We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully quirky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison sur la Colline
Ranked #29 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We really didn't know what we were going to find as the hotel didn't register on the sat nav! We were warmly welcomed by Delphine who showed us our extraordinary bedroom....the place is stuffed full of bric-à-brac ..this place is not for the precious! The setting and gardens are simply delightful and the pool was very welcome as we arrived when it was very hot. A short drive into Carcassonne allowed us to meander through this historical city. Breakfast was sensational...homemade cakes, jams, tarts and so generous. I don't know what the other rooms are like but this is the most lovely B & B( as Delphine pointed out to us...' This is my home, not a hotel!' to stopover.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the Blue room...it has the most enormous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Absolutely loved this b & b and would thoroughly recommend it. Delphine and her mother are extremely welcoming and their home is beautiful. You can probably walk to the cite in about twenty minutes but is only a few minutes away in a car. There are numerous restaurants in the cite but I understand from people staying there that you can order a meal (giving 48 hours notice) and the food is wonderful. Everything for breakfast is homemade and there is a very large choice.

We stayed in the blue room, which is a very good sized room with an adjoining bathroom. It is very traditional French and because of this loved it even more.

We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms but loved the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank buffycat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you are considering staying at La Maison Sur La Colline (translates as The House on the Hill, which is accurate), do read ALL the Tripadvisor reviews about the place first. Having stayed there for four nights, I don’t disagree with anything that has been said in the previous reviews - ranging from the “Terrible” to the “Excellent” (particularly that from Jon and Diana B B)

The proprietress has something of the air of Basil Fawlty about her - in some respects, shockingly oblivious of the needs or wishes of her guests. In other ways, though, she is painstaking in her efforts to make the stay as comfortable as possible.

The range of food at breakfast is large, and some appears to be home-made. Madame was concerned we hadn’t eaten any bread one morning, and questioned it. But we had simply had our fill of other food. Another day, there was an electricity power cut and she was most anxious to have prepared coffee as usual - she said it took her an hour. We would have tolerated hot water and instant coffee, but no, she insisted on “proper” coffee.

The swimming pool was beautifully maintained, the water crystal clear.

Yet, inexplicably, Madame refused to believe we had no sachets of instant coffee in our room! She patiently described what they looked like and dismissed our protests that all we had were sachets of sugar - lots of them. After two attempts to get sachets, we bought Nescafé at the supermarket in town for €2!

The towels were not changed at all in four days, and the room was only serviced once. The bed frame was covered in thick dust. The shower attachment on the wall was completely missing. The weather was hot and we would have liked the windows open, but we discovered one of the B&B cats habitually jumped through the window and visited us in the middle of the night! So the windows had to stay closed. Dust and cat hair - “La Maison Pas Pour Les Asthmatiques”!

Our room had no lock on the door: we could not leave any valuables in the room when we went out for the day.

For all that, The House on the Hill is 1.8km (1.1 miles) along a country lane past vineyards to the gates of Carcassonne Old City, with a spectacular view of the battlements from La Maison, especially when they are lit up at night. Being so close to the Old City means it is easy to be there early in the morning or later in the evening and avoid the daytrippers. Parking in the lower of the two Old City car parks is free for an hour, and free after 8pm, so you pay nothing if you arrive and park after 7pm for dinner. At 6.55pm, it would cost you €5!

If you are collecting a rental car from Carcassonne airport, it is something of a nightmare to find the B&B; you have to cross the city. La Maison Sur La Colline is accurately located on Google maps, but these coordinates and a GPS will get you there faster: N 43deg 11.663’ E 002deg 22.602’. The B&B is clearly signposted from Chemin des Anglais (and yes, it IS on the “dead-end” road!) You may also wish to know that one of the larger supermarkets in town is just a 1.5km drive from the airport, Intermarche N 43deg 12.762’ E 002deg 19.491’. 1.5 litres of vin ordinaire for a little over €2.50 - well, it would be rude not to!

Would I recommend La Maison Sur La Colline to friends? In view of its close proximity to the Old City, probably yes. But only if they are warned in advance that it will be a “novel” experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadioGuyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked for three nights in this lovely maison approximately 1 mile outside Carcassonne Medieval Cite. Delphine gave us a warm welcome and was very informative. It is a very traditional French country house and We loved the breakfast which was huge. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. We booked dinner 2 nights and Delphine served us a sumptuous meal including aperitifs and wine which cost 30 euros pp ... Well worth the money. As it was early in the season, the weather was cool and we did not use the pool. Would certainly stay there again without doubt if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: The blue room is a very pretty west facing room with an enormous bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyque10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We could afford a 5 star hotel but return here every year from Scotland and now from Germany to this lovely setting run by very dear people. The rooms are beautiful and well kept. The excellent breakfast will feed you for the day. For those who do not speak French, Madame Galinier speaks fluent English.

Room Tip: We have been in them all. They are all first rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggie_von_Zugbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Have stayed here 5 times now,Delpine is a great host, great location and magical view over laCite. Pool is always spotless. Breakfast is so good no need for lunch!
During July you get a free listen to whatever is going on in the festival down in the cite

Room Tip: Choose a room you can sit out at night outside with a glass of wine and relax. Obviously no fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This could be a wonderful chambre d’hote; it’s secluded in lovely countryside but close enough to Carcassonne (2km) to be walkable, with a clean swimming pool, a pleasant garden, excellent breakfast and mum’s lovely home-made jams. However…

We stayed for eight nights (probably a mistake) for our autumn holiday. Booked by email in advance we were offered a room not shown on the website but ‘tres agréable avec sa sortie directe sur le jardin’. We confirmed, sent the deposit and a confirmatory email and text as requested; thereafter we heard nothing from the proprietor, Delfine, either in acknowledgement or in response to our various subsequent emails for further information. We arrived not knowing if the booking existed. Delfine was not there. Her mother, lovely but elderly, showed us the room but not the other areas; we only discovered the interior lounge three days later.

Although some rooms were clearly better, ours was far from ‘agréable’: like Doesborgh D, we had a room with the en suite toilet covered by a curtain not a door (fine unless one of you succumbs to an uncontrollable intestinal tract disorder – which luckily we didn’t!); the towels were like sandpaper, one ripped; no shampoo or soap for the shower; two of the electrical sockets didn’t work; the bedside lamp bulbs were broken; the all-glass dressing table was dangerously held onto the wall with two wonky brackets; the chest of drawers was terminally broken and lined with ancient newspaper; the two chairs supplied were so uncomfortable as to be unusable; and there was absolutely no information supplied about the house or Carcassonne. The room had an exit, i.e. the door, not ‘directe sur le jardin’ but onto a gravel path with no view, a table 18’ in diameter and two uncomfortable metal chairs. Delfine arrived three days later, never introduced herself or apologised for not replying to the emails and then asked for the deposit; like zorglub10, we also had to sit over her while she looked up our payment (which she hadn’t seen) on her online banking.

Even worse, no attempt was made to clean the bedroom, toilet or bathroom throughout our 8-day stay, the bed never made or sheets changed. On Friday the hot water stopped working and we spent 36 hours complaining to Delfine – her response was a ‘Gallic shrug’, a laugh and ‘je suis désolé, désolé’. Although she claims to speak English and Spanish on her website, there was no sign of this at any time, just a torrent of French about the plumber.

Some or much of this we could have accepted as quirky but what made it unacceptable was Delfine’s attitude which was, bluntly, lazy, unconcerned and rude. Basically, she doesn’t know how to run the place as a ‘customer facing’ business. Although it was pretty full with middle-aged and elderly French couples and a few stoical Brits, each staying two or three days, times have moved on, both in Britain and France, since this was acceptable. We wouldn’t return or recommend to our friends and are astonished that it made it into Sawdays.

Room Tip: There are at least two facing the gravel path with only curtains over the toilets which you might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon and Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.5 km away
Bed & Breakfast Le Beausejour
Bed & Breakfast Le Beausejour
#32 of 53 in Carcassonne
27 reviews
0.5 km away
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
#24 of 53 in Carcassonne
124 reviews
1.6 km away
Le Relais de la Cavayere
Le Relais de la Cavayere
#48 of 53 in Carcassonne
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
B&B Dochavert
B&B Dochavert
#15 of 53 in Carcassonne
68 reviews
2.7 km away
Les Balcons de Maragon
Les Balcons de Maragon
#8 of 53 in Carcassonne
42 reviews
1.5 km away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#5 of 53 in Carcassonne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison sur la Colline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Colline

Address: Chemin de Sainte Croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: $114 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison sur la Colline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing