We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Bresil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Bresil
Ranked #1,169 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

I was very disappointed with this hotel. It smelled bad, the blanket on the bed had cigarette burns, and the shower curtain was missing rings, which made it hang awkwardly and flap into the shower. Hot water was inconsistent, the shower was VERY small. We arrived well after our scheduled check-in time, and waited over an hour for our room to be ready. The toiletries provided were a hodge-podge from other hotels. It was not very clean. The location was good, but that's about it. If you're looking for a hotel that will make sure you spend all your time wandering around Paris, this is it. But not in a good way.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilesmile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    106
    67
    27
    13
See reviews for
37
86
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

The hotel rooms are very tiny and a bit smelly. Shower and toilet seemed to be designed only for the children (size of the shower cabin). Though the location is rather good (few steps to the Luxembourgh Gardens and close to Notre Dame de Paris). Next time will not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Reserved a room for five days in advance and upon arrival, my room wasn't available. They couldn't find my reservation on the computer even though I had my confirmation printed out. After waiting 45 minutes, somehow they managed to get a room. I still don't understand what happened. Room was ridiculously small - I could hardly move around and open my suitcase completely. Under NO circumstances are visitors allowed. All in all, the only good thing about this hotel is its great location and free wifi...otherwise, I wouldn't waste your time here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAmiller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

The pictures on the website were nothing like the actual room. Our room was very small and the bathroom was tiny and not at all like the pictures on the web site. The hotel was old and a little smelly. Although the location was good and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BoreHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

Amazing location. Bus and Metro/RER accross the street, you can walk to Notre Dame. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very small, when I showered, my elbows would hit the wall, need to bend under sink to sit on toilette. Only skinny person could stay there but I loved the experience, it wouldn't have been Paris without it. Very clean, rooms were cleaned in the afternoon in case you want to sleep in. Inernet cafe down the same street.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small washroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

This hotel welcomes you warmly. It is a little and little bit old-fashioned hotel, but very nice for a stay in Paris. Small rooms, but sound proof is quite good. Nice breakfast for 6 euros.
Situtation is excellent.

I really recommend this hotel for that price.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Great North
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2006

This hotel was very basic. Our room had a bed, tv and a bathroom. While the room was clean, whatever they used to do the cleaning left a very strong unappealing smell in the bathroom. The location was good, located near the Latin Quarter, and was two minutes away from the RER (subway). The staff were knowledgable. The price was decent, 74 Euros a night, which wasn't bad for the area. If you need to go budget, then this place isn't bad. Personally, I would pay the extra money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euchrechamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#726 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,491 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#892 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,071 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,422 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#576 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bresil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bresil

Property: Hotel du Bresil
Address: 10 rue le Goff, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,169 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Bresil 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel du Bresil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bresil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing