We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few minutes from the Citè”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Octroi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Octroi
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Few minutes from the Citè”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel in August 2011.
It is very near to the Citè and you can reach it walking five minutes.
It is on a very big road with a lot of traffic but our room (that was on the street) was absolutely quite.
You can both use the public car park in front of the hotel or the private one behind it (we chose this solution).

The whole hotel has very modern furniture and near the reception there is the breakfast room.
People at the reception can speak French but also English and Spanish.
The main problem is that there is not the lifter but you can transport the luggage to the first floor using the back door.

The room was clean but very small and there was very few place for the luggage.
The bathroom was very clean and seemed to be new but it was absolutely small! Two people can move inside it with some difficulties!

However, in particular for the strategic position, it was a not expensive solution to spend some days in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    171
    78
    14
    15
See reviews for
114
181
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Booked two rooms for one night stay while visiting Carcassonne. Reception was very welcome and supportive (offered 3-4 languages to speak on our choice), had overnight car park, lovely and full breakfast. Room is quite smallish, but you get exactly what is expected and even more, clean, really close to the castle. There were quite a lot of people in the hotel. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrey_moscow_russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed in a 'Deluxe' room, which was large and comfortable (once I'd hiked the temperature up a bit - controllable within the room, but had been left on a very cool temp during days of rain...). Bed was really comfortable, everything very clean, and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

But despite previous reviews, I made the mistake of paying for breakfast - ridiculously overpriced for a small pot of (good) local yoghurt, juice, tea and 3-day old mass-produced pastries - really not good enough. I'd recommend staying here, but you'll get a much better breakfast just over the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcake87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Location in Carcassonne was very convenient for exploring both the City and the surrounding countryside. Although it was located on a busy road and we were in a road-facing room, the traffic noise didn't bother us. I booked a triple room as we like to have the luxury of an extra bed and although this reduced the amount of space in the room, there was still ample and space was certainly generous by French standards. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel was clean and modern and had a nice ambiance. We didn't use the leisure facilities nor did we have the breakfast, preferring instead to eat out every day. Parking was €15 per night at the hotel, but we found free on-street parking nearby, so keep this in mind if you have a car. All in all, the hotel is probably at the upper end of the two star segment and I would have no hesitation in recommending it for a stay in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Instead of two rooms they put us in a suite with two rooms but the walls were thin, the door to the room didnt latch right the door to the patio to get to the room didnt open right and sometimes didnt work. The wireless signal was not strong enough to reach the suites so any email correspondence had to be done in the lobby or the stairwell. Overall not what i was expecting and not the quality i expected for the quite high price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuromaru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Køge
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were happy about the nights in Hotel Octroi, though not a big room, but close to the castle, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jespapua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed here with my Mum for two nights whilst we were visiting Carcassone. The room was clean and elegant (we were in the dark grey room, we saw the bright green while they were cleaning it, it may have been a bit much!). The room wasn't large but there was enough space for two of us to move about. The air conditioning wasn't very effective, we weren't able to change the temperature. A back room would have been better as the road was quite noisy but we were in the lowest price band and the back rooms are the bigger suites. The staff were pleasant and helpful, when we went down for a cup of coffee the receptionist asked if we would mind waiting while she brewed a fresh pot instead of giving us the old one! We didn't have the breakfast but it looked nice, although expensive compared to what you can find if you venture out into the Cite or the town. Location wise, is hotel is perfect for exploring both parts of Carcassone, it's a five minute uphill walk to the Cite and no more than ten to the town although the road to the town isn't as nice as it's a busy dual carriageway with only a small pavement. If you don't mind going the long way over the old bridge you it's nicer but will take fifteen minutes or so. Carcassone is a great place to explore for a couple of days BUT there is not much choice for vegetarians!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKateG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octroi

Property: Hotel Octroi
Address: 143 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octroi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated at 300 meters from the Carcassonne medieval castle entrance. It offert you 23 contemporary bedrooms. AC ans private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Octroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Octroi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing