We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Ranked #301 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the heart of Paris”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a great hotel! The location can't be beat- near the Eiffel Tower and within walking distance of so many wonderful sights. It's located next to shops and restaurants, so you can grab cheese, bread, and wine all within a minute's walk. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They are on the smaller side as all rooms in Paris seem to be. Breakfast was a great value. Book in advance as Rick Steves' fans seems to keep them in business. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Court H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    335
    68
    27
    27
See reviews for
141
556
74
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We almost always end our trips to Europe with a stay in Paris and at the Hotel du Champ de Mars. The stay earlier this month was about our 6th time at this charming hotel. We will probably stay there again next year. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are clean and decorated quite nicely. We have found that most rooms in Europe are small. At least the hotels that are family owned. We do not want to stay in chain hotels. We leave those for travel in the U.S.

The staff has always been very helpful. The breakfast, which is an additional 8 euros, is very, very filling. If they run out of croissants or baguettes for breakfast one of the staff runs over to the local bakery and brings more back (always fresh). The location of this hotel is perfect, very close to the metro and it is on a pedestrian friendly street. There are wonderful shops, such as bakeries, cheese, crepes, produce, restaurents etc, etc. On our last day in Paris, we go around the corner to one of the two chocolate shops and spend all of our remaining euros on some wonderful Belgian chocolates to take home. Jeff Brugges is our favorite chocolate place and the price is much less than the one several doors away.

This hotel books up quite quickly so if you plan to stay here, call or e-mail as soon as possible. There is free wifi in the rooms, which is very helpful. If you need transportation to the airport, the staff is more than happy to make the call for you. We are looking forward to a stay there next April or May.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I absolutely enjoyed this hotel. Located on a pedestrian street Champ de Mars. So many bakeries, cafe's and restaurants within a 6 block radius. The staff at the front desk were the friendliest and most helpful people. The hotel is close to the Ecole Militaire Metro station which can take you anywhere in central Paris within 15 minutes. I walked from the hotel to the Arc de Triomphe in 30 minutes. Rooms were very well decorated ans small by North American standards but who spends all their time in the hotel room while on holidays? I would defiinitely stay at this hotel again while I am in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back as Rue Champ de Mars can get loud at night especially a Friday or Satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guintoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

You can believe all the good things you have read about Hotel du Champ de Mars. Gracious hoteliers Françoise and Stéphane (and stoic chien Cannelle) have created a winning combination with location, charm and value in the heart of the 7th arrondissement.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orion_TTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This delightful, quaint, sparkling clean, charming and intimate hotel will be remembered forever. It was a reflection of our hosts, Stephanie and Francoise who charmed us the entire time...to say nothing of their sweet and lovable dog. Breakfast is perfect there to start the day and to begin to understand French living.The neighborhood marketplace was available for shopping, experimenting, ambling and meals. The location was perfect for just about anything one wanted to do from a metro adventure to the Eiffel tower. We were welcomed comfortably despite being early and we were assisted in the kindest ways when our departure ride was late. Our gratitude for such an enjoyable experience was overflowing. I wouldn't dream of seeing Paris without staying here again. Thank you Stephanie & Francoise from DD and Jan April 13

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in a little room tucked away by itself. Convenient, quiet, well equipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

located right on the corner of Rue Cler in the 7th its the perfect location close to the river and stacks of affordable dining. Its also a very peaceful place recently refurbed great bathrooms small bedrooms bot aren't they all in Paris. We had a ground floor room with little courtyard. Breakfast was from any number of cafes within 50 mts. About 11e and cafe cortume. Was 5 minaway if you want great coffee.highly recommend this great little hotel

Room Tip: Ground floor with courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here seven nights in April, 2012. Room was nicely decorated and very clean. Room contained a magnifying mirror attached to wall, hair dryer, shower gel, small safe, bathtub and shower, and use of hotel's laptop upon request. Were able to leave luggage in hotel prior to check-in. Great value at 115 euros for room. Rooms were quiet. Bed was comfortable. Closet has several shelves where you can put your clothes. Room is small but adequate. Many good restaurants nearby. It is about a 10 minute walk from Pont l'Alma and 5 minute walk from Ecole Militare. Pastry shop on the corner of Rue Cler and Champ de Mars is amazing. Grocery store close to hotel. Owners and staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14 over the small courtyard-very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#59 of 1,801 in Paris
485 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#145 of 1,801 in Paris
986 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#161 of 1,801 in Paris
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
#148 of 1,801 in Paris
1,930 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#722 of 1,801 in Paris
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Champ de Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Champ de Mars

Property: Hotel du Champ de Mars
Address: 7 rue du Champ de Mars, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Family Hotel in Paris
#360 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Champ de Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Champ de Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Champ De Mars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing