We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Aloha is superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloha Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aloha Hostel
Ranked #107 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aloha is superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The staff are very friendly many of whom are from South America. Go to the end of the street every hour on the hour and you will see the top of the eiffel tower light up like a Xmas tree. Swim in the pool down the street and go the Pasteur museum... Great place to cook and keep your Paris expenses to a minimum. Label your food with name and date. My experience in Paris was an excellent one thanks to feeling so at home at Aloha for 4 weeks. Yes I liked it so much I stay there for 4 weeks. Happy New Year to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    61
    82
    69
    96
See reviews for
12
21
86
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed one night in a dorm (4)

Pros:
-Cool vibe
-Book exchange
-Wifi in lobby
-Free breakfast is decent but limited
-Kitchen/Fridge available
-Close to subway
-WALKING DIST. TO EIFFEL TOWER!

Cons:
-Tiny room

Beware the party crowd this place attracts, I woke up in the night to pee and all the bathrooms were filled with drunk idiots puking. If you like party crowds though this hostel if full of young backpackers so friends are easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StandingReservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Pros:

- Internet terminals
- Serves breakfast and has a small kitchen
- quirky looking inside
- film nights
- You can leave your things here during the day

Cons:

- Address listed incorrectly on their confirmation email so we were lost in Paris upon arrival from the UK for ages!
- They have a curfew so you can't go on a good night out

Unforgivable:

- They kicked out some spanish girls at 3am and accused them of not paying which caused a massive drama. There was crying and the receptionist (different to the usual gentleman) was SO aggressive and rude. He wasn't even shouting at me and brought tears to my eyes... he was literally screaming at these girls as they double booked the room and they couldn't find their receipt so he chucked out their things whilst they were out. It was horrible... the whole hostel was trying to calm this screaming man and if i was a parent I would never allow my kids to stay here. For this reason, I will never stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The staff sucks, you can't be in your room in the afternoon. The worst thing is I got bitten by bed bugs, so this hostel just ruined my trip :(

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephskars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Dirty, bed bugs, unfriendly staff. No credit cards, no bar, wifi sucked. Kitchen ok. Location good. Easy to meet people.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shipshape25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Went there in Sept 2011, and here is how they start with the shady-ness. We reserved a 4 person room for three nights and had one night where we had to move to a 10 person room. When we arrived, we had the reverse, one night in a 4 person room and the rest in a 10 person room. When we asked why we weren't in the 4 person room as the booking site confirmed, they said that there was availability for each person to be in a 4 person room, but since we booked as a trio, there isn't actually a 4 person room that we can all stay in and instead they'll put you in a 10 person room so you all get to stay together. That is NOT what the booking site said, nor is this how other hostels manage their bookings! Also, when you pay you'll get a receipt that's VERY specific about no refunds, so if you stay there, check out what the room looks like before paying so you have a choice! The people at reception were hit and miss, some a little rude and some very nice.

They also have an 11-4 lockout of the rooms, so you're paying for a room that you're not even allowed into for half the day. Usually you'd be out exploring the city anyway, but on a rainy day it sucked and the lobby area is super busy. They have free wifi, but many times they are maxed out on the amount of users, and it is slow! The bathroom and showers are NOT in the room and are all shared, and get quite dirty and disgusting in the morning. Tip: take a shower after the lockout's done and right after it's cleaned!

All in all, the hostel kind of ruined Paris for us a bit; it definitely put a damper on our experience of the city! Also, they advertise that they are close to the Eiffel Tower.. it's not too far but it's still about a 20-25 minute walk (dont believe 10-15 minutes, even the reception said around 20-25 minutes although it's advertised as 10-15!). You're close to the metro which is really convenient to use, but you're not close to much else. I'd recommend staying somewhere along the Latin Quarter or Montmartre where you'll actually be in a hub of things!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank team_lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hostel was a disaster. I was in Paris for a girl’s weekend and we thought that it would be fund to stay together in a 6 bed dorm. We chose this hostel because of the price and the reasonably central location. When we arrived we noticed a peppery smell in our room and one of the girls found a few bugs on her bed which she killed. In the morning she had dozens of bites and we realised that they were bed bugs and that the peppery smell was probably associated with a treatment to kill them.

When we complained about the bed bugs and asked for our money back, we were told by the very unhelpful staff that the hostel had a policy of no monetary returns. After a long ‘discussion’ around this and several calls to the manager, we were told that they could move us to another hostel but into rooms with no running water (i.e. toilet and shower). We were forced to take this option which seemed preferable to bed bugs.
The even more concerning point was that the staff were not surprised by our experience with bed bugs and so we believe that this is a reoccurring problem that patrons should be warned about prior to booking this hostel!

As other people mentioned the hostel rooms are closed between 11 and 5pm for cleaning, although the hostel didn't see that clean to us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
3 Ducks Hostel
#18 of 150 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Arty Paris
#9 of 150 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Woodstock Hostel
Woodstock Hostel
#51 of 150 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#13 of 150 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#30 of 150 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#33 of 150 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Hostel

Property: Aloha Hostel
Address: 1 rue Borromee | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aloha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing