We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Paris!”
Review of Chez Julien

Chez Julien
Reserve with
Chez Julien is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,473 of 19,022 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$31 - US$160
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Description: Typical French Restaurant specialized in the black truffle(nose) in decorates Belle Epoque. Classified inside and terrace situated in a pedestrian street. Big Party are Welcome.
Reviewed March 7, 2017

Our small party were warmly welcomed by the friendly bar staff in this beautifully decorated best kept secret of Paris. A superb wine list complemented a stunning foie gras followed by an unbelievable veal tartar. Classy atmosphere and exquisite food - I will come again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Orsler_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant C, Directeur général at Chez Julien, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Bonjour Mr Orsler,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience at Chez Julien, we loved having you here! Sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 726 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

We'd been over 10 years ago and wanted to see it again.

We had a really good meal, with nice wine (their red Sancerre) at a very comfortable table and we enjoyed the whole evening.

It's not cheap but you come away feeling you've had your money's worth.

The service was just right, attentive but not overly so, and they judged it just right in pacing the meal.

It's a nicely decorated place (in fact it smelt of paint when we arrived -a tiny bit offputting to begin with- so must be newly decorated) and retains lots of original features so is a very nice ambience.

They've a heated terrace but it was only being used as a waiting area.

We'd definitely go back.

Thank LondonFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant C, Directeur général at Chez Julien, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear London Friday,

Thank you very much for such a nice review about your dinner at Chez Julien.

I am delighted that you appreciated your experience with the beautiful atmosphere offered by our restaurant.

Our teams are honored that you enjoyed the quality of the food prepared by our Chef Helmi Derbal.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in the city of light.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017

While staying in Paris for a conference, we found Chez Julien at the base of our apartment block. We felt welcomed when we arrived after a 26 hour flight, and needed a coffee (and the best ever Paris Brest) while waiting for the agent to bring the apartment keys. So they became our "local", and a very high quality one. The food and service is a step up from most street corner restaurants. Their wine list is good and their advice on pairing this with the dishes was appropriate. And they specialise in the use of truffles in their menu, further enhancing some of their menu offerings. Definitely worth a visit if you want a great meal in the Marais.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2017

6 of us enjoyed a wonderful evening in this cosy, beautiful restaurant. The atmosphere was lively and convivial, the setting absolutely beautiful and we all enjoyed our choice of dishes which for me were perfectly proportioned. The staff was friendly and patient and service was fluid.

Thank Julie A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

It gives the impression of a lovely French Bistrot warm and cosy. Especially the private room on the upper floor. The menu is interesting and meals are very well presented. However, service is very slow and the food not up to the expectations at least for the charged prices. I had ordered a veal tartar that i did not finish as the meat was roo chewy.

1  Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Julien also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing