We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Roomy, Friendly”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Azur
Ranked #1,498 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel is a little threadbare, it needs paint and new carpet in spots. But we don't care, we will keep coming back. The location is excellent (1/2 block from the Gare de Lyon) and only a few blocks from the Bastille, the rooms are large by Paris standards, the beds are comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. All for about 115 Euros

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed couple of days in mid June.
PLUSES: hotel is very short walk from Gare D'Lyon metro station. (It is also a main rail station for excursions out of Paris). Hotel is rather small, but reception is helpful. Prive is competitive. Wireless internet in hotel. Cool old style elevator. Grocery store across street.
MINUSES: no wireless in room. Wireless is very very slow. Loading web pages is tedious. Clean enough room but there were hairs on bedsheet. Elevator is fast and quaint but tiny if you have large luggage. No shower curtain. NO AIR CON, I am told this is common with hotels in central Paris. For 115 euro you may wish to consider this issue during hot weather. In spite of this, probably the best you can expect in this price range in semi central Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldOyster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We were looking for a place to stay the day before we flew out of Paris, and found the Hotel Azur to be very convenient , just a quick block away from the Gare de Lyon, which we had trained into from Provence. We were quite satisified with our stay; in fact, the only thing that we didn't like was the pigeons cooing at 5:30 in the morning, in the quieter courtyard, but closing the windows fixed that (why don't the Europeans believe in the value of fans to quiet the noise via white noise, or screens, for that matter, since the air conditioners aren't turned on until June or July, regardless of the temps?) Anyway, the staff was friendly, allowing us to drop off our luggage in the morning before the room was ready, and even moved the bags up into our room while we were out. We used the in-lobby internet computer, and would recommend the Azur for its location, service, and cleanliness. Also, there are a half dozen restaurants/brassieries within a 2 block walk, not to mention a nice small grocery store and bakery, which provided a more reasonable and tasty breakfast option to that the Hotel offered.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EurophilefromNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Great hotel, great area near Gare DeLyon and all the restaurents, Will always stay here when visiting Paris . Do not look any further for Paris accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ian-Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We reached GDL train station at midnight with our 3 year old son.
As paris were added into our travel plans at a very last minute so we didn't have enough time to search and make a pre reservation.
When i come to hotel and enquired the price of a double room the gentleman at the reception gave me 103 euros inclusive of everything. When i bring my family at the hotel he stressed that we should pay 20 euros extra for a child. He wasn't particularly very welcoming. During our one month long european tour this was the only hotel where it has been demanded extra money for the child even if he has to share the bed with the parents. After i paid it with the credit card he informed that breakfast is not included in the room price.
The location of the hotel is good and it is next to the railway station. The room were big, a basic cleaniness was there, The beds were comfortable but the stay was certainly not worth the price.
The young receptionist in the morning was O.K. and more helpful.
To sum up. I may not recommend this hotel. There definately would be other alternatives available for the value of your money ain that area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KVRHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2006

With over a dozen trips to Paris under my belt, I can honestly say the Azur Hotel at 5 rue de Lyon in Paris is a bit of heaven.

It is not a fancy hotel in a fancy neighborhood, but an incredibly comfortable, secure and spacious hotel for the money. I have stayed in hotel room in Paris that made my walk in closet at home look like the Taj Mahal and the Azur is the opposite. In this price range, it is by far the largest hotel room I have seen thus far.

The rooms are furnished with vintage and antique furniture, but beautifully kept. My favorite room has a writing desk with chair, a window seat, a rocking chair, spacious armoire, night tables and double bed. The bathroom is massive, over 22 feet long (yes, I measured it). Huge, oversized bath tub with tile surround, bidet (gotta love a bidet), commode and oversized sink with the neatest feature; little holes in the porcelain so your soap drains and does not get gunky in the soap holder. The bath also has a wooden coat rack so that you can hang your night clothes. The towels are oversized and there are French wash mitts instead of wash cloths. The room has double doors, with a tiny alcove in-between.

The first floor of the hotel has the usual reception desk and several sitting rooms. Breakfast is served in the sitting room and while not included in the room price, it is fresh and a pleasant way to begin the day. The breakfast is the typical Continental fare, but if you request an egg or yogurt, it will be served. I must admit, I often go to the boulangerie across the street for a brioche or croissant and then to the café next door for an espresso.

There are two elevators, one small modern elevator and one antique elevator of cast iron and brass with a stunning cage. You can also opt to take the beautiful stairs with wrought iron railings.

While the hotel is old, it is meticulously maintained and a great deal of care goes into it's upkeep. Brass is polished daily, floors are washed and vacuumed throughout the day and even the windows on the upper floors are always clean.

The hotel is owned by two sisters, who are each charming in their own right. One sister is an elegant Parisian woman who is perfectly coiffed and mannered. The other sister is more of a "free spirit" bohemian type, with flaming red hair, plenty of jewelry and an infectious laugh. They are a delight. The hotel has been in their family for many years and you can tell they love their property and it's guests.

You may wonder why anyone would want to stay in the 12th arrondisement, but let me assure you, it is the perfect location. First, when you land at CDG (Charles de Gaulle Airport), you can exit the terminal and find the Air France bus stop going to Montparnasse. For around €7.00, you get on the bus, and the first stop is Gare de Lyon. Directly across the street, not even one block is the Azur Hotel. Simply walk kitty corner and voila! It only gets better from here. If you walk two blocks to the North, you are at Place de la Bastille, the hottest neighborhood in Paris. Great restaurants, Bastille Opera, the thrice weekly marché at Boulevard Richard Lenoir. Another two blocks and you are at Place des Vosges, the Marais, great shopping, great history and the most Parisian of the more popular neighborhoods. Two blocks northwest of the Azur Hotel and you are at Place d'Aligre and the daily market of produce and antiques (mornings only) as well as the Viaduc des Arts, which is an old train station converted into artisan shops with a mile long park up above. Directly around the corner from the hotel you will find some terrific restaurants on Boulevard Diderot. A few brasseries and a restaurant Savoie which serves traditional fondue and raclette dishes. With all this so close to the Azur Hotel, I cannot imagine why anyone would stay in St. Germain, which is so overrun with Americans, you may as well stay home!

I have sent dozens of friends and family to stay at the Azur and unless someone is willing to put me up at the George V or the Crillon, this is the only hotel for me!

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,169 of 1,802 in Paris
303 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#454 of 1,802 in Paris
1,049 reviews
Bercy / Nation
TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon
TIMHOTEL Paris Gare De Lyon
#1,224 of 1,802 in Paris
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Hotel Metropolitain
Hotel Metropolitain
#1,175 of 1,802 in Paris
83 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Etoile Trocadero
Hotel Etoile Trocadero
#1,052 of 1,802 in Paris
352 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,376 of 1,802 in Paris
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: 5 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,498 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $137 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azur 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing