We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good value”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #907 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good value”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Monte Carlo with my sister. We had a twin room and as others have said, the room was quite small, but I know to expect this in Paris. The location of the hotel is excellent -- very close to multiple metro lines and within walking distance of lots of sights including the Louvre and the Sacré-Cœur Basilica.

Our room had comfortable furnishings and pleasant decor but would have been improved with better lighting, especially in the bathroom. The bathroom would also be improved by simply adding hooks or something similar to hang a towel or robe. You could also hear everything in the hallway and on the street, but my sister and I didn't mind too much.

The hotel staff was fine but definitely could have been more friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. For example, when I asked where the nearest FNAC was since I wanted to avoid lines and buy tickets to the Louvre there (which I had done only a few months ago when I was last in Paris), they told me I could only purchase tickets for the Museum Pass at FNAC and that the line at the Louvre would only be 20 min long. They were wrong on both accounts -- tickets to the Louvre can be purchased at FNAC (http://www.louvre.fr/en/online-tickets) and the line was far longer than 20 min!!

Also, we were disappointed not to see the hotel cats that other reviewers have commented on!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelMonteCarloParis, Owner at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is very impotant for us. We are very grateful you value so positively your stay at our hotel. We regret this misunderstanding with the Louvre ticket. In fact, to go to FNAC, to make the line there to buy a ticket, after to go to the Museum of Louvre may take much more time than to go directly to the Louvre. Thank you again for your feedback- this will help us in our work! Welcome back to Hotel Monte Carlo!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    287
    104
    23
    18
See reviews for
69
286
114
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Hotel Monte Carlo in February. We were attracted by the central location and the quirky decor. We were very pleased with this hotel.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Upon checking in, the front desk clerk gave us a great orientation on the amenities available at the hotel and in the surrounding area as well as the easiest way to get to all the attractions.

The surrounding area is very interesting with many stores, restaurants and especially the shops in the nearby Passage Jouffroy. The Metro is just around the corner, but we spent a lot of our time walking. Besides being a short walk from Opera Garnier and Galeries Lafayette, there are many neighbourhoods nearby to stroll through. And the Louvre is just a 30 minute walk away.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had a room facing the courtyard and it was very quiet. There is breakfast for an extra charge but we opted instead to visit one of the several places nearby to get a bite in the morning. The hotel room itself was small but not cramped. The shower didn't have a door or curtain and I never did figure out how to not flood the bathroom while showering. But my wife managed to figure it out so I know it's possible.

The Hotel Monte Carlo offers a friendly and comfortable place to stay in a convenient area in one of the greatest cities in the world for a very reasonable price. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelMonteCarloParis, Owner at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guests,
It is a pleasure to know that your enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It encourages us to continue working with passion and to make our guests feel at home. Thank you for your review! We would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Found this to be a grand little hotel. Very near the metro and only a 10 minute walk from Opera where we got the bus back to the airport. Check in was very easy, we were upgraded to a courtyard room when they found out our trip was my birthday treat. We were given a map of Paris with the hotel marked and the route to the major attractions. Our room was on the 3rd floor but there is a lift so no problem there. The room was quite small and the bathroom tiny but no worse than other hotels we have stayed in in France. It was very clean and the bed was comfy. The shower was fine with plenty of hot water. Soap and shampoo were provided as was a hairdryer and safe. There are loads of restaurants nearby, the hotel does provided breakfast, at an extra cost, but we didn't try that so can't comment on that. There is someone on duty at reception 24 hours so there is no problem if you are late getting back. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would stay again with no problem.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter but view not up to much
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were looking for a fairly priced hotel for our stay in Paris. We wanted to stay in the Montmartre area for our 4 night visit, and we stumbled upon Hotel Monte Carlo. The rooms are small but that shouldn't come as a surprise for visiting Paris. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Le Peletier Metro (2 minute walk). All in all the stay was very good. The staff was polite and helpful and the hotel is clean. They do offer breakfast at an added cost, which we did not try. The free wifi though came in very handy, and they can give you an access code for every person. The bathroom was very small and it is nearly impossible to have two people in that area at the same time. One thing two keep in mind, because of the room's size, if you are travelling with a big suitcase it may be a slight problem. We had two small suitcases so there was not a problem with the space, but had we had one or even two full size suitcases, then only one could be laying down open at any given time. But like I said, if you want a convenient location, a clean hotel, and you don't want to spend too much money then Hotel Monte Carlo will do you just fine! After all, how much time do you want to spend in your room when you are in Paris? :o)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristosK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked in for 2 nights.
Arrived very late by metro and the hotel was across the road.
Very busy so felt safe with plenty on your doorstep-bars,restaurants,takeaways,convenience store.
The hotel front door is locked at night and the receptionist is on duty 24hours so one has to ring the doorbell to be let in.
My single room had a shower but no ensuite toilet hence had to use communal toilet which was a little disappointing.
Free wifi but my code wouldn't connect to wifi so had to go to nearby restaurants to use wifi.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelMonteCarloParis, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. We are glad to hear that you enjoied your stay, location and the hotel staff.
Concerning your remark about the room, we would like to pricise that the room category you booked was a single room with common use shower and toilette. On your arrival the room type was upgrated for free for a single room with private shower (common use toilette). We regret that this room type did not correspond to your requirements and you did not let us know during your stay. For the supplemental payment the hotel would provide a superior category - a room with ensuite private bathroom. To avoid a misunderstanding, please, inform us first to make your stay most enjoyable. We would take pleasure in welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I came across this budget friendly hotel in Paris, one of the most expensive place in Europe. I stayed here for two nights and here are the pros and cons of the hotel:

Pros:
1. Centrally located near Le Peletier metro station, about 10 min walk to Opera and shopping area on Rue Lafayette. Metro is literally 3 min walk from the hotel.
2. Budget friendly, this place is inexpensive, just book it from hotel's web site for deals.
3. Many places to eat and drink around, food choices from all over the world.
4. Room is very clean and spacious bathroom in European standards.'
5. Thomas at the front desk is very helpful for sightseeing tips and directions
6. Small hotel but charming with the unique decoration, simple and humble accommodation.
7. Hotel surrounding area is average, Banks with ATM near by.
8. Free wi-fi for all of your devices, excellent reception even on third floor.


Cons:

1. The room is very small (and that is expected) and the twin bed is even smaller, probably the smallest one that I have even encountered traveling all over the world. So, if you can avoid getting the twin room.
2. The walls are super thin, so you hear everything, I mean everything and something are not meant to be heard in the middle of the night.
3. Skip the hotel breakfast, you can do much better for almost 9 Euro somewhere else.
4. Not sure why there is no shower curtain in the shower area (tiled shower), but the water is all over the floor and toilet seat.
5. There is no air con in the hotel, only fan and a small openable window.

Verdict:

If you are staying for a few nights (like myself), its adequate and inexpensive and friendly service. Its centrally located near a lot of different sight seeing spots and access to Roissy Bus at Opera to CDG airport. I would stay here again next time in Paris as it is a bargain for the budget traveler like myself.

Room Tip: Skip the twin bed as it is a size of a sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 day stay at the hotel. it was clean and centrally located. the best was the service - Thomas was superb and helped to make our stay in Paris a memorable one. He was friendly and helped us find our way around and took care of all our needs. Merci Thomas.

Room Tip: Shanghai room overlooks the garden. Any room away from the street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#526 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#820 of 1,800 in Paris
126 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,052 of 1,800 in Paris
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#665 of 1,800 in Paris
504 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#387 of 1,800 in Paris
273 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Grands Boulevards Opera 9eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #907 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing