We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crepes Autrement”

Breizh Cafe Le Marais
Get food delivered
Ranked #42 of 428 Dessert in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had tried on an earlier trip to eat at Breizh Cafe after reading good reviews, so this time made a reservation. We realised what a small place it is, so we were glad we had planned ahead. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the relaxed cosy ambiance. Standard savoury crepes (galettes) were complemented by blackboard specials. I tried the Basque - colourful with egg, asparagus, tomato and ham - and tasted as good as it looks. The cafe has a great selection of ciders, also their own "far west" cola. The standout was the dessert crepe, with salted caramel sauce and chantilly cream! Yum!! I look forward to going back, and yes, reservations necessary! A visit here makes you want to jump on the train to Brittany! As their website proclaims, Breizh Cafe is a great ambassador for Brittany. Thorougly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lust2wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 789 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had spent the whole morning exploring the lovely Marais area and decided to try our luck at the busy Cafe Breizh for a late lunch at about 2.45pm. Not surprisingly, we were informed by a member of staff that they were full and we can come back after 3.30pm or try our luck at the Epicerie next door. As the epicerie ( which has only one long table) was also full, we decided to come back as advised. We came back at 3.45 and as the cafe still looked to be full, we went to have a look at the epicerie. The young lady at the epicerie told us that yes, we can have the table. But before we could make our way to the table, a young man from the cafe swept in with another party and told us that we cannot have the table after all! Some words were exchanged between the 2 staff but the upshot was that we were told in no uncertain terms to leave!!! When we challenged him to check with his colleague, he just brushed us off !

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Service
4  Thank hakeemwjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found this place my accident out first night in Paris, and we returned there twice during our week stay. We had it as our last meal, as it was truly the best food we found and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We don't speak French and they had an entire menu in English, as well as really nice folks to give advice. They have great daily specials and all the food is fresh and made to order. I would highly recommend this place for anyone in Paris, and know that we will be returning next time we are in town.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LunaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Classic food from Normandy, well cooked and very tasty. Sweet and savoury crepes and cidre. A superb meal for a family. Busy, and seemed to be rather touristy - not much sign of french being spoken by the diners

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank lotus_xi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A definite must while in Paris is to try crepes, both savory and sweet, and this is the place (in the Marais) to try them! Reservations are necessary as people are often turned away. We were very lucky as we did not have a reservation for dinner, but instead we were directed to the store attached to the restaurant. There is one table in the store and we were seated alongside some local Parisians in a cozy and quiet atmosphere.
The woman who worked in the store was very friendly and did her best to explain menu items in English for us. The crepes were spectacular - both the savory buckwheat galettes as well as the sweet crepes, esp. the chocolate and banana one! In addition, the house cider was excellent.
Do try and visit this wonderful Parisian treasure and make a reservation so you are not disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jazzypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Breizh Cafe Le Marais also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Breizh Cafe Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.