We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel close to metro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo
Ranked #834 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel close to metro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just returned from 5 night stay to Paris.What i was looking for was a clean,good located,budget hotel.I chose Hotel du Nord after reasearching in TA.
In order to book this hotel you have to either call or send an e-mail.
It's a small hotel with 4 kinds of rooms.Room for 1-2 people,room for 2,room for 3 and family room.

What i loved about Hotel du Nord :

-Proximity to 2 different metro station.Republique station which is served by 4 lines and Jacques Bonsergent station with 1 line.My advise : if you arrive on train and have bags,choose Jacques Bonsergent station.It's closer and simpler.
-Decoration and the feel of living in a house.It has something special that you won't find in a big chainy hotel.There are books in the lobby area that you can read and there are even books in the rooms!
-Friendly staff.People who can give great advice and share secrets of Paris.
-Clean!!! What more important when being away?
-Great bed!A good sleep is all you need after a full day in Paris.

What i didn't love :

-Room was quite small,however Paris is not famous for having big hotel rooms.(maybe in 4 or 5 star properties there will be big).
-Republique area is not that lovely.There are other nicer areas in Paris.However,it's not packed with tourists and there are many restaurants and fast food places.
-There was only one socket in the room which didn't help.

I really liked Hotel du Nord and i would go back in a next visit to Paris.It's a great value for money!

Room Tip: If you don't mind having a bigger room choose the small room.It's ok and you will get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Marialena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    120
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
121
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

When in Paris, you're not likely to be spending a lot of time in your room, so we look for a basic, clean room in a good location. Oh, and it has to be inexpensive. Not many places fit this criteria, but this one does.

The rooms are good sized, the bed (in our double) was comfortable/large and the bathroom right sized. There is street noise, so it's always nice to have earplugs handy. It is VERY basic - no frills here, but what more could you want for 82E?

We found the breakfast, at 7.50E each was an excellent deal (remember, this is Paris), so we had it all 5 mornings. There are places around that serve coffee and a croissant, but they charged the same price (for less food). For breakfast here you'll get coffee/croissant/juice/2 kinds of baguette breads/jellies. It's not what many of us are used to for breakfast, but it really is quite good.

As others have said, it's near several metro stops. Once you've figured out the metro map, getting around Paris is easy using the metro. You can walk to the sites from here (Louvre 30min, Orsay 45min, Notre Dame 25min), but it's really not through the best parts of town, so we found the metro (despite being crowded at times) a better way to get around. BTW, it took us 1 hour to get from here to the CDG airport via metro/RER.

Good restaurants are limited in this area - we found better offerings on the other side of the canal (about a 10 minute walk). This is not really the tourist part of town, so fixed priced menu offerings are not easy to find - you'll likely have to order ala carte. The staff is helpful in providing restaurant recommendations.

Would I recommend to my friends? Yes. But I would have them keep their expectations low (so they'll be pleased).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

staff very helpfull and nice, very cosy , in a nice area , very very close to a metro station , clean

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F77Cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel is located close to the Gare du Nord train station (15 minute walk) and close to the Republique Metro stop (2 minute walk). A walk to the Louvre took about 25-30 minutes. It is in a non-touristy neighborhood and has great access to grocery stores (there is one just down the block), cafes, and restaurants. Our room was spare, but very clean. The room looked out onto a window well and directly onto another building. If you have a hard time sleeping with noise going on, bring earplugs. The neighbors voices echoed throughout the window well. I'm not sure I would have slept well without earplugs.

This hotel was in a great location, was clean, comfortable, safe, and a great value for the price. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I loved the ambience of this tiny hotel. On a side street, but close to Place dela Republique, and only two blocks from the Metro station. There are lots of restaurants and coffee shops nearby, and we walked to Sacre Coeur (highly recommend the tower climb) in 20 minutes or so.

We stayed in a 'renovated' room, which may have made a big difference. It had new laminate flooring and lighting and a nice bathroom with a tub/shower. The whole thing looked to be easily cleaned and was tidy.

Our room opened up onto a window well between buildings on the back which provided ventilation without noise. The windows on the street would be more interesting, but louder.

The room was really small, but I presume that's normal for Paris. I didn't go there to watch TV.

The manager was very helpful and pleasant, and we had no trouble with the booking. We left our bags early in the day and checked in later with no problem.

Our visit in May had great weather and needed neither heat nor cooling.

I have only one real comment on this hotel - don't be there in a fire. As far as I could tell, all of the rooms opened directly onto the open stairway up the middle of the hotel. It has wooden treads and would make an excellent chimney. I could see no other way to get out - no exit stairs - except the windows. On the back, that nice window well would fill with smoke in no time and I think any occupants would be stuck. And the front door needed a key to open it from inside or outside, so not great for a panic exit. Perhaps this is common in Paris, but I was crossing my fingers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PoppaMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice welcome. Small refurbished and unique rooms. Bed very comfortable and big. No closet. Tiny but clean bathroom. Neighbour plays piano every day from 8 am until 10pm. Unacceptable! Price value would be perfect, but would not recommend to go there because of the piano player.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donmarco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Easy to reach from CDG - even after a 20 hour travel time. Hotel room was small (which was expected due to the old inner city building) and very clean. Personal touch due to colour in the room, books and very friendly & helpful staff. Booking only through email, after some miscommunication with one staff member, Daniel was quick & helpful confirming our stay. Unique reception area, small staircase (or even smaller elevator) leading to the upstairs rooms. You get a key to the front door as they front desk closes at 11:30pm. We enjoyed the stay a lot, room was very quiet (but didnt have a view other than the court yard) but who wants to stay indoors when in Paris anyway :). We didnt get to try the breakfast due to our jet lag, but found a little bakery just around the corner with fresh baguette sandwiches. All in all, would come back and stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarnyCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
Hotel Garden Saint Martin
#971 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Citizen Hotel
Le Citizen Hotel
#184 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#825 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
#215 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Eldorado
Hotel Eldorado
#1,162 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo

Property: Hotel du Nord - Le Pari Velo
Address: Albert Thomas | 47, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#602 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a small one with 23 rooms that are warm, cozy and attractively decorated. When our guests arrive, we give them a key to the entrance door to the hotel as well as a room key. Right away everyone feels at home or rather, in a guesthouse. Our rooms are all different, each one has its own style: Oriental, pop, empire, Pompei, and so on.... We take particular care with the breakfast, served in the basement with its old-fashioned stone ceiling. Our breakfast consists in croissants, the traditional baguette and whole-grain bread, made not by an industrial bakery but by our local baker. The jams are homemade, prepared by us using quality fruits. All the products we use are chosen and furnished by local shops. Our guesthouse is located in a central district animated by its residents. It is a popular district for Parisians that is famous for its picnics along the Canal Saint-Martin, its bars, its restaurants and small local shops. All around you will find many Parisian brands, boutiques, bookstores, and food stores. We have selected them and tested them before recommending them. For getting around in Paris we have bicycles that are freely available during your stay. This is also part of our approach. Whatever the reason for your visit to Paris, we hope you will appreciate the atmosphere of our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Du Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing