of 1,809 in Paris
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#57 of 1,809 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Hidden Hotel
Hidden Hotel
#46 of 1,809 in Paris
1,188 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#78 of 1,809 in Paris
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COQ Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COQ Hotel Paris

Address: 15 Rue Edouard Manet | 13 Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#498 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — COQ Hotel Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COQ Hotel Paris (Community of Quality) is located in Paris, 30.6 km from Marne-la-Vallée and 16.1 km from Versailles. Guests can enjoy the on-site bar. Every room at this hotel is air conditioned and features a flat-screen TV. Every room includes a private bathroom. There is a 24-hour front desk, concierge services, luggage storage space and a gift shop at the property. Villepinte is 19.3 km from Hôtel COQ (Community of Quality), and Roissy is 22.5 km away. The nearest airport is Orly Airport, 11.3 km from the property. 13th arr. is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, museums and culture. In this area you can shop 'til you drop for popular brands like H&M, Zara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your COQ Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing