We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best and not the worst at this price”
Review of Hotel La Sanguine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Sanguine
Ranked #78 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the best and not the worst at this price”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Good: Very clean room and bathroom. Excellent bed (on the firm side; not saggy, clean fresh linens). Very nice couple running the place; the lady of the establishment was adorable, but knew very little English. Cute dog running around. Fantastic location; so convenient, so close to everything, very close to major Metro stop (Madeleine). Free WiFi.

Not so good: Even though it's only March, it was hot in Paris. The hotel faces the street, that though rather small, has a stunning amount of traffic and noise, especially at 5:30 AM when they come to empty the trash. The first night, the clerk said the A/C "wasn't available" so early in the season, the second evening the older gentleman gave me batteries for the remote control. So we slept with the A/C on and the windows closed. Still noisy though! I slept with earplugs every night. Tiny tiny rooms, tiny bathrooms, only one tiny bar of soap provided. WiFi quality was terrible.

Summary: We paid 140 Euros plus 10 Euros for breakfast. For that price I think we could still do better, but am not positive, considering the ideal location and the cleanliness of the place. WIll keep searching for the ideal Paris hotel under 150 Euros.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerzliyaWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    95
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
85
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The location and price cannot be beat at this hotel! You are literally walking distance to everything and several metro stops, the roissybus at the opera that takes you directly to/from the airport for 10 euros.
The owners are incredibly warm and friendly. Fresh baked pastries each morning makes it feel like you are staying in someone house rather than a hotel. Not to mention jams that are made from the owners orchard. The jams are delicious and I looked forward to them every morning.
The rooms are small (by large American standards), but this is Paris- so all room are small. But in every way this hotel is the ideal place to stay. I spent 5 nights there and after the first night I felt very at home.

There is also a friendly little dog named Tokio- who will make sure you eat all your food. Even though the hotel is in the heart of paris (1 minute walk to the Madeline, 5 minute walk to the Concorde, 10 minutes to the opera, Les Halles) the street becomes totally silent at night.

Room Tip: Internet was not working in my room, but there is free wireless. I ended up in the lobby using the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebking22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a great little hotel with delightful friendly staff and a fantastic location in the centre of Paris. Reasonably priced for Paris too. Ten minutes walk from the Roissybus stop at Opera, five minutes to the Madeleine metro station which goes everywhere and within easy walking distance of the big shops, Louvre, Musee D'Orsay and good restaurants. Despite its central location the street was quiet and we slept well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I visited Paris recently for the visa application and stayed at the Hotel La Sanguine. It was chosen due to its convenient location, cost, and the reviews avaiable here.

The staff are indeed very friendly and helpful, as indicated by some of the previous reviews. The room was typically compact (for a single visitor) but very comfort and clean. The area was pretty safe as evidenced by the policemen on duty for various consulates around.

Just a side note, there is a post office (La Poste) just around the corner and the staff there are familiar with the topics for the visa fee and envelope - this is a great help for some one like me who do not speak French.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

At first quite a small room and a lot of stairs to the 4th floor, however the most amazingly friendly staff and fantastic service. Very helpful and knowledgable. Fantastic location right in the centre of Madeline. Close to the Louvre, Obelisk and the river Seine. Wonderful restaurants close by and easy walk to supermarkets, shops and a short walk to most attractions. Would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. I LOVED IT!!

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, request a room on the first or second floor. Lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Our first trip to Paris enhanced by the family atmosphere at the Sanguine. This is the most ideal location in all of Paris. Nearby restaurants of all degree of stars,ideal shopping variety,safe walking neigborhood, and hotel staff that instantly becomes family. Only steps to the first Lauduree! Think of a true Paris experience when staying here because space is minimal, but the convenience more than makes up foir the lack of extra square feet. Great start to each morn with the tasty and elegant breakfast spread. Excellent tips on sightseeing from the staff. No finer concierge in Paris than Nicole! Zagat dining within walking distance like Sederens, Tante Louise, and the always busy soup, salad and sandwich place directly across the little street. Easy access to Diet Coke for those of us who value it. Staff replenishes your fridge daily with it at reasonable price. This place satisfies the traveler and does leave money for those treasures you must bring back home.

Room Tip: a couple would love the room behind the welcome desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kygogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My sister and I stayed at La Sanguine for 3 nights as it was recommended by a friend. Without having been to Paris before we were worried about staying in a safe area. I would highly recommend it's location. It was a very safe area and was within walking distance to all of the main tourist attractions. The shops in the area are fantastic, and we enjoyed dining at a lot of the restuarants that were nearby. The people who run the hotel were fantastic and were very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but it had everything we needed and was always very clean! I will definitely be staying there when I go back to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#107 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#191 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Buddha-Bar Hotel Paris
Buddha-Bar Hotel Paris
#101 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#242 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#137 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Alison Madeleine St. Honore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Sanguine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Sanguine

Property: Hotel La Sanguine
Address: 6 Rue de Surene | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#71 Business Hotel in Paris
#94 Family Hotel in Paris
#135 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Sanguine 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Sanguine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sanguine Hotel
La Sanguine Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing