We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little hidden gem!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
Ranked #509 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

First time visitors to Paris should be realistic about the standard of accommodation in this fantastic city. Do NOT expect standards like those in other European cities. It is an old city and this is reflected in the style of the buildings. Typical Parisien hotels are small and rooms accessed up narrow staircases. Often standards are far lower than we are used to and the room rates still high. With a 2 star hotel, expect to pay 3 star prices. I have had some awaful experiences with hotels in Paris and so i was a little worried about this booking as I had secured such a low rate! £50 per night for a double! I need not have worried! The Hotel Cite de la Rougemont is a real find. A little gem hidden away! Yes the rooms are small but have all recently been refurbished and have the real bonus of en suite shower rooms/bathrooms. The bedroom decor is modern and tasteful and the bathrooms clean and contemporary. There is a TV, hairdyer and phone in the room and all floors can be accessed by an elevator. The hotel foyer and breakfast room is still traditionally decorated in a typical Parisien style but this gives the building charm and warmth. The best asset are the staff who were all without exception lovely! All spoke good English and were helpful and informative. Another great bonus was the breakfast! 6 euros per person for a a typical continental offering. Fresh delicious baguette, croissant, jam, butter and cereals and fruit juice as well as a choice of tea, coffee and hot chocolate (a bonus if travelling with kids). You can just decide on the day if you want to take breakfast and dont have to book in advance. The breakfast room was never crowded and allowed a nice relaxing start to the day. It was far nicer and easier to take breakfast here rather than a local bakery. The hotel is tricky to find at first and is in a little side street that forms a sort of courtyard. It was lovely and quiet and yet a stone's throw from the metro and an array of restaurants, shops and bars including Galleries la Fayette and the Opera . Superb location for sightseeing and safer and more upmarket neighbourhood. I had my 8 year old son with me and felt safe walking back to the hotel at night. Overall, I cannot believe the value for money. If like me you want a central place to lay your head, clean, quiet and safe with lovely staff and maximum effort then look no further! I would definitely book again and make this my Paris base.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

The rooms are clean. The reception was always helpful. Smallish rooms but thats the norm in Paris. Quiet road and very peaceful hotel. Overall - good value.

Only things it missed for the price was a kettle in the rooms and maybe a secure luggage room for when you need to leave bags on your checkout day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bengeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

For a 2 star hotel this place ticks more boxes than one would expect.
I organised a group booking so had to book 3 rooms; 2 doubles and one triple.
The rooms are all airy and very clean. The double rooms have large windows looking onto a small courtyard and the triple have a wrought iron balcony looking onto the quiet street.
There are so manta restaurants to choose from and the metro is about 2 minutes away.
The area is safe regardless of time of day and everything is within walking distance that it would be a shame to take the metro and miss out on the beauty of Paris. A definite good hotel whatever your reason for visiting Paris!

Room Tip: Any room is decent as we occupied 3 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel is good value for your Euros. It is tucked away in an alley off a back street and is a short (20 minute) walk to Musee du Louvre and many other attractions of Paris. The nearest Metro Station (Grands Boulevards) is just around the corner, although this is not the most ideal line for linking directly to key tourist destinations. Still it does connect to other Metro lines.

Although the hotel is adjacent to a quiet street (Rue Bergere) there is a nice café (Café le Royal Bergere) across the road. The café has good, but not exceptional, food and friendly staff.

The hotel desk staff we encountered were very helpful and had excellent English. A small (and glorious slow) lift services the six floors and the room I had was perfect. The bed was comfortable and the shower/toilet spacious and clean. In this respect the hotel was an improvement on the two other Paris budget hotels that I had previously stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_paca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in November 2011. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a small TV on the wall quite small as per other reviews but adequate. Room was quiet on a private road with no passing traffic. Plenty of hot water for the showers.
Breakfast was croissant/bread roll with jam and cereal with tea/coffee and orange juice.

Hotel very close less than five minutes to the nearest tube station which made getting around Paris easy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank channii70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I wasn't expecting much from a 2 star hotel, so was surprised and very happy with this hotel. Its location is fantastic - right by the metro. The room seemed recently refurbished and the bathroom in particular was very nice. The lady on reception was also very nice. The "luggage room" was actually just the lobby, but it felt safe enough to leave our bags there. Highly recommended for a reasonable but very comfy stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannicool88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We (my wife and two daughters, ages 3 and 6 months) stayed here for three nights in September 2011.

The first thing to appreciate is that all things are relative and you need to remember that this hotel is in PARIS, so all two star hotels in that city are likely to have rooms that are going to be small by North American standards. If you want space and want to stay centrally-located, you are going to have to spring for at least a four star hotel and be prepared to pay accordingly. What I desire from a hotel in an older European city is: clean, pleasant staff as well as a quiet and safe neighbourhood. This hotel easily satisfies all of these.

As I said the rooms are small (we rented two adjoining rooms on the top floor) and so is the elevator, making the moving and storage of luggage somewhat difficult. But as I said, this is the norm for a two star hotel in central Paris, so just be prepared.

The rooms were recently renovated and tastefully decorated in a minimal sort of way. The beds were comfortable and the TVs were smaller flat screens mounted on the wall. Most importantly the rooms were clean as can be.

Each of our rooms had a small private balcony which overlooked the private cul-de-sac on which the hotel is located. This meant that we were spared the late night noise of the ubiquitous mobilettes which plague hotels in Paris that are located on actual streets. The location is decent, about five minutes away from a Metro stop, a hop-on-hop off bus stop (you can buy tickets at the hotel) and about ten minutes walking distance from the Paris Opera house.

The breakfast itself that was included was nothing to write home about, but I must say I was very impressed with the staff who willingly prepared a take-away tray for me to take up to my room each morning, as opposed to eating it in the common room on the first floor. The staff were very nice to deal with.

There is no free wifi, which is a bit odd in 2011 I suppose, but you're in Paris so get off of Facebook and go see something.

For the price we paid, I would certainly stay here again..

Room Tip: I f you are travelling with kids and thinking of getting the connecting rooms, the ones we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LumpSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opéra / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#425 of 1,809 in Paris
265 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#343 of 1,809 in Paris
534 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#251 of 1,809 in Paris
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra / Bourse
Mondial Hotel
Mondial Hotel
#1,084 of 1,809 in Paris
185 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#392 of 1,809 in Paris
413 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#236 of 1,809 in Paris
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la cite Rougemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la cite Rougemont

Address: 4 Cite Rougemont | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#202 Business Hotel in Paris
#427 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $115 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la cite Rougemont 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quiet of countryside in the heart of Paris. Very central, in business and touristic area : near Opera, theaters, Musee Grevin, Galeries Lafayette & Printemps Haussmann 37 brand new rooms from 2010 with all comfort (internet, flat screen, hair-dryer, safe...). The hotel offers 3 and 4-person bedrooms or linked-bedrooms for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la cite Rougemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Rougemont Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing