We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Costs 12 euro in Cab from Train Station. Shuttle Bus from Airport will drop you at the top of the road (road to narrow to drive bus down), 6-7 mins walk. Once you there, Medievel City and fortress and castle are five mins walk at end of road. Buffet Breakfast Continental with good selection. Very helpful staff most of whom speak good English. Food in hotel Rest very good. Tried a few in the Med City; all good, but the best by far was one near the castle called Adelaide: Great food; reasonable price and great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gouldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    692
    237
    63
    15
See reviews for
356
818
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worcester england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed 5 nights April 2012 as part of a well-organised tour by Newmarket holidays. It was the most expensive hotel they offered and the only one which served an evening meal, important for us as senior citizens reluctant to walk unknown distances in the evening in search of well-reviewed restaurants. . We did not have high expectations of the corporate chain and these were not exceeded. Clean bedroom (small) and bathroom, and just about enough space to store items for our stay. No hooks in bathroom so clothes remained on floor while showering. Mini cups( at least an innovation! ) absurd for tea or even coffee drinking. Breakfast spread visually impressive in range but nothing of quality: thin juice, flavourless ham and cheese, not even good bread. Tinned fruit salad. Evening meal re-presented as starter variations of salad (which staff invariably got wrong) reasonable main course, desert from freezer or tired patisserie. Poor and expensive wines in a wine growing area. One lounge quit small with "pubby" feel. Good outside area but not possible to use as weather cold and windy. Staff very rushed- their work cannot have been motivating. Reception staff not impolite but not engaged, rarely acknowledged arrival A managment issue. Setting in view of medieval city is magnificent but avoid this hotel if you can

Room Tip: A view of the medieval city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed for three nights with a group of 37 others. Whilst the hotel is very convenient for visiting the old city of Carcassonne and was very clean and tidy, there were insufficient staff in the dining room. One person to serve all 38 left a lot to be deired. On three occasions I had to visit reception to ask for a person to serve from the bar. None of the staff had a smile. The evening food was just about acceptable and the local dish of "Cassoulet" served one evening was in the main large baked beans with a lump of bone (supposedly pork) and one quite tasty sausage. Whilst it suited some members of our party quite a large number of portions remained uneaten. Breakfasts were entirely different with a very good selection but I was amazed to note green beans served alongside sausages and scrambled eggs. The free wifi was well received.
There was insufficient storage room for clothes in the "adequately sized" bedroom (although very clean and well presented) and two coat hangers with bars and four others for two people was below standards. The bathroom was great and contained an excellent shower. "Choice" of English speaking TV was solely News 24. There was no safe in the room.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we saw only one that was just OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby. East Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were really disappointed with this hotel. It had a very corporate feel and unlike other reviewers we didn't find the staff particularly friendly. The food was very poor - we were served a cassoulet that was dreadful and other meals were average at best.
There was no safe or fridge in the (very small) room and the air conditioning didn't work. Some rooms have a view of the cite apparently - ours looked out onto the car park.
The one redeeming feature is that it's within walking distance of the cite, but I still wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaDawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Wake up looking to Carcassone Old city walls, private parking, reasonable breakfast and free wifi. Recomended

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The room was fine and the breakfast was great....lots of choice and good quality. The one disappointment was the one evening meal that we had in the restaurant.......my wife's piece of fish was tiny and dried up and the rice was uncooked, although, after complaining, we were not charged for it.
We would definitiely stay if we were in the area again, but would eat out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_dave_valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent a wonderful time in this hotel with my wife and our kids. The staff are nice and helpfull, the rooms are spacious and quiete with a garden and pool ... comfortable and just in front of the walled city of Carcassonne.We walk around in the evening to discover the cité by night...
This hotel has been recommended by friends who stay there before and really enjoy it !!
We will come back !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.6 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
764 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
418 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing