We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices too stratospheric”

Du Pain et des Idees
Ranked #12 of 362 Bakeries in Paris
Neighbourhood: 10th Arr. - Entrepot
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: 10th Arr. - Entrepot
Reviewed February 16, 2021

They advertise as "traditional methods of baking". It's quite a bakery. And you wonder, why no locald go in? Ah! Huh ! Haa! This bakery is here to fleece tourists. Do not go in. Items are not that tasty. Prices too stratospheric.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank anzied2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 912 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2021

I love everything about this place! The fresh bread, the petit pains with unique fillings, the pain des amis (their specialty), the traditional methods of baking. It's quite awesome, and you will indeed need to wait outside sometimes to get in. I tried their gallete de roi in January too, my favorite all month!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kkbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2020 via mobile

The place is small so you got to queue outside but it’s a bundle of joy as you enter and see an array of freshly baked goods.

Worth a try if you’re in Paris

Date of visit: December 2019
3  Thank 949shaimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2020

Mrs dragged me here from across town due to the other reviews she had read about this place and their pistachio + chocolate escargot. As many has pointed out, it is at least double the price of elsewhere and the taste did not justify the price. It was average and definitely had better elsewhere.

Will not return.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tek_m_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2020

Interestingly, I researched this place because of a photo that I saw on a Parisian-themed calendar from Papyrus. It took us 3 hours to drive here from where we were staying in Paris but we had time before our departure flight back to the states. I loaded my suitcase with pastries and baguette to give to my neighbors upon my return. My favorite was the pain au chocolat but seriously folks, close your eyes and pick and you won't be disappointed. There was a long line mid-morning but it moves fast and the workers are all business so know what you want and have the money ready!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CDR1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Du Pain et des Idees also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Du Pain et des Idees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.