We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice atmosphere - decent dishes”
Review of La Coupole

La Coupole
Reserve with
La Coupole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,986 of 19,411 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$35 - US$67
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Montparnasse
Description: A true Art Deco masterpiece, La Coupole is the most famous Parisian brasserie in the world. Today it is the quintessential symbol of Montparnasse's history, as well as a key component of the art of living and socialising in Paris, particularly in the 14th arrondissement.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Business dinner, very average dishes. Fois gras was ok, moules very scarse. Quality price not positive. The beautiful place from 1927 makes up for it.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank ElisabethZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 100 of 4,239 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2018

Our party of 10 (6 adults and 4 children aged 6) were really looking forward to La Coupole, having heard all about it from our own parents (and grandparents). We went expecting brassiere-style food, not haut cuisine, and were all very pleased. We also expected a huge restaurant with lots of history, atmosphere, interesting artwork to discuss and art deco architecture, and that is exactly what we had.

The staff were friendly and professional. Our waiter knew exactly how to deal with small children and all the waiters were very tolerant of their frequent movements around our table, and beyond. The children were given special La Coupole activity books, which kept them busy and added to their experience. And the wine list was high-quality and comprehensive, exactly as one would expect.

I ordered the Dauphiné ravioli to start; my husband had the French Onion soup. Both were delicious. For our mains, I had the filet of beef, cooked perfectly to the French definition of medium, with a heap of bearnaise sauce on the side. My husband had the famous La Couple "lamb curry," which was delicious. The children's menu was straight forward - a drink, a choice of fish, chicken or beef with the usual side order of pomme frites (there are other choices), and a dessert.

When we paid for our bill, one of us was charged for a dessert that never arrived. Our waiter apologised and immediately returned with 10 euros cash. We all thought this was a most impressive way to solve a problem and keep your patrons happy.

At nearly one hundred years old, La Coupole still deserves a great reputation and it is wonderful that generations of families keep going back and building memories.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CCLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

The venue is magnificent but unfortunately the food and service have quite a bit of improvement work to be performed.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank VeraHav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We have been coming here for over twenty years. Had a good lunch with my family for my birthday in 2016 but returning this year was a disappointment. The atmosphere seems to have gone, there are fewer waiters, who seem less happy in their work, and the food has been affected by the dead hand of the large group of which it is a part. For example, the cheese board was cold, evidently recently in the fridge - to serve French cheese like this is sacrilege! Some happy memories but won't be rushing back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We went to La Coupole for dinner. Excellent seafood (I had a fantastic St Jacob risotto), very good desserts, and excellent wine.
The place is a bit pricey, but overall worth it.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T-Traveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Coupole also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Coupole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing