We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Voltaire Republique
Ranked #1,659 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed !”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The location is not so bad. But the rooms are very dirty: many stains on the walls, the carpet and also in the bathroom... I also note a lot of dust everywhere. Only the sheets seemed clean but I'm not really sure about this ! No pillows and no bolster cover ! I won't speak about the mattress...

Concerning the employees, they were not very good-tempered. The night watchman was asleep on a bench behind the front desk ! Unable to order a taxi to go to the railway station at 6:00 am. Incredible !

Fortunately, I just had to spend a night there and I disadvise strongly this hotel, especially because of the healthiness.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chokkopops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    42
    68
    49
    70
See reviews for
47
76
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at Hotel Voltaire for three nights for new years eve. As I was with two friends we requested a room with three single beds, however were given a room with one double and one single.

The room was a good size. It had a TV, wardrobe, table and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was very small. Especially the shower. There was just enough room to wash yourself.

The beds were comfy but the pillow was thin and small and served no purpose at all. I slept resting my head on my arm instead. The sheets were also stained.

The hotel states that it has a hairdryer. This isn't in the room and I asked reception for a hairdryer but was told the only one they have was in use. One hairdryer for a hotel with 6 floors is ridiculous and I had to go without.

The hotel is situated right outside Metro Oberkampf which makes it really easy to get around Paris. There are plenty of Cafes and places to eat in the area. A short walk to Republique offers more restaurants, bars and cafes.

The room was serviced daily however we did notice that the sink in the bathroom hadn't been cleaned one day which made us wondered exactly how much the maids clean the room.

The lift in the hotel is VERY small. We all managed to cram in but you wouldn't want to do that with people you don't know.

Staff were polite and helpful.

Overall I would stay in this hotel again if the price was cheaper. I believe for the money I payed I could find something better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClurrrBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Not a terrible stay, but not that enjoyable either. Room was extremely basic, with no fridge or other basic facilities. The worst part was the lack of A/C or ventilation - we had to open the window all night, providing us with the sound of police screaming up and down the road. Staff were very helpful, even accepting my flawed French.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiflyer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

It should not be even classed as a one-star hotel. The hotel does not had any facilities that could be associated with a hotel.
A) The room was very dirty, the black table in the room had a broken leg.
B) It was very hard to get out of the toilet (very small toilet). The door was opening against the toilet pan.
C) Too small people or one large person could get into the lift at any one time.
D) The amount of breakfast provided for 6 euros/person was very small in comparison with other hotels that we stayed in while in France.
E) Staff failed to communicate prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We went to visit Paris quite spontaneously and on a very tight budget so we booked this budget hotel. But our experience was so bad that we would never go back and I won't recommend any one to experience it. The rooms were very cramped, The bathroom stinked. The room was maintained so badly that we stayed in the room just to sleep and preferred to stay out of it the rest of the time. The location is quite okay with all the tram stations closed to it. But it is not at all worth the money spent. I guess you could get much better hotels than this at this price

Room Tip: Don't take any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravikiranp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

After reading all of the comments here, I was expecting a nightmare, but on the contrary I was surprised with the size of the room, the cleanness and location. It's true that the hotel is a bit noisy,n but the view of Sacre Coeur from my balcony worth every penny. Ask for a superior room, 54, 55 or 56.

Room Tip: 54, 55 or 56. Blacony with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just far enough from the square to be away from noise, but near enough to access Metro and the eating / drinking places easily. Lift is very small (one person plus suitcase), but it works! Need to ask for additional towels (only one per person provided). All clean and functioning. Lounge area with coffee machine in the foyer; reasonable price for wifi, which worked well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Mary's Republique
Hotel Mary's Republique
#1,323 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,233 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,536 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,491 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Hotel Excelsior Republique
#1,479 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Voltaire Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Voltaire Republique

Property: Hotel Voltaire Republique
Address: 10 boulevard Voltaire, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,659 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Voltaire Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Voltaire Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voltaire Republique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing