We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Champ de Mars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #255 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here seven nights in April, 2012. Room was nicely decorated and very clean. Room contained a magnifying mirror attached to wall, hair dryer, shower gel, small safe, bathtub and shower, and use of hotel's laptop upon request. Were able to leave luggage in hotel prior to check-in. Great value at 115 euros for room. Rooms were quiet. Bed was comfortable. Closet has several shelves where you can put your clothes. Room is small but adequate. Many good restaurants nearby. It is about a 10 minute walk from Pont l'Alma and 5 minute walk from Ecole Militare. Pastry shop on the corner of Rue Cler and Champ de Mars is amazing. Grocery store close to hotel. Owners and staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14 over the small courtyard-very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    324
    66
    26
    26
See reviews for
137
539
71
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We enjoyed everything about our stay. Francoise & Stephane, and all of the staff were very helpful with getting us acquainted to the area. Our room was beautifully decorated, and squeaky clean. The location is wonderful, with the metro station just a short walk, several parks within walking distance, and many restaurants, cafes, flower shops, bakery, fruit stands, etc., all that you would need right there. It made us feel as though we lived in a neighborhood instead of a hotel. Did I mention how quiet it was to sleep and that the Eiffel Tower was also within walking distance. I have already recommended Hotel Du Champ De Mars to several friends.
Ken&Sylvia

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated with a flair -- check out their web site, and pick one that you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljwills
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I booked a one night stay at Hotel du Champ de Mars for the night of the 23rd April around a month in advance for my sister's birthday. We arrived at the hotel around 9am that morning knowing we were too early to check in but even so we were allowed to leave our bags and return to the hotel later to check in. We were also given the oppurtunity to freshen up in the toilet in the reception also, which was welcome after a 13 hour coach trip. We explored Paris via the Batobus (much better value than a metro ticket and a more interesting way to get around) which was around a 10 minute walk away to the Eiffel Tower stop. All the time we could see the Tower above the houses, which was amazing. We returned to check in around 3pm and the staff had already taken our bags up to our room (no34) which was unexpected and lovely. The room itself is not a Hilton size no, but it had everything we needed with a wardrobe, twin beds and a small flatscreen TV with French channels and CNN. The bathroom was newly renovated with a hairdryer. It was all very charming. We had breakfast in the hotel the next morning at around 9.30am - for 8 euros we both got a croissant, a baguette, fruit salad, natural yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and a hot drink of our choice. When abroad we tend to have breakfast out of the hotel but you will not find a better one than this, having had just a croissant and a drink at the place over the road the previous morning for nearly 6 euros. We then proceeded to check out, after having a little play with the hotel's dog (which you would not know existed unless you saw it), and, as we were not travelling again until 11pm that night, the hotel again allowed us to leave our luggage with them whilst we enjoyed a trip to Disneyland.

The staff are NOT rude. They are very welcoming. They are French, and thus appreciate being spoken to in French. All are fluent in English and will proceed to speak to you in English if you are not fluent in French - they do not expect this. Neither myself nor my sister are fluent but we greeted them with bonjours and bonsoirs, and used our s'il vous plaits and mercis. We experienced no problems with the staff whatsoever.

The hotel itself it around one block from Ecole Militaire metro station, which we used for a connection to the RER A line to Disneyland and also to return to the coach station. The Seine is a 10 minute walk away, where you will find the Batobus stop, and both the Eiffel Tower and Les Invalides are 5 minute walks away in opposite directions. It is situated just off Rue Cler, which is full with restaurants, greengrocers, mini markets and boulangeries.

All in all the hotel itself was lovely and right in the midst of things for a very good price. I would have no qualms about staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ljwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were looking for a simple place to stay for the weekend. Champ de Mars was a great value. Room was very quite, nice with good bathroom and shower. Had TV with CNN for those needing to stay in touch with the news.Bed was very comfortable and room was large enough for our suitcases and had a nice closet. Location is fantastic....lots of cafes and food stores in the area and just a short walk to the Eiffel Tower and the Ecole Militaire Metro stop. There really is not a staff other than the clerk at the desk but they have someone here 24/7 and they can recommend restaurants and help with transportation questions. We did not partake of their breakfast so can't comment. Will defiantly stay here again for the location, price and quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel du Champ de Mars during the first week of our honeymoon. We had largely chosen the place for its location, and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find a gorgeous but very compact little room that would be our home for 5 days. The bathroom was again tiny, but recently renovated and spotless.

I've read other reviews talking about the staff; our experience was absolutely fine. But then, I speak a little French and my wife (who doesn't) opened with bonjour and generally had really helpful responses. I suspect some of the other reviewers just don't get the French way. They're not rude, but neither are they sycophants. Francoise and Stephane both gave us good service (in person and during my mangled Franglais emails in advance) and the other staff were fine too, even at midnight on a Sunday when the night porter clearly didn't want to be there.

Overall, a brilliant location in the 7e, spotless but snug rooms and great value. We have already booked our next stay here in a few weeks' time. The Eiffel Tower is literally 5min walk, there are great little cafes right outside the door, and overall this is an excellent base for a Parisian stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I visited Paris with my daughter in April. We had the good fortune to stay at this lovely, delightful hotel which is walking distance from the Eiffel Tower. Our room was charming, clean, and comfortable. My 19 year old daughter thought this was the best hotel she had ever stayed in. it is located in a great part of Paris with restaurants, bakeries, cheese, and chocolate shops all within a few minutes walk. The room we stayed in was small, so be prepared for that. Our room was 4 and was decorated in mustard yellow and white colors with tasteful pictures on the walls. the owner, Francoise was very nice and helpful with directions, suggestions, and calling a cab when we needed to go back to the airport. The hotel is within a few block walk to the subway too which was very convenient as we bought a 2 day subway pass and found the subway system to be a great way to get around and explore Paris.

Helpful?
3 Thank paula313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for day at the end of a two week drive through France from Nice. The hotel is located in the Rue Cler area of Paris one of our favorite areas in Paris. The hotel was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. We had no problems with the hotel staff who spoke good english and were very accommodating and helpful. We have found that the key to getting good service in France is politeness and being respectful of their customs. We particularly like this hotel because of its location near the Tour Eiffel and Metro stations. The location is such that you can walk to almost all of the attractions in central Paris. If anyone is looking for a true Paris experience this hotel should be considered.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#124 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#57 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#166 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#770 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#108 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Property: Hotel du Champ de Mars
Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#182 Family Hotel in Paris
#360 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing