We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Ranked #130 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Dear Alain, sorry I am so late in writing my review.
As you know this is the 5th time I have stayed here, and having stayed in many hotels in Paris over the past 20 years, would never consider going anywhere else. I too was sad to read one of the reviews from people who were actually staying in the hotel at the same time as me. Your establishment has been refurbished to a standard that is comfortable and yet retains the charm that is the essence of French hospitality. Granted, there are not enough plug sockets and the lighting is low....the same in any small hotel over the world. Breakfast is limited but adequate considering the size of the kitchen. One can always chose Novotel ?????.
I stayed in a twin room with my sister a few years ago and we had a good laugh about the size of
the shower room. Both being tall, we had to sit side ways on the loo.....quite scary looking at oneself in the mirror !!!!
Your room staff are efficient, quiet and polite. Your reception team are exemplary.
My favourite room is 26. It is a double room with bath and shower. A bit small for a couple if they have too much luggage. Room 45 is more spacious.
The hotel is decorated beautifully with the continuing theme of belle époque.
I love it here.
Regards, julia johns
.x.

Room Tip: Room 45 is a spacious double if you prefer a bath although there is a shower attachment but no curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadbiketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desarts, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Arts - Montmartre, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Madame,
Thank you so much for your review and thank you for visiting us for the 5th time!!
I remember you very well and It is always a pleasure to have you here.
I am very glad you had another great stay in Hôtel des Arts.
I guess you had a safe journey back home and I hope to see you again very soon in the Montmartre Village.
Kind regards from sunny Paris today.
A.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    909
    138
    36
    68
See reviews for
279
1,458
196
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I took my wife on a surprise trip to Paris for our wedding anniversary and booked Hotel Des Arts due to the positive reviews on trip advisor and because the cafe from Amelie is just around the corner which is her favourite film. I had never been to Paris before and on arrival I was really pleased with both the location and the hotel itself. Our room was cosy and well heated (we stayed a week before Christmas) and the sun came in through the window in the morning. The staff were all polite and friendly. Monmarte has a lovely atmosphere and we found it easy to navigate our way around the main tourist sites using the Metro from there. If you don't mind walking uphill you can get to the Sacre Couer in about 15 minutes. You can find lots of nice cafes and restaurants nearby to eat and drink in so I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Spent ages trying to find a good hotel on the internet, and trusted the reviews on here and so glad we did! A great little gem, had a room that was quiet at back of hotel. The room was well decorated, and not a bad size for a city hotel. Found most of the receptionists friendly. Takes about 20 mins walk from main station, and v handy for the metro as just down the road. Found a great hotel Le Restaurant and would recommend it. Would we return to hotel and Paris - YES!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhafhjpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We chose the Hotel des Arts on the basis of the many favourable reviews and weren't disappointed. Communication with the hotel prior to our stay was very efficient and our request for a quiet room had obviously been noted, as our room (no, 45) was at the back of the hotel on the fourth floor. The sun was streaming in when we arrived, and we had a reasonable view over rooftops. The double glazing blocks out just about all sound - there must be a school nearby, but we were only aware of children playing in the mornings when the window was open.

The room itself was clean and quite spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bed in one of the neighbouring rooms was squeaky and the sound of toilets flushing in the middle of the night was a bit annoying, but not the end of the world. The bathroom was also a decent size with a bath and shower attachment. There was plenty of hot water and a good array of toiletries was provided.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the food.

Montmartre is a perfect base for a stay in this wonderful city, and we would happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, and bring a travel kettle, tea/coffee, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was my wife's first trip to Paris (and my third), so it was very important for me to find her a comfortable, but really Parisian place to call 'home'. I wanted to find a spot in Montmartre, as I had not stayed there befor, and frankly was in love with the whole history of this part of Paris.
You have to note now that Montmartre is a real 'neighborhood', as there are schools, families, community, but... it is also very much a night life part of Paris.
IT WILL BE LOUD!!! at night, how ever, if you accept it, it is wonderful!
That being said, the Hotel was quiet, clean, and above attentive, if you needed it to be.
The room we stayed in was 'the Dali' #41, it was on the fourth floor, and overlooks the street below. bath-room with shower, closet with safe, nice little writing desk, and a large patio, to enjoy. The colors are warm and calming, and the bed is firm. (which I like).
There is a small elevator, to bring you up to your room, or a beautiful long spiral staircase (if you havnt been 'staired out' by your walks through Paris...land of a million stairs).
The Whole place is kept immaculate! So clean, very pretty! Coming home every night brought us a sense of great comfort, in fact there were a few day where we had come home early, and just stayed in the hotel for the rest of the night.
All of the staff we met, were friendly, and helpful. they all spoke perfect english, and humored our attempts to speak french.
The Hotel is centered nicely between the metro stations BLANCHE or ABBESSES (although we used Blanche almost always).
they do provide a airport shuttle (for a small fee), and are very good at providing info about the area, and city in general. Again the staff was really good!

If you are looking for a very romantic get away, its a great choice. In truth its just a really nice hotel, that is worth more than its rate. a fantastic value .

hope you enjoy it as much as my wife and I did
Rob

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RENurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Great hotel in a wonderful location. Staff and reception were very helpful and exceptionally kind. The hotel is in a great location with wonderful cafes. We opted to forgo eating in central Paris and would wait to eat closer to the hotel. Better food and better prices.
It is easy to find from the Abesses or Blanche station. I really would stay hear again. Rooms were very clean and hotel is nicely updated. It is a little trek out, but it was always nice to get away from the chaos of central Paris to a more homey feeling area. Great Stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillWork4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Good---This hotel is in a great location. We actually walked from the train station (Gare du Nare) to the hotel which I would only recommend if you can walk over 3 miles with a suitcase. You are also close to Montmartre which has a beautiful church called La Basilique du Sacre Coeur de Montmartre. Not only is the church beautiful but you can view the Eiffel Tower from the hill in front of the church. If you don't like climbing steep hills, this is not for you.

It is also very near to many shops and restaurants so you can easily walk to every meal which is good because their breakfast offering is very small (hard boiled eggs, cereal, and yogurt). The front desk staff is also very friendly and speaks English quite well.

The Bad--- the rooms are very very small. The bathrooms even smaller. If you have long legs or are over 6'4 you might not be able to sit down on the toilet because your knees will hit the wall. I`m 5'4 and hit my elbows a few times trying to dry my hair. Two people can not use the mirror at the same time.

Also, the maids REALLY want to clean your room. If you want to sleep in, don't stay here. They unlocked our door at 8am and started walking right in. No knock. Then it happened again about 30 minutes later. We were only staying for 2 nights so we put the do not disturb sign up which also means do not come in our room. However, after our morning explorations, we came back to find our room was cleaned. We really didn't like this because our towels were just fine and we had our things laid out the way we wanted it. They were moved during cleaning.

You can hear everything. We heard people talking in all of the surrounding rooms and even heard one couple having "relations" and they were not trying to be overly loud. The maids also start cleaning very early so you can hear the vaccum running. Our only window faced out into a small cove where other rooms could see into ours and the noise from the rooms above would travel down this "tunnel."

This hotel worked for us due to the location, we were only staying two nights, and we weren't in the room much but if you are staying longer and want room to relax and sleep in, don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maria3405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Francais
#106 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#34 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Scarlett
Hotel Scarlett
#12 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#49 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#7 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts - Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts - Montmartre

Property: Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Address: 5 rue Tholoze, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#96 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#105 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts - Montmartre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Arts - Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Hotel Des Arts Paris
Des Arts Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing