We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gerando”
Review of Hotel Gerando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gerando
Ranked #1,410 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Nice hotel, cozy, clean and with very kind staff! 2 m foot walking from metro station and very close to Sacre Coeur and Pigalle!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

My friend and I went to Paris for a weekend and were looking for a budget hotel. As always, didnt want to pay much, but still wanted to book a hotel of certain quality. We paid 85 Eur for a double for one night including breakfast, which is (as we found out) a good price for a hotel close to Montmartre. We also chose this one as we arrived late at night and wanted something close to Gare du Nord. Its about 10 minutes walk, which was excellent. The location seemed to be safe, there are also several supermarkets around and some cafés.
We were nicely suprised about the decorations in the reception and the breakfast room. We got a room in 6th floor, there is a lift so dont worry about the luggage. The room was tiny, as all the rooms in Paris, and very hot (it was 29 degrees during the day, so maybe thats why).
The view was superb. If you have a dogs sleep, dont forget ear plugs. Seriously.
The room is tiny, but ok if you are staying for a short time. You wouldnt like to spend much time in the hotel room anyway. The bathroom is quite big, ok the tiles are somewhere black on the side, but its not as bad. The shower curtain could be newer, but thats another pointless complain. The wallpaper somewhere in the corners unstucked, the could actually make it neat, but who cares really. What was a bit wrong were the sheats that looked dirty and had some stains on. I guess the hotel should really work on this in the first place.
The staff were all nice, especially the guys, but not very professional (eating on the reception, wearing jeans...) and have to mention, I had written 2 emails to them before I came and I never had any response :-(
The breakfast was very poor, think a white baguette and a croissant, 1 piece of margarine and 1 piece of jam, coffee or tea or hot chocolate. But if you ask for more (pastry, jam...) they will supply you. Be sure you come to breakfast latest at 9 am.
The hotel is close to Montmartre, about 10 minutes from both Sacre Coeur and Mouline Rouge.
But its further from the centre and you may want to travel back to the hotel on metro. The closest metro stop is called Anvers.
The hotel sais on the website that they have a baggage room. They dont, you have to leave your luggage in the breakfast room, but they claim its safe.
I would recommend to stay in this hotel if you are on a budget but still want a certain quality of your accomodation.

Room Tip: we had a room at the top floor and thought if was convenient, also the view was much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouzelna_Rybicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Gerando.

It was in a very convenient location. It was 5 minutes from a metro station which made it easy to get around town, to Versailles and to the airport. It was a short walk from Montmatre with many bars and restaurants.

The room was small with a comfortable bed. It was old but who reallly cares about that when you are in Paris. There were a lot of stairs which helps with working off all the pastry treats however if you are able to resist indulging in all the culinary delights of Paris then you are able to take the lift.

The breakfast is basic but there are plenty of other treats to sample for breakfast in Paris so we gave it a miss for 2 of our 3 days there.

Staff were always available to help.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ktm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Pros: Convenient location and a balcony in the room.

Cleanliness:
Greeted by a bug on the bed upon arrival was not quite an auspicious start. Saw one more tadpole like bug crawling on the bathroom floor on the second day. Comparing to the bugs, the stale carpet with irregular dark patches all over and the urine smelling hallway (5th floor) did not seem so bad!

Location:
2 minutes walk from Basilique Sacré-Coeur. 45 minutes from CDG by RER and train (Anvers stop). However, it was hard to find. We asked four locals and only one knew where the street is. Very noisy with people screaming at midnight from the restaurants and bars nearby. Single women be prepared of lots of head-to-toe stares and catcalls. Stay away from the overpriced souvenirs shops. Items such as postcards here were double the price of those at the Eiffel Tower souvenirs shop.

Security:
No safe nor "do not disturb" sign. Cleaning lady (which is also the one who serves breakfast) came in around 10 am during our sleep to collect towels for laundering. We were told she would come back with them fresh at noon. You would have to air dry yourself on the balcony if you want to take a shower between 10 am to noon.

WiFi:
Free but only works at the lobby, unlike otherwise advertised as full functioned in the rooms.

Breakfast:
Serves between 7-9 am. One bread roll and one croissant with jam and butter. One orange juice and one coffee.

Vaiue:
I understand "you get what you pay for" but it was not worth the discomfort. The least any budget hotel or hostel can offer is a clean room but Hotel Gerando failed terribly.

We only stayed one night but even that seemed too long. We definitely would have found another hotel if we had to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petitmacaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The lift opens and stops half way up each flight of stairs, and is very small. There was no baby cot or high chair available, and the rooms were very small, with no air con, and thin walls. It just about served its purpose as an overnight option near the train station, but other than location didn't have anything to recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank nimbledolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel is located just a short walk from the main train station.

Our main bedroom was fine however bathroom quite dirty, for example, the shower curtain. Water leaked easily from the shower.

Steep stairs may also be an issue for some guests.

Breakfast was the most modest on offer throughout our trip: a warm drink, orange juice, croissant and bread roll.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callcrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four night book it through Hotel.com. The price is right. The location of the hotel is great. Close to transit. We took the train from the airport to Gare Du Nord (train station), 15 minutes walk to the hotel. The room we stayed in was very small and the bed was also very small. I am only 5' 7, my feet would go off the bed in the middle of the night. The room was old and not very clean. You can't expected to much for the price you pay. But again, the location is great. I will not stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Low price, great location, not very clean, shop around before decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davekfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel du Square d'Anvers
#1,530 of 1,803 in Paris
281 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,054 of 1,803 in Paris
392 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,556 of 1,803 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,380 of 1,803 in Paris
147 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,151 of 1,803 in Paris
283 reviews
Hotel Clarisse
#1,304 of 1,803 in Paris
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerando

Address: 11 rue Gerando | 009 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,410 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $87 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gerando 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gerando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerando Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing