We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty Alsatian fare with excellent sauerkraut”
Review of Chez Jenny

Chez Jenny
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Chez Jenny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,233 of 19,275 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Description: This 1930s-style brasserie, symbol of the Place de la Republique, has honoured Alsace and its gastronomic specialities for the past 80 years, serving sauerkraut prepared according to a host of recipes, as well as other delicious regional specialities, including flammenkuche tarts, apple strudel, Vosges meringue and kougof cake. Charles Spindler designed its famous marquetry, which contributes to its being one of the most beautiful brasseries in Paris--This 1930s-style brasserie, symbol of the Place de la Republique, has honoured Alsace and its gastronomic specialities for the past 80 years, serving sauerkraut prepared according to a host of recipes, as well as other delicious regional specialities, including flammenkuche tarts, apple strudel, Vosges meringue and kougof cake. Charles Spindler designed its famous marquetry, which contributes to its being one of the most beautiful brasseries in Paris
Reviewed August 31, 2015

This bistrot near Place de la Republique has a variety of typical Alsatian dishes with excellent wines from the region to match the cuisine. The flammekeuche, a type of flat bread with various toppings, was delicious. There are a number of different combination options that allows one to try several foods typical of the region in one meal. The sauerkraut was among the best I have ever tasted!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Chez Jenny, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Dear David,

What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our various choice of Alsatian dishes !
Your comment will be shared with all our team.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,
Sophie L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay. They have a well laid out menu and the food was great. I absolutely loved the raw escargot and the prawns.

1  Thank AubreyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

The food was rather delicious and fairly well priced. I had smoked salomonspätzel to start and a meat skewer for main, which came with a delicious ratatouille. The interior is brilliant and all original from 1932. Only let down by fairly slow service. And it wasn't particularly busy. Would recommend.

Thank Ethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Chez Jenny, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Dear Ethan,

We want to thank you for your review. We're gla dto read that you succumb to the charm of our restaurant. We're sorry that we couldn't serve you in an adequat time.

Kind regards,
Antoine B.
avis@blanc.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

We had a good look around the area and came back to this busy restaurant as that was a good sign. The menu looked interesting and different (after we'd found the English version) and it was based around seafood and Alsace (sauerkraut) cuisine. My son had spatzel for the first time which was wonderful with plenty of delicious salmon. I tried something different for my main as it was bream, salmon, haddock and prawn with sauerkraut. Great for the first time. We walked in with no reservation and the restaurant is huge and does extend back a long way. We loved the decor and ambience. Only minor quibble was that the service was slow at times and I think they got my son's main course wrong but he still enjoyed it. All in all we thought it was very good and well worth a visit if you're in the area, although it is relatively pricey but then again, you get what you pay for. Highlight to me was the Art Deco and wooden interior dating back to the 30's.

1  Thank Peche05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful early evening Christmas Day dinner here without a reservation. The hostess was so gracious and the wait staff were friendly and even funny. The seafood platter was incredibly fresh and our main was superb. I recommend it. Worth the money.

Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Chez Jenny, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2015

Dear client,

Thank you for your comment.
Christmas time is a special occasion and we are glad you had a wonderful time among us !

We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Sophie L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Jenny also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Jenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing