We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
108
141
27
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
141
27
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saint martin republique area quiet street place de la republique republique metro station l est complimentary toiletries boutique hotel homeless people within easy reach rooms are nice just round the corner breakfast buffet is decent size metro system cafes and restaurants coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 293 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2018

This is a typical Parisian hotel, located in a short and very quiet street in the République district. Three metro stations in the vicinity with access to four lines (4,5,8,9) makes it very convenient to get around.
Many restaurants nearby - our favorite area was around Ponte Saint Martin, about 300 meter walk from the hotel.
It is specified that the hotel has aircondition, but unfortunately this is only valid for the reception, breakfast area downstairs.
The room had no ventilation/aircondition at all !
Even with the fan on and the windows fully open, the room temperature was a significant problem! (Room was exposed to the sun from around 10 o'clock, and day temperatures where around 30° (20-25° during nights))

Room Tip: Very hot rooms in the summer, no ventilation/aircondition.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jazztrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are clean and staff are friendly. I would recommend paying for a room with aircon as it is very warm in July. Some reviews mention the urine smell but the streets were getting cleaned daily when we stayed so there was no problem, there are homeless people in vicinity but thats not the hotels fault. Overall a nice place to stay!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for a few nights as part of our holiday. We had a few tricky obstacles to work with such as being scammed by the taxi to the hotel being charged €55 as driver claimed this was standard due to the rail strike we were doubtful but caught on the hop and paid ... totally duped and it was from the official Gare du Nord taxi rank .. anyway we learn from our mistakes but not a good start .. (nothing to do with the hotel though) ...
the hotel is in a quiet side street ... the good points first.. the staff are great, helped where they could and were friendly and approachable .. my partner was unwell while we stayed and I asked if it was possible to have an additional fan which they were able to help with and it helped him while he was confined to the room. Also directions to the pharmacy which Were very helpful as the one at the end of the street hadnt yet opened. We had the standard classic double room so no air con but it was a decent size and clean .. a little worn around the edges, things like missing tiles on the wall in the bathroom and a bit of a leaky shower head.. but cleaned and tidied each day.. the hotel is a little worn away from the front entrance area, staircase and lift is small and I felt a bit contained at times.
The location is a good one, Saint Martin canal and surrounding area is really interesting , there are three metro stops within very quick walking distance and the streets around the hotel have good restaurants ... republique itself is busy and manic but if you turn away from there (so turn right out of rue Taylor at the top by the hotel) there are some good restaurant for evening meals ... we had lovely food at Ciacco and another meal just a little further around the corner at Au pied de vinge .. good salads and steaks ...
The bad points of the hotel .. the pavements around the hotel and at the top of rue Taylor are stained with urine and smell very bad especially in the heat and there are regular homeless men sleeping under the arch way each night.. they don’t in anyway harass passers by but it’s a sad state of affairs and very prominent around republique etc .. and I’m not unaware that capital city’s have very visible problems with homelessness as I’ve lived in London ... but it’s very visible near this hotel .. our room looked out the back of the hotel and there were regular homeless guys in a car park area with their mattresses so the view from the window wasn’t great ... I am aware all of these things are not directly related to the hotel , (perhaps they could have some influence on it though) ... but they are very much part of a customers stay experience and they are visible so i think it’s still important to add to the review.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorHTL, Réception at Taylor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear AKS1,

We are glad that you share your experience that you had in our hotel.

We are sorry, for what happened to you with the taxi, e always do everything so that our customers do not meet this kind of worries.

We thank you for your compliments on our hotle. Indeedn, our Classic Rooms are not equipped for Air Conditioning (this is planned from September), however we do our best to make your room cooler.

Aftter concerning, the homeless who sleep in our street, unfortunately, we can do nothing , this is the responsibility of the Marie of Paris , just like cleaning the street. n order to prevent this from happening again we will contact the Mairie of Paris so that they come more regularly to wash the pavements.

However, we understand this problem very well, and we will do everything to improve this concern without of course affecting the welfore of the homeless.

Despite these little worries, we hope to see you in our hotel during your next trip to French Capital.

Best regards of Paris,

The Team Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Lift was like an oven, very tiny!!

The outside area had homeless, who were no issues when we returned from a day or night out so not the fault of the hotel, but an immediate environmental issue and the amount of, mostly men, that thought it was ok to urinate outside the hotel at any given time made the smell unbearable.

Paris was not for me, but thw Hotel did its best for the guests and I think Paris has an ongoung issue with urinating and I am sure human faeces was evident in nearby streets. I won't be returning soon

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorHTL, Réception at Taylor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Dear Jim E,

We thank you for sharing your experiences

We understand the external environment is a problem for you and our other customers.

Unfortunately, we do not have control over the homeless and the cleanliness of the pavements, these are the responsibility of the Mayor of Paris. We understand perfectly that the surroundings of our hotel leave you a little perplexed about security, but we do our best to satisfy you and make your stay with us pleasant.

We are sorry for these small inconveniences. We do our utmost within our Hotel so that our customers spend a memorable stay, but indeed the presence of these homeless could be to the detriment of the reputation of our hotel, however they are harmless and never bother our customers night and day.



Best regards of Paris,

The Team Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Without going into boring details, this was the worst ever experience at a hotel. The rooms are old, tired and without AC. They ran out of fans so some rooms didn’t even have them. The staff were very rude and often would respond with “I don’t know, I just work here”. Every request was too much trouble for them. The laundry cane back smelly and creased and breakfast was average.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Gaunty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorHTL, Réception at Taylor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Dear Gaunty81,

We are sorry to learn that your stay in our establishement did not satisfy you.
Nevertheless, the room you describe is the one of the booking platforms, and in each of this platform, you have the descritpion of the rooms and what you will find inside.

Know that we have other room category with Air Conditioning.

Concerning, the harshnessof one your dates members, could you gives us your dates of stay so that we can see who to work on these dates and thus make a point with them.

We understand your dissatisfactions however, we do our best to satisfy your stay with us.

However, about breakfast it is rare that customers complaint because all our products are natural, fresh and homemade.

For information, we will renovate the "old" part (the real name is Classic), from September by equipping it with Air Conditioning.

Best regards of Paris,

The Team Taylor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews