We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
41
19
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
19
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean louistourists leavewithin the wallsfortress wallsstay inside the wallsgreat locationfree parkingb and bold citycroissantsla citewonderful hostseach morningcassouletbed and breakfastenjoyed our stayloulou
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 70 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2015

My partner and I stayed at L'Echappee Belle for three nights last week and we can't speak highly enough of this B & B and its wonderful hosts. Jacqui and Jean-Louis went out if their way to make us feel welcome in their home. The rooms are well appointed, the beds comfortable and the breakfast superb with delicious pastries and bread delivered fresh every morning. Located inside the walls of La Cité our room on the second floor afforded views of the Basilica. While all of the above was superb, one of the highlights of our stay was poodle Loulou and cat Sassy who greeted us each morning at breakfast and when we returned home each evening. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GayleandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2015

My husband and I stayed for one night in this charming B&B during Winter to explore Carcassone. Very glad we did! Lovely, quiet, cosy establishment (only 4 rooms I believe?) with friendly owners speaking French & English which was much appreciated. As stated on the listing the room is not huge but size more than adequate for our stay and the bathroom was a very good size for a traditional lodging. Immaculately clean and the decor is lovely cottage chic with comfy bed & bedding. Great heating (radiator & reverse cycle heating!) for the cold weather, kettle, tea/coffee and small fridge provided which we didn't have a chance to use!
Nice breakfast including cereals, yogurts, fresh pastries, bread & condiments & tea/coffee/orange juice was just perfect for us and we had some great chats with the owner Jackie and became aquainted with her adorable little poodle Loulou!
Overall a great stay, definitely recommend this great little B&B in the heart of the old village which was so homely! Thanks so much Jackie & Jean-Louis!

Room Tip: Would recommend the room we had; Room 2 on the first floor, it had lovely views of the neighbouring cathedral, a large separate bathroom and lovely decor. Also we had dinner at the Adelaide Restaurant and really enjoyed it! Very nice cassoulet de canard, the €16 set menu was great value for money and service was excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2014

We could only stay for two nights and wanted it to be so much longer. Jacqui and Jean-Louis are fantastic hosts, and the spacious room had the feel of an apartment. The hotel is right in the heart of Le Cite, so the view from our room was amazing - the old battlements looked so close.

It was the little touches that we really appreciated after weeks of travel; bottled water, good-quality linen and nice bathroom products. Jacqui even dropped us off at the station. We felt so welcomed, and to be able to stay inside such an incredibly historic place was unbeatable. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank justin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2014

L'Echapee Belle is in a great location, is well appointed, has a friendly and accomplished inn-keeper. Jackie was very receptive to some of our special needs such as storing our luggage for a few hours (very important in a walled city with little vehicle access) and beds for two children. Our room was great, and her breakfast table is superb. A big bonus for many is her perfect English. The facility is a couple hunderd yards from one of the south entrances (near St Nazaire Basilica), something visitors to medeival walled cities can appreciate.

Room Tip: All is good. In arriving get detailed info on the access through the walls- very limited vehicle access. The gate closest to St Nazare is probably best.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2014

The L'Echappee Belle is located within the old city walls. It is a perfect location for spending a day visiting Carcassone. The rooms are very small, but this should be expected in this type of B&B. Breakfast was very good with fruit, juice, breads, yogurts, and cereal. The location is everything for this hotel. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhorse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews