We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Time for Upgrade” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Malown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Malown
Ranked #1,315 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Cape Town South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time for Upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have been going to this hotel annualy for the last 6 years, as it is very well situated. Close to all the big shops and close walking distance to all the main Paris attractions. The hotel has changed owners, so they plan to close at the end of October and upgrade to a 3 star, so the prices will be upgraded as well. It is well overdue for an overhaul. The one day we returned to our room to find that the room had not been cleaned. When you pay those prices you expect a min: of service.Lets see what the renovations will be like?

Room Tip: take a street facing room as the rooms facing the courtyard can be a bit noisy with the local reside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    56
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
14
42
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Chose this hotel because of its closeness to St.Lazare train station from which we had to depart the following day (a 5 min. walk). The location is also good in terms of sightseeing: you can easily and pleasantly walk to lots of places of interest and the big shops (Le Printemps and Galerie Lafayette) are just around the corner. However, it is perhaps good to keep in mind that the area around Madeleine is not very cheap. If you want to have an inexpensive lunch in a typical Parisian cafe, it is better to go somewhere else.
Our general impression of the hotel was positive, but I do not think I would like to spend more than a couple of nights there. The staff was quite polite. The room (the bed linen, the sink, etc.) was the usual size for Parisian hotels of this category and clean enough, but, if you looked a bit more closely, you could see that some less obvious areas were forgotten and dusty. The carpet is worn and needs to be replaced. The was a (rather noisy) fan in the room. Half of the TV channels that they claim to have (a list of them is provided in the room) is unavailable. On the whole, I would say: good enough for a night or two if you do not intent to spend a lot of time inside. If you want a more enjoyable place, look elswhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soleilrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here for a week while on a business trip. The room was very small - I was on the 4th floor. The bathroom was TINY. I could barely shower...water got everywhere by the time I was done trying to maneuver a hair wash. My room had a funky smell to it but considering I was never in it I didn't really care - left the window open and fan going all the time. Internet is NOT free but rather expensive, as it is everywhere in Paris. Breakfast was fine. Location was SUPERB. The restaurant/bar next door was always bustling, great shopping, and next to several subway stops which made it easy to get around. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choi3js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

The Hotel Madeleine Opera has a perfect location with a few Metro and one RER station nearby. It is within walking distance to the Opera, Lafayette and Place de la Madeleine.

The front desk staff were all very helpful and polite and there was someone there 24/7 in case you need something. You leave the key as you exit the hotel which for me was very convenient as you don’t have to worry about it.

The elevator is extremely small (2 people+1 suitcase maximum) but that was not an issue for us. The building is old and the common hallways could use a renovation (especially the carpets) but the room looked beautiful!

We stayed at a double room for €84 per night without breakfast. The room was spacious for Paris standards with a comfy bed, pillows, blanket, clean, crispy sheets and a flat screen tv. I’ve never been to a Paris hotel so clean and taken care of. There was a closet and the window had a lovely view of the Parisian street. Ask for room 45 on the fourth floor.

The bathroom was fully renovated with new tiles etc and was spotless. Only minor issue was the shower curtain which was too big for the shower and although it kept water from coming out, it was limiting the already limited space in the shower.

Room and bathroom were cleaned to perfection daily.

We didn’t try the breakfast as there are lots of options around (Paul’s by the corner etc).
Overall we will definitely prefer this hotel from now on for our Paris trips as it combines excellent location, very clean rooms, nice street view and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Great location, and Jean-Paul on the front desk was a truly superb host, juggling multiple tasks with a smile and treating us (four very tired English-speakers staying only one night) as helpfully and kindly as if we had been paying for a month.

We had booked the ‘apartment' which turned out to be on interesting configuration consisting of a self-contained suite of two connected bedrooms, one with two beds, a large double in the other, with desk, table and chairs. The persons sleeping in the two-bed room had to pass through the other bedroom to reach the small common areas: a toilet room, a closet with /room safe and a lovely modern bathing room with the luxurious bath tub /shower and vanity/sink. This was connectivity was fine for our family group, as privacy wasn’t a big expectation.

Check-in and out were efficient, Jean-Paul gave us great advice and made phone calls to book us reservations and obtain information. The elevator was indeed barely able to hold one person with a suitcase, and the classic older building did show some signs of long use, but the vital parts were in good shape and facilities worked fine and seemed clean.

I thought the price/location combination was truly good value and I would certainly return as long as the attitude of helpfulness remains unchanged. I will mention that we initially picked the location because it was near the train station to Normandy/ D-Day beaches. It was a wonderful surprise that from this hotel the key sites of Paris were so accessible as well, by both foot and subway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluewaterfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel is centrally located on a quiet side street in the 8th. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very small, but en-suite. The room was basic, but quiet. At 92 euros / night per room this is very good value for Paris! The staff were friendly and helpful, allowing us to drop off luggage before check in and store for free after check out. There was a problem with the shower drainage and they got it fixed the same day we reported it.
We did not have breakfast from the hotel but there is a great bakery nearby on Rue de Castellane (the bakery close to Rue Tronchet). Several metro stations close by, and you are also walking distance to the Louvre.
Overall, it was a comfortable stay in the centre of Paris and this hotel is a great base to see this amazing city.

Tip for Eurostar travellers - Magenta station (which is connected to Gare du Nord) has a direct connection to Hausmann St Lazare station close to the hotel - one stop from Magenta!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Location is superb and everything worth seeing is close by. However the hotel is very run-down and rooms are small -as are hallways and the elevator is tiny. I could not fit into the elevator and I could also not fit into the shower (I'm an average sized man). There is a fan provided in the room but no A/C (consider this if you go in the summer).

If you do decide to stay at this hotel, don't miss the Italian restaurant 'Pompei' (?) further up the street -the food is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTheAmmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Cordelia
Hotel Cordelia
#617 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Queen Mary
Hotel Queen Mary
#590 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Mathurin
Hotel Le Mathurin
#666 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
0.1 km away
Hotel Concortel
Hotel Concortel
#472 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Malown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Malown

Property: Hotel Le Malown
Address: 12 rue Greffulhe | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Madeleine Opera)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,315 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Malown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Malown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing