We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful trip!”
Review of Hotel Verlaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Verlaine
Ranked #851 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is quaint and friendly staff make the stay even more enjoyable! My mum and I stayed here together and had a lovely, comfortable stay. Had breakfast here, it was lovely. Quite an old little place but that adds to it's uniqueness. Our every need was attended to and we felt completely at home here. We agree that we would definitely return. Also the owner was especially nice and everyone speaks great English. Felt safe and secure in the area with a metro 5 mins away up the road.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank holls137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

We loved this small hotel for its friendliness and comfort and location in the lively butte aux cailles district. It was aldo exceptional value. Our room was very clean and all the staff were very helpful. The only downside is that the rooms on the front are on a fairly noisy road. If you shut the windows you don't hear much traffic noise, but if it's hot and you need to leave the windows open, you may have disturbed sleep unless you have good earplugs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tambrose31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The owner/staff were very nice and welcoming. The internet was not the best. The hotel is quite outdated, BUT good for a two star. When I booked, it was based on reviews and didn't realize it was a lower rated hotel. No lift. No AC. Since there was no AC I had to open the windows at night. The hotel is located a block away from a local pubs/lounges which made it very noisy at night. I stayed there on a Friday/Saturday and the noise levels didn't die down until after 2am.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The overall hospitality we received from the moment we walked in, to the moment we checked out was top-notch. Most of our interaction was with the owner of the hotel Elodie who was an absolute gem. (The lady who was at the desk over the night we stayed in was also extremely friendly.)
We arrived a few hours earlier than the check-in time. However, it only took Elodie 10 mins to find us a room that was available and voila! The location is another plus - it's only 7 mins walk away from a metro station (Place d'Italie). The area is very quiet with lots of fantastic local shops and restaurants. Breakfast was very straightforward and of great value for simply 8 euros. What we mostly loved was that there was no need to rush down or through breakfast. (We had ours after we checked out at 11am and took a very long relaxed hour to finish.) Overall, a true 5 star service for only fraction of the price. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: ASK for a hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BossLadyChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and neat. Very quaint and in an peaceful subsection of Paris. Easy access to the metro and the bus. Several good restaurants in the area. Markets are close as well. Rooms are small - the norm for Europe. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast is available to buy. I would stay there again.

Side note: hotel is very accomodating. Check in time is 4 pm, but we were able to check in early since we arrived in the morning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Ever since walking through the Butte Aux Cailles neighborhood and spotting this hotel, we wanted to try staying there. Last December we did so, and we were not disappointed. This is a small, homey hotel with very pleasant rooms, but the main reason for writing this review is the wonderful hospitality we experienced. Rarely do you find such an accommodating owner. The location is convenient to all forms of public transit, and the price is quite reasonable. If we are fortunate enough to return to Paris, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, but was quiet all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jsjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

For our purposes this room was just about right. We dropped off our luggage walked to lunch nearby, returned to freshen up and out again for a tour of Paris. When we came back we went to sleep. Woke the next morning and left. The shower was small but workable. No issues with the payment or security. The room was small as compared to comparable prices in the states, but we were in Paris. The location was away from the crowds. The room was clean, some mold on the grout in the shower and the paint was peeling on the baseboards but I have seen far worse.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Saint Charles
Hotel Saint Charles
#908 of 1,809 in Paris
320 reviews
Gobelins
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
#914 of 1,809 in Paris
449 reviews
La Villette
Hotel du Quai de Seine
Hotel du Quai de Seine
#975 of 1,809 in Paris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Hotel Ambre
Hotel Ambre
#1,309 of 1,809 in Paris
166 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verlaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verlaine

Address: 51 rue Bobillot, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique , Gobelins
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $107 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verlaine 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Verlaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verlaine Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing